Road Trip Wednesday: #160

rtw
Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. We ,the bloggers who love YA Highway, post our response and then link it in the comments of the YA Highway site. Pretty fun!

This Weeks Topic: About how many books do you read in a year? Do you want to read more? Or, less?

I find the answering of this question a little maddening. In years past I read…some. Some is to say, I made time for reading when I stumbled across a good book. I didn’t seek out books so much as occasionally find them. In fact, I relied largely on friends recommendations and I didn’t ask friends for many recommendations.

Then I started reading young adult. I can read adult literature, don’t get me wrong, and occasionally I still do. (Like when a friend wants to have a book discussion at a fancy restaurant with cocktails.) But now that I’m reading YA, I read as much as my life allows. I read in the morning. I read in the bathroom. I read on the train. I read with coffee, and wine, and nap time.

This brings up another reason I have read more this year than any year before. Writing. When you are writing, you read more. Or, at least, I do. It encourages you to hone your craft. It fills you with confidence and understanding. It also makes you hungry for the art form you’ve chosen to express yourself in. Writing YA just means I have an excuse to read more YA.

I tell people it’s for my job.

So, not every year, but this year I have so far read 30 books. Could that number be improved? Absolutely! I hope it keeps on climbing. There is so much out there to read, so much of quality, and interest, and relevance. So much, in fact, for anyone to ever complain they are bored, or have nothing to read, or have nothing to do, is just laziness.

FYI if you follow this blog, you may think I’ve been complaining of boredom. That is not the case. I’ve been complaining of missing my son. There is always something to read, but in life you must have variety. Once I’ve written for six hours, and read for a few more, my eyes start to ache and I have to find something else to do. When my son is around, this is not a problem.

donnie darko

I’ve read 30 books this year, and next year, I hope to read more.

11 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: #160

  1. I used my job as an excuse to start reading YA too (I used to teach HS English). Then I got hooked and found the blogging community–and the rest is history! But as I start writing YA, I find I’m tailoring my reading to things that might inform and educate me about the genre I’m writing (in other words: I’m trying to read a lot of really good contemporary!) So next year I may read fewer books, but I’m hoping to get more out of them.

    • I do that as well. I tend to skew more toward YA Fantasy, since I’m writing a fantasy, but I try to keep an eye out for other things as well. I find every book I choose to read can be helpful in some way — even if only in making me happy — and that is what makes reading such a wonderful part of life.

  2. Yes! Reading everywhere…every possible moment…Sometimes my hubby doesn´t understand why I can´t let go of a book, but once I´m lost in it, I relish every single second of it 😀
    Plus reading definitely improved my writing!

    • I know. I get so invested in the lives of characters it’s a little crazy. I also think it’s totally what the author wants, or hopes for, their readers to feel. I know I want my readers to feel really immersed in my world, and to fall in love with my characters.

  3. My reading used to be almost exclusively academic–which I enjoyed, but I felt as though I was missing out by not reading as much fiction. I’ve increased my fiction intake over the past few years, which has in turn increased the number of books I get through a year (since novels are generally easier to read than most academic literature). But more than simply reading more books, it has improved my writing, and it has helped exercise my creativity. Both of these benefits encourage me to continue to strive to have a healthy quantity of fiction in my reading every year, and to read as much as I can.

    • I have never been one to read for any reason other than pleasure. I’ve read for school, and only then because I was being tested, though now I do a little more “academic” reading when my writing calls for it. I think it’s great how much reading helps being a writer.

  4. I’m in the same boat as you–I read more because I write, and I read lots and lots of YA! I take a break every few books or so to read something not YA, just to mix it up. Reading book blogs always gives me new ideas for what to read too.

    • I may have to do that — take more breaks for adult literature— because most of my adult friends don’t read all the crazy YA I do. It’s just hard because YA is such fun, and so ripe, and so filled with stuff I really WANT to read.

  5. I didn’t really need my job as an excuse to read YA, but I wasn’t afraid to exploit it! (I taught middle school language arts and reading during my student teaching — it was really helpful to be familiar with the books the kids were reading and be able to talk about the books and give recommendations!)

    Most of my friends read a lot of YA, or are trying to read more of it, so we’re never short of discussion topics over coffee or beers 🙂

Leave a Reply

