Week One as a Teacher

As I mentioned on Wednesday, I am doing a writing and acting workshop with a group of local teens. Our first day we attempted to make the elements of Story Arc and Character Arc both interesting and accessible to a group of teenagers whose summer brains are operating at full-force.

Aside: Summer brain is the slush your gray matter changes into over the break from school due to the sweltering heat, the many hours spent playing video games, your transformation into a creature of the night, and all the slushies/Frostys/Acai Berry Bowls you can eat while still not getting your ass up off the couch. Being a teen on summer break was, seriously, the best!

Their brains seemed relatively intact, which made our jobs a lot easier. (And way more fun.) The first thing I learned about teaching teenagers comes from the wisdom of Sun Tzu’s Art of War, and is poorly paraphrased here, by me: Success depends on winning decisive engagements quickly. 

I’ve yet to meet a teen, or a 28-year-old writer spright, with a tolerance for blathering. My co-teacher (who is a more patient person and a highly trained actor) and I divided to conquer. We also talked really fast and tried to make them constantly answer questions so they wouldn’t fall asleep or yank phones out of pockets to Tweet about their lame-ass teachers. We knew they would stay awake, but what we wanted was them to care. Teens, as a rule, can’t openly care. But there are subtle hints they give you that show they do (again, not getting on their phones) and that means you’re winning.

Our second tactic for holding their interest comes from my belief, and strong support for this belief from educators and scientists, that finding a common interest breeds trust. In our breakdown of the story arc, we went through a very popular book and film that every teen in the world has read or seen: The Hunger Games. Whenever we saw interest waning, we brought it back to Katniss. Not only was I thoroughly impressed by their knowledge and understanding of the story, but by their nearly spot on evaluation of the plot based on the formula I had given them for story arc.

When discussing common character arcs, we opened it up for them to try to figure out which films or books followed which arc. And mostly, they nailed it. These exercises proved to me that they were learning, and to them that these skills could result in their own brand of awesomeness. In a story they can actually be proud of. In characters we actually might care about.

The goal of all of this was, of course, not just to gush over The Hunger Games. The goal was to lay a foundation for understanding character and story so that when they began writing their own short-films, they would have knowledge beyond instinct and personal desire to draw from.

We then put the plan into action. My co-teacher played a piece of instrumental music and the kids brainstormed what they saw, or felt, or interpreted from it. Next, we broke them into groups and played another piece of music, giving each group the task of creating a story — with a beginning, middle, and end— to the music.

They attacked the task and all managed to pull together a story — largely consisting of some kind of superhero or galactic battle at either a wedding or dance.

Next week — screen tests and rough drafts. Woo-hoo!

7 thoughts on “Week One as a Teacher

  1. It sounds like you have a really interesting class. I’ve taken a lot of writing classes, and I don’t remember any of that being addressed. I’ve just kind of figured it out myself through trial and error. Good luck!

    • Kristen,
      It’s pretty simple storytelling stuff, which I think most creative types sort of instinctively know, but putting names and locations to these things seems to help less experienced writers. I mentally checked my own MS with the elements I was presenting to the kids. It was a relief to see that I hit everything, even if I do throw a few curveballs into the formula.

    • I generally feel pretty noble. Unless I feel hungry, then I’m surly. Or snarky. Sometimes a little silly. Four more and we have the new Dwarves for Snow White to mother.

  2. This class sounds wonderful Rebekah! Can I enroll? (I know, I’m not a teen, but still…). I’m really happy for you and for your students!

    • Thank you Rebecca! And yes, you could absolutely enroll as an honorary teen, though I think you could teach the class yourself.

  3. Wow…this sounds like so much fun! And that quote is very good. I’ve taught workshops for teenagers before (speech & debate, not writing…and not nearly as fun! ;), and I realized VERY quickly how important that first time/session/day is.
    And you’re right; there are a lot of little signs that’ll let you know if you’re “winning”. So hard, but so rewarding!

Leave a Reply

