Road Trip Wednesday #174: Fictional Meanderings

rtwRoad Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. We,the bloggers who love YA Highway, post our response and then link it in the comments of the YA Highway site. Pretty fun!

This Week’s Topic: If you could visit any country with a fictional character as your guide, who would you pick and where would you go?

Hey, I’ve been absent for a few weeks from the Road Trippin’, so I thought I’d join in this week. If that’s OK? I love this weeks topic, even if I find it challenging and limiting. I have to pick just ONE character to take my jaunt with?!?! And what criteria do I use? Should they be someone already well traveled, with a broad knowledge of cultures, customs, etc.? Should it be someone I think will show me a good time? Someone wealthy, with good connections and manners?

So…since this is impossible…I’m going to pick one for each requirement.

Well traveled:

10th_doctor

The Doctor. I feel this is a no brainer. He has literally been everywhere, in every time. He’s dashing and wise, but he has a brilliant sense of humor and adventure. Now, since I could go anywhere with the Doctor, the where is harder here. Do we go to a distant galaxy in a far away time? NO. I have real, screaming nightmares about floating in the abyss of space or being sucked into a black hole. Not that I don’t trust the Doctor, but…NO.

We would do an excursion through time on Earth, beginning with the dawn and then meeting back up in my present. I wouldn’t want to see the future. I don’t need to know how bleak things will turn or not turn. To me, the mystery is much more exciting. Egypt, Jerusalem, Paris, the Americas — a smattering of it all.

Good time pal:

ron_weasley

This is kind of a creeper shot on Ron.

Ron Weasley. We would go to the Quidditch World Cup, drink too much pumpkin ale, probably get into a bar brawl in defense of the Chudley Cannons, and then meet Hermione back at the tent — which would be fully magicked out (that’s decked out in wizard speak) — where she would likely ruin all our fun and put us promptly to bed.

Wealthy, well-mannered, well-connected: 

lizziedarcy

Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy. As a couple, they would be immaculate hosts. We would do a tour of the Lake Country, staying in the finest houses and attending the most decadent balls. Darcy wouldn’t dance, but Lizzie and I would have a smashing time. I suppose, for this trip, I would bring my husband. He and Mr. Darcy could commiserate and brood about the simpering stupidity of high society England. Lizzie and I could be unaccomplished (at art and music) together. We would end in London. Somewhere in there I’d like to throw in a dip in those baths they were so crazy about at that time.

An honorable mention should go to Francie Nolan, from A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. She and I would have a lot of fun at the New York Public Library and climbing trees in Prospect Park. Two pastimes I miss since leaving New York.

8 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday #174: Fictional Meanderings

  1. Great picks! I’d definitely want to hang out with Ron, Hermione, and the whole gang (they were my pick). Who wants to see the real London when you could go to the Quidditch World Cup?

  2. Of course, I’m sure avoiding the far reaches of space wouldn’t stop the Doctor for finding trouble! He would make a great travel companion, though. And Ron would be a lot of fun too. Good choices, Rebekah! 🙂

    • It’s not so much trouble I’m concerned with, more the vacuum of space. Trouble is totally acceptable. 🙂 Thanks Colin!

Leave a Reply

