What’s Up Wednesday?

whats up wednesdayWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of this post. We really hope you will take part!

If you read my post about Hawaii, you’ll know why I’ve not been participating in awesome blog hops like this one. I have been keeping up with what everyone is up to, so, don’t stone me. Anyway…

What I’m Reading

I seem to be only capable of reading one book at a time. This trend follows in writing. I’m not someone who can work on multiple projects at once. I tend to get consumed by one, and everything else will fall to the wayside. This may be a discipline issue. Hmm, not sure. Currently I am reading Legend by Marie Lu. So far, I am casually attached. There are things I do like, and then there are things that almost (but only in the teensiest way) remind me of the epic space opera Farscape — if you haven’t watched it, shame on you — which then makes me grab it a little closer. I’m invested, but not sure yet if I’ll fall in love. I am (when critiquing the aforementioned two book rule doesn’t seem to apply) beta reading for a writing friend. Her book is seriously clever. With what I know going in, (got to read snippets in the workshop we both took with Nova Ren Suma) I feel like I’m in very capable hands.

What I’m Writing

So, as I said in my post about Hawaii, I have been taking a writing break. It’s been like two weeks since I’ve done any real writing. The wheels are beginning to turn again. Characters are beginning to nudge me for attention. But I remain firm in my break taking, at least until next week. I, very politely, tell all of those shiny new ideas (and plot points for the sequel to my novel that’s out with agents) to shut the hell up.

What Inspires Me Right Now

The things I learned and experienced in Hawaii. Here are a few, very important, lessons you too can glean from:

1. Hula dancers do not always wear coconut bras, nor are they swaying their hips. Rather, they have incredibly powerful leg muscles that make the hips move, and the movement is very controlled and intentional. I am a very awkward, slightly scrawny mainlander. Here is a picture of me poorly hulaing. (The very tall guy next to me is my brother who married a beautiful Hawaiian. The man cackling off camera is his father-in-law.)

2. The Hawaiian word for thank you is mahalo. I love this word so much more than thank you. I feel you can say almost anything, then follow it up with mahalo, and the recipient will somehow walk away smiling. “You’re a bitch, mahalo.” Just feels different.  Try it, I have.

3. The Hawaiian people didn’t have a written language until the English Colonists (invaders and plague bringers) showed up. This meant that the recording of ancient history, customs, pastimes, etc. was maintained orally. Talking stories remains to this day to be a valued pastime among the native Hawaiian’s.

4. The Hawaiian Islands are home to some of the most beautiful, warm, genuinely kind people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. I grabbed onto the arm of my brother’s mother-in-law and cried, “Please don’t make me leave.” They are that spectacular.

What Else I’ve Been Up To

Did you get that I went to Hawaii? Have I made that clear?

Black rocks and blue water.
Black rocks and blue water.

*Sighs* Other than that, I am spending time getting my house settled. We’ve been back in Texas for four months, and still our living room is unfurnished, our walls need touch-up paint and pictures, and I just discovered two boxes that need to be unpacked. Yeah, lots to do on that front.

So…what’s up with you?

25 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday?

  1. Alison Miller

    I love the number two in your list. Very tempted to try that out! Also, super jealous of your vacation – glad you had a lovely time!

  2. I enjoyed Legend but it didn’t completely grab me until the very end. I still have the next book in the series, Prodigy, waiting to be read–my hunch is that I’ll enjoy that one even more.

    Good luck getting back into the swing of writing!

    1. Rebekah

      Feel free! Imagine yourself there, and let everything else fall away. The post I wrote about Hawaii has many more, btw. 🙂

  3. Stephanie Scott

    Haha, I love your mahalo example. I am soaking up your Hawaiian wisdom, wishing I could experience it first hand. Someday. I looked into a trip but ended up at a resort in Cancun since it was half the cost (and still a great time).

    1. Rebekah

      🙂 Seriously, try it. haha. I had a stewardness be kind of nasty with me — she had been up all night, so I was gracious— and she ended her statement with Mahalo. I was like, “I’m weirdly conflicted right now about whether to be pissed or grateful.” Hawaii is hard to get to and not cheap, if you do go, I do think it’s worth the cost though.

  4. Oh wow Hawaii looks amazing. I’d love to go there some day.

    Four months with unpacked boxes is nothing! We moved a year ago and I still have boxes in the attic. Plus the stairs still need painting 🙂

    Enjoy your writing break 🙂

    1. Rebekah

      Thank you, our stairs need painting too. Damn. 🙂 Just blogging is getting me itching to write again. Geez. It will be a short break.

  5. Hawaii is gorgeous, and I’m totally jealous of your trip. Thanks for telling us all about it so I can live vicariously through your vacation memories. Best of luck finding writing inspiration and motivation. I’ve been in that weird “stuck” place more times than I care to admit. It’s always hard for me to pull out of, but once I do, getting back on track isn’t so hard.

    1. Rebekah

      I feel like this is my quiet before the storm. It’s an interesting feeling, and I’m pretty into it. Glad to share the Hawaii love.

  6. What a great vacation! My husband used to travel through Hawaii for work and I got to go a couple of times, but I haven’t been in ages. It’s such a nice place though–wasn’t at all what I expected the first time. Enjoy your writing break!

  7. Your trip to Hawaii sounds incredible! I can see why you’d want to stay there! And don’t feel too bad about ignoring the house stuff. We renovated three years ago and still haven’t gotten around to finishing everything. At first it was procrastination but it’s full on denial now.

    Enjoy your break from writing!

    1. Rebekah

      Thank you for letting me off the hook on both the not wanting to leave hawaii front and the house disorganization front. Denial solidarity!

  8. I can’t work on more than one project at a time either. I get completely confused. And I share your feelings about Legend. It was entertaining enough, cool in some places, but nothing that made me go YES! WOW!

    1. Rebekah

      So many people really love Legend, which always makes me both excited for a book and nervous to read it. So glad I’m not alone in being unable to work on two projects at once. 🙂

    1. Rebekah

      I am antsy to get back to writing too! It’s so great to see this community developing around shared goals and interests. The support is so cool.

  9. My grandma lived in Hawaii for twenty years, and she’s been back on the mainland for 14, and still misses it. I remember seeing Lilo and Stitch with her and it made her so homesick. I went once when I was a baby, but I want to go back someday now that I can remember it!

    1. Rebekah

      I have heard different perspectives on living there. Many love it, but acknowledge it has it’s challenges and limitations, which I can see. I’m sure leaving was hard for your grandmother, but I hope she feels it was the right choice.

Leave a Reply

