What’s Up Wednesday

whats up wednesdayWhat’s up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of this post. We really hope you will take part.

This is my first time taking part in this blog-hop, but I’ve been wanting to for a few weeks. So, yay for today!

What I’m Reading

I just finished Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma. I’m taking a workshop with Nova, and hadn’t read this book yet. I highly recommend it if you are looking for something truly unique with heartbreaking narrative. Also, Nova is the bees knees. I just started reading Fuse by Julianna Baggott. Fuse is the second of the Pure trilogy. Julianna is a phenomenal, hardworking mother and writer, who’s prolific and unbound by genre. I firmly believe Pure will be an important series to reference in the coming years. I’m also reading pages from classmates books they are workshopping in Nova’s class. The talent is astounding.

What I’m Writing

I just finished a massive revision on my MS and sent it to a couple readers, and an author friend, for feedback. After every revision I hope to be done, and by done I mean, ready to submit it for publication. I am optimistic, yet not expectant. We aren’t done with our manuscripts until our editor says so, and it’s in copyediting, and that readiness is decided by many different factors. I am mulling what to work on in the interim period. Part of me wants to work on a new project, and part of me wants to get a massage. We’ll see which part wins out.

What Inspires Me

My fellow writers. Writers are readers, and readers are people who never grow up.

The color of my son’s eyes.

Cobalt blue
Cobalt blue

True family stories, full of character arcs that astound.

trust_your_struggle

What Else I’ve Been Up To

I went to NYC last week, which I wrote about on my blog briefly. It was a bit of a whirlwind. If you do not follow me on Twitters (which you can do with the scroll to you right) I posted a pic of me being supercool when I met Lauren Graham.

Random House Open House. Me and Lauren Graham.
Random House Open House. Me and Lauren Graham.

Can you see how cool I’m being?

My son is on the last leg of potty training. Life without wiping someone else’s ass is a miracle. The end.

I’m exercising. I hate it, like most people, but I believe I will love not feeling like a marshmallow anymore. I am already seeing results, mainly in my face. I haven’t done any face exercises, so this is a bit of a bummer.

Happy Wednesday!

17 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. I hate exercise too, and do it out of necessity. I’ve never liked it, and I doubt I will ever warm to it. However, I figure if I can be disciplined enough to do something I hate regularly, there are so many other things I want to do that I *ought* to be able to achieve. 🙂

    1. Rebekah

      I know, doing something you don’t want to do, and finishing it can empower you for the things you do want to accomplish. Good luck revising you WIP!

  2. I still have yet to read both IMAGINARY GIRLS and PURE. They somehow fell through the cracks in my TBR tower. I’ll have to make sure I don’t forget about them.

    Cobalt blue is one of my favourite colours, so your son’s eyes are beautiful! And you look perfectly cook and collected in the pic with Lauren Graham. I’d probably start quoting GILMORE GIRLS at her. O_o

    1. Rebekah

      I have quite a few books that did that, then I’ll read about them on someone else’s blog or see them in the bookstore and remember I wanted to read them too! LOL about Lauren Graham. Yes. I was fortunately not the only one spewing nonsensical quotes.

  3. WOW you´re being awesomely cool! I love Lauren Graham…
    I really enjoyed IMAGINARY GIRLS:…how is the workshop going?
    Congrats on the revision!

    1. Rebekah

      🙂 Haha, Lauren Graham is super. The workshop is brilliant. The other writers in the class are very talented, and the feedback has been wonderfully insightful. Also, Nova has truly helped me to rip away some of my lingering insecurity about my world and my words. Very worthwhile!

  4. Oh man, like you, every time I finish a revision I hope it was the last one, but somehow there’s always something left to fix. Your comments on potty training made me laugh out loud. So very true! Also, it’s very cool that you got to meet Lauren Graham. Seeing that picture makes me want to watch some Gilmore Girls!

    1. Rebekah

      I know..you just have to believe that AT SOME POINT it will be over. The revision and the potty training. And so many other horrors. I watch Gilmore Girls regularly…still…and it is wonderful.

  5. Meeting Lauren Graham AND a workshop with Nova Ren Suma! You are having a great week!

    Good Luck with the WIP.

    Your son is adorable and finishing with potty training is awesome 🙂

    1. Rebekah

      Thanks Alexa! My son is the most wonderful thing. I like him more now as a person since I’m not getting his poop under my fingernails. 🙂

  6. Your son’s eyes are absolutely beautiful! (And here’s to potty training–I’m due with my first child soon, so I have many diapers ahead of me!)

    True family stories are such an amazing source of inspiration. Have you ever read “Pray Without Ceasing,” by Wendell Berry? It’s a short story, and one of my favorites–just a beautiful, simply-told account of a family. I love it.

  7. So incredibly jealous that you met Lauren Graham. I’d be fangirling all over the place if it had been me. 🙂 And the astounding awesomeness of the writers in our class seriously blows my mind.

Leave a Reply

