Road Trip Wednesday: #163 Goals Anyone?

rtwRoad Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. We ,the bloggers who love YA Highway, post our response and then link it in the comments of the YA Highway site. Pretty fun!

This Weeks Topic: What are your goals for the new year—for reading, writing, or other?

I am going to attack this question in the three parts it’s broken up by — reading, writing, other.

I am not really a goal-setter. I discussed this in my New Year post, you can see that here. To briefly reiterate, I do not like to fail. I do like to have a plan though, and that plan does leave room for me to fail.

So…whatever.

Reading:

I have set a reading goal on Goodreads this year. First year I think I have ever done that. You can see my little tracker over in the sidebar. I’ve read one book so far. My goal is 75. We will see. I would like to try to read in genres or sub-genres I don’t usually read in for at least 30% of my reading. For example) Literary Fiction, Contemporary YA, Nonfiction or Memoir.

Writing:

The biggest goal I have here should be obvious: get the manuscript to a sale-able place. For those of you who are agented, you will understand how very little power you have in reaching this goal. It comes down to absorbing the notes on your work, interpreting it through the eyes of your characters and your voice and your story, then making that happen in the writing. That’s what I’m doing now.

Beyond that, ideally the book will sell. I’m an holding my breath for that. Holding my breath, praying, crossing fingers, dotting “i’s”. It’s happening this year. I would also like to consistently blog, tweet, and build my presence on the interwebs. And, if my manuscript is out in the world of publishing, I’d like to begin work on the sequel.

Somewhere in there I will sleep and potty-train my three year old son.

Other:

Potty training is happening. Sometime between now and when he turns four. My husband and I joke about this, and other more challenging aspects of parenting, in order to remain sane in the midst of chaos. He says, sometime between now and when Sam’s eighteen he’ll be able to sleep through the night (use the big boy potty, eat his vegetables, dress himself, etc., you get the idea), so no pressure.

I’d like to find time to sew, which I haven’t done since moving to New York.

I want be more settled this year. This is more of a feeling, something I will know when I get to it, but not necessarily know how to get to. I’d also like to be more flexible. Last year, I was learning how to be a mom and a writer. I’m still learning, but I hope this year, I’ll be better at the dance.

Those are my current goals. I find goals evolve, like all living things, and goals should be alive. They are a part of who we are. As you journey towards something the end result you were hoping for usually matures. Sometimes it changes entirely. By the end of the year, I may not meet any of my goals, but I may still feel I’ve accomplished everything I set out to. (This is a mentality I am developing in order to counter my need to win compulsion. So far, it’s working.)

12 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: #163 Goals Anyone?

  1. I do not envy you the potty training goal. Good luck with that!

    If you do more sewing, you’ll have to post pics on your blog. I’ve been trying to make some time to do more crochet (I can’t sew past hemming pants or replacing a button, but I crochet decently). Crafting is a nice way to relax and unwind.

    1. Rebekah

      Thanks Nickie! Yes, if I manage to dig my sewing machine out from under the printer and remember how to use it, I will post. I am not coordinated enough to crochet, so kudos on that! I agree that crafting is a nice stress release. I am not super crafty, I wish I was better.

  2. Colin

    I totally agree with you about reading in different genres. That can only help you grow as a writer. And as for potty training… we’ve seen all six of our kids through this, and the only advice I will give you is *don’t stress about it!* Some parents demand their kids learn to use the potty by the time they can stand up. And some kids manage that. But most of the time you end up with bewildered kids and frustrated parents. I understand there may be external pressures (daycare or preschool toilet-training requirements), but as much as it is in your power to do so, don’t sweat it. Encourage, and instruct. Patiently persist. The child will catch on when s/he is ready.

    All the best with all your goals this year, Rebekah! 🙂

    1. Rebekah

      Thank you for the encouragement Colin! My son is pretty stubborn by nature, and I’ve found so far with him, that letting him think thing are his idea seems to be the best approach. When I have tried to strong-arm him into things, it has more often than not backfired.

  3. Good luck on revising your MS. I’m also looking to expand my reading genres this year. I used to read all kinds of stuff, and then a few years ago when I decided to try writing a YA novel, I’ve been steeped in YA books. I love them, but I want to catch up on some of the other books I’ve missed.

    Best wishes with your goals!

    1. Rebekah

      I fortunately have a friend who is diligent in her quest to keep me reading things other than YA, but I am the same as you. I am determined to read Gone Girl and Wild soon.

  4. One of my most traumatizing experiences when I was younger was being potty trained…and I’m definitely not looking forward to having to potty train small people someday 🙂

    I’m trying to read more classics this year, since I didn’t read that many last year – probably because I was working on a rewrite of my MS and wanted to surround myself with YA!

    Good luck with all of your goals! 🙂

    1. Rebekah

      I do think it’s important to read in the genre you write in, but sometimes it can get a little lopsided.

      I have no game plan for potty training. No idea how people do it. 🙂

      1. It can get a little lopsided. Last year I read tons and tons of fantasy, which is great, but I didn’t read any historical and only two or three contemps, not to mention all the neglected classics on my Kindle. Definitely trying to balance it all out this year!

        As far as potty training goes, godspeed. There’s a reason I work with teenagers 😉

Leave a Reply

