What’s Up Wednesday

whats up wednesdayWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s post. We really hope you will take part!

I am a little late today in posting, but there’s a reason…I didn’t have time this morning and I was sleepy last night. It was night, and I sometimes operate on the schedule of a three year old. I have a three year old, so this is valid.

What I’m Reading

Currently about halfway through Defiance by C.J. Redwine. I want to like this book more than I do. I’m beginning to wonder if there is something wrong with me, because books I would normally obsess over aren’t cutting it. I’m finishing the manuscript I’ve been beta reading and loving it, actually more than the published books I’ve been reading. This is a huge compliment to her, but also I think it speaks to the freshness of her idea. So…that’s exciting.

What I’m Writing

More blogging than normal. This week is the first week since sending my book to agents at the beginning of June that I have felt the itch to get back to work. Right now, my goal for writing revolves around plotting, but there is a story I think I’m going to begin working on — slowly as not to scare it away – that I will probably develop for a while. It’s a horse of a different color and will be a beast for me to write, I think. Also, I feel the sequel to my book has a beginning forming in my mind, and I’m kind of loving it —in theory. That will probably happen next week.

What Inspires Me

Taylor Swift songs. I am thoroughly embarrassed by this and turning an unflattering shade of pink right now. I can’t actually tell you why I began listening to her, but I would like to account for it with creative license. There is something deeply Young Adult about her music. Something that evokes the emotions of later adolescents so easily. Also —the catchiness. I mean, I’m not 22 but…sometimes I feel it.

Teens sitting on ratty carpet in a circle. There’s something about being cross legged on the floor surrounded by your friends that makes you forget you don’t want to talk. The acting/writing workshop today was all about the screen test and how you pull an idea out of your ass. When we opened the floor up for discussion, there was a noticeable sigh. But one kid started talking, and before we knew it, they had decided (almost unanimously) on a jumping off point for their miniseries. Plus, watching their faces, observing their mannerisms, the interactions they thought no one noticed, the excitement they poorly concealed, was fascinating and throughly educational.

What Else I’m Up To

My son is slightly high-maintenance. He’s smart as a whip, and that translates to him intensely and single-mindedly running the day. Right now, he is fascinated with math. Adding and subtracting on a basic level, counting from a random number until he can’t count any higher, puzzles.

I am not math person so much, this makes for interesting conversations. He gives me dirty looks. A LOT.

Trying to catch up with friends.

Painting walls in my house that looked like some dirty-palmed urchin came along and used the wall as a canvas for his filthy art.

So…what about you?

21 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Good luck with querying! That can always be so exciting and nerve-wracking all at the same time. I love Taylor Swift songs, too! There have been so many times when I’ve put one on and a story just starts coming together in my head.

    • Thanks! I have been very Zen about it, which is saying a lot considering I am not known for my Zen-ness. Yep, her songs get me thinking about being young and all it means.

    • Thanks! I’ve actually been very Zen about it, which is saying a lot since I’m not known for my Zen-ness. Yep, her music gets me thinking.

  2. Seriously, I wish we lived closer. It would be so nice to hang out in person and be embarrassed by our love of TSwift together. Pretty sure I wrote at least half of TAoB to her latest album. So at least as you read it, you’ve got the right soundtrack!

    • If we lived closer there would likely be an embarrassing concert crash in our future. So nearly done with your book and very anxious. I can see how Taylor Swift songs could lend themselves well here.

      • Oh, yeah. There would definitely be a concert. And it would be glorious along with embarrassing. Our husbands would laugh at us, and we wouldn’t even care. And I’m glad you’re anxious! Means I’m doing my job. 😉

      • My husband moans and bellyaches when I put her on. I’m like, “Dude, research!” He’s like, “Bullsh-t” 🙂 We would not care — no!

  3. Hah, don’t be embarrassed by Taylor Swift – I actually listen to Youtube playlists of her songs (among other catchy poppy stuff) while I’m working. It keeps me upbeat in my sometimes monotonous job 🙂

    I get in weird reading moods, too, where everything just seems “eh” to me. It takes a really awesome book to knock me back into place.

    • She’s definitely a specific kind of singer. I think there is a place for music like hers, and there is a use for it as YA writers, still…:)

      Yes! This feels like a mood thing. Bleh.

  4. I have a copy of DEFIANCE, but haven’t started reading it yet. My sister read it and wasn’t big on it. Our taste is usually fairly similar, so unfortunately it’s been bumped further down the TBR list. I also totally get where you’re coming from on having a kid who’s gifted in math. My son’s a math guy too. He loves stats and things like that. So not up my alley. I just smile and nod when he talks numbers.

    Good luck with plotting this new story and working on your sequel!

    • I got it on a recommendation and I think it’s a good book. I feel my lack of enthusiasm in my post is a little misleading (only because I am being misleading). I DO like it. I am going to finish it, but right now I’m feeling sluggish about it.

      Math parent solidarity! Sam is still so little that I don’t know yet what his interests will grow into, but it wouldn’t surprise me if he’s math oriented. My husband is a programmer.

      Thanks for the encouragement! It’s all very…new right now. Even the sequel planning. It feels like I’ve never done this before.

  5. I listened to the songs on ‘Speak Now’ nearly nonstop when it first came out, and I’m still cycling through ‘Red’ to find my favorites. I’m closer to the “target age”, I guess…but it still feels like a guilty pleasure. It may be mostly angst and broken hearts, but there are times when it’s exactly what I want to hear.
    Oh, it sounds like you’re getting the writing bug again. I like how you don’t want to “scare it away”. 🙂 Usually it’s the other way around; I get too scared by the plotting and just have to sit down and start writing. I hope it all goes well for you!

    • I have listened to both. Speak now is much younger, but has such feeling. Red is more mature. (Or as mature as TS can get.) I think it has fewer songs I love, but the ones I do, I really love.

      I am not generally a plotter, but for the sequel I have to. This does terrify the hell out of me. The other story, the one I don’t want to scare away, is scary for other reasons. It’s way outside my writing comfort zone. Thank you!

  6. Haha – your son sounds fun! And like my children when they were three going on thirteen. Lots of dirty looks. Especially from my daughter. But enjoy it. Pretty soon you blink and they’re legit teenagers.

    I’m forty-two and while I do feel the age some days, there are many days where I feel 22. And I LOVE it. Also, I love Taylor Swift! You’re right – there is a very YA feel to her songs. Probably why I love her.

    I hope you have a wonderful week!

  7. You’re not alone on DEFIANCE. I really wanted to like it, but by the final page I knew I wouldn’t be reading the next book. That always bums me out. 😦

    That’s awesome that you’ve got a new story to work on. That is probably one of my most favourite parts of writing, starting on something fresh and new. So much fun!

    (*whispers*) I listen to Taylor Swift too. There’s definitely a YA feel to her songs. It’s kind of a goldmine for story ideas. 🙂

    • It is a bummer. I am still trying to love it because I hate that feeling too. I intend to finish it because there definitely are things I like…

      It is fun! And scary. But yes, more fun than scary. Working on a new story is also a little therapeutic after the one I’ve been with the past 20 months.

      Taylor Swift music guilty pleasure solidarity!

  8. Good luck getting back into your writing – I find a break always helps (but not too long of a break or I get super crabby).

    My daughter loves Taylor Swift. You’re right, they are good inspiration for the teen experience. My favorite (uh, I can’t believe I’m saying I have a favorite Taylor Swift song) is and probably always will be You Belong With Me. Great imagery. 🙂

    I know what it’s like to have a high-maintenance 3 year old. She’s six and she’s still high maintenance!

    I’ve spent a lot of time on your blog this morning and really love it! I look forward to getting to know you better.

    • Oh Sarah, thank you! Same to you. Yay! 🙂

      Hahaha about having a favorite Taylor Swift song. I know, it’s sucks doesn’t it? I don’t know how I let it happen either.

      I tell myself he’ll be a very interesting and innovative person as he grows up because of being high maintenance now and us facilitating his needs. But man alive!

Leave a Reply

