Road Trip Wednesday

Wednesday, which means it the day to Road Trip with YA Highway. Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question and we bloggers link back with our response.

This weeks question, and it’s a good one, is: What music has been your summer soundtrack?

Now, my summer soundtrack consists of the music I listen to when I write. Writing music is a funny animal. It’s music I like, but can’t be distracting, and it has to evoke the mood I am trying to convey in my words. I have listened to a wide variety of stuff — from instrumental film soundtracks, to pop, to moody bluegrass. Here are just a few examples, courtesy YouTube.

 

You get the idea. The mood and tone of my manuscript is not entirely heavy, but the intensity with which she is pursued and with which she must battle is akin to the crashing symbols and abandon of these singers. I used Spotify to make playlists, as well as have access to way more music than I have in my iTunes. Spotify is good for us as writers because the possibilities are limitless, as long as we always remember to support the artists beyond the easy listening of the internet. Uploading these videos got me distracted, what was I doing?— oh, yes, a make-me-gag-synopsis.

15 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday

  1. Rebecca B

    I’ve been revising and editing, and I’ve found that the soundtrack for “The Social Network” is great background music for that type of work.

  2. Colin

    I can’t read or write and listen to any kind of music at the same time. Even music I don’t like! I wrote an article about it on my blog a while ago, but it seems my musician-brain and my literary-brain can’t share resources. It’s one or the other. I often wish it were otherwise, but… oh well! 🙂

    1. Rebekah

      I didn’t used to be able to either. I have learned to filter noise selectively from having a three-year-old. A good deal of my writing has been done in the evening while he watched his wind-down movie. I only recently began to listen to music, but only certain stuff. These are more about the emotion the music and the vocals make me feel. Tense. Romantic. Emotional. ETC. I totally relate.

  3. I’ve been listening to Mumford and Sons on repeat this summer, I’m crazy about them. And I freaking love the Sweeney Todd soundtrack, I didn’t even know that anyone had covered it like this. So much awesome!

  4. We seem to have similar music taste, I have four of those songs as well 😀 My summer playlist has been very relaxed, with one favorite song whose lyrics were penned by a YA author 🙂
    Oh, and if you need help with the synopsis, I did a post on how to write a good one recently!

    1. Rebekah

      🙂 Because we must both be very cool people. I am checking out your post now–along with your reply to RTW. You are duly thanked in advance.

Leave a Reply

