Road Trip Wednesday: #144

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. We ,the bloggers who love YA Highway, post our response and then link it in the comments of the YA Highway site. Pretty fun!

This Week’s Topic is: Inspired by Stephanie Perkins’ post on Natalie Whipple’s blog, what is your novel’s “Love List”?

I had to go read the post (as if they were twisting my arm, or something) to understand what this question meant. Once I did, I realized two things:

  1. This is a brilliant idea, it’s also something I have done mentally since my first draft without ever putting a name to what I was doing.
  2. I am now following this authors blog. My blogroll grows again.

So, you may or may not want clarification, but I’ll give you some anyway. As Stephanie says in her post, the “Love List” is a list of things that remind why you love you WIP and why should keep pressing forward to make it what you in your heart believe it can be. It’s like a Pro’s list about your book. It’s also a guide to the strongest parts of your book, and can help you focus when you lose your way in rewrites. The “Love List” is your breadcrumbs home.

So, here is my “Love List” for my Manuscript (or what I can say without giving too much away):

A field of Poppies

Fur

Hands

Velvet

The silent child

Moonshine

The Way of the West

Poaching

A beautiful, lopsided face

The smell of her blood

Telling a secret

Lamplight

The Forest

Dangerous kisses

That was fun. Hmm…it also makes me miss my Manuscript, which is just minimized in my dock. I think I’ll open it, just to be close to them.

10 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: #144

  1. Thanks for commenting on my blog! I like your list. In particular I like:
    The silent child (so much potential there!)
    Poaching (poaching what, I wonder?)
    Fur (because this implies animals)
    The Way of the West (something involving Native Americans? Curious!)

    Your WIP is most intriguing. 🙂

  2. The way of the west, the silent child, the smell of her blood, a field of poppies… Oooooh goosebump-worthy inspiraitons! I love your list and I hope you give us more updates on what happens with the WiP!! So glad this post gave you inspiration to get back to your characters 🙂

    • Thank you! I definitely will. It was helpful to take my manuscript in snapshot form like this, it gave me an interesting perspective Love the inspiration from YA Highway.

  3. Poaching is the first word that stands out to me and makes me stop and wonder. Then throw in such visual cues like fur and velvet and I think you’ve got an amazing list here! But I love a beautiful, lopsided face the most! Great list, Rebekah!

Leave a Reply

