What’s up Wednesday: July 10

whats up wednesdayWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s post. We really hope you will take part!

What I’m Reading

I finished the book I was beta reading, and wrote her lots of thoughts and comments. Don’t interpret that to mean it wasn’t brilliant. The reason I had so much to say was because it was phenomenal. I am now reading another MS for a friend. All I can say about it is that I feel very fortunate to be reading this before the world (other than her agent). Yes, I am bragging. Also, still reading Defiance, and I am liking it again. Reading moods are weird. That’s all.

What I’m Writing

Not a lot new on this front. Just thinking and plotting and planning. I feel a little like a master villain, tapping my fingers and maniacally laughing. Every time I sit down to write I think, “Hmm, how did I write all the words again?” I know it happens, and it comes in spurts and fits and sweat and bloody fingers. The innocence I went into my first novel with — which provided the abandon to write and not self-edit— is gone now. I think it’s a little like losing your virginity. I can’t un-know how it feels now, because the first time will never happen again. And that familiarity has to become my new starting point. I just can’t forget how good it feels to actually do it.

What Inspires Me

Twitter. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been on Twitter this last week and just felt utter joy. I have two things to say about this. One: Twitter is a distraction. Sometimes I am laughing about how I can get lost in it and then I’m thankful when my phone dies. Twitter is a vital writer lifeline to the world and other like-minded people, but it’s not actually real life. (Usually I realize this when my son is talking to me while spraying the dog with the water hose.) Two: I don’t care because I love it and it feels productive. This of course is the danger, but still, interacting with other awesome and motivated writers makes me feel unstoppable and legit. Plus, this Tweet:

Nerd.

The Teens in my workshop. All the ideas and the thoughts. The support for one another, and the tolerance of my co-teacher and myself. The way they can carry on a conversation with me, text, and dance with their friend, all at once.

What Else I’m Up To

Trying to get motivated to exercise again. Using alcohol as a reward seems counterproductive, but so far…

Swimming. My son thinks he’s a fish out of water. Recently, he realized he could hold his breath and put his face under the water. The world has taken on a whole new light for him.

Thursday evening I’ll be visiting the Irving Public Library to see these awesome people (including my brilliant workshop teacher/heartbreakingly talented writer/super-nice chick Nova Ren Suma) for a sure to be mind-blowingly fantastic panel and signing.

Irving Summer Reading panels — Go see Nova! July 10 and 11Note: I am very awkward at signings. I get sweaty and  nauseous, and then when I finally get up there I sputter largely inappropriate things. Oh well, I’m going anyway.

Happy Wednesday to all! ‘Sup?

17 thoughts on “What’s up Wednesday: July 10

  1. This: “The innocence I went into my first novel with — which provided the abandon to write and not self-edit— is gone now.” – Yeah, I’m still trying to reclaim that. The inner editor does not often allow that.

    Also, that tweet! Awesome! Have fun at the signing and I hope you have a productive week!

    • 🙂 I think it’s just allowing and accepting that it will be different each time you write a book — not better or worse— and that eventually will feel ok.

      LOL I am such a goose, but that was a fun Twitter evening.

  2. Oh I hear you on the loss if innocence. Looking back it was SO easy to write my first novel. I knew nothing about drafts and edits and beta readers. Better to know these things, of course, it just makes the first draft so hard!

    I love that your son is putting his head under water because mind has just started doing the same. It completely freaks me out, he can hold his breath for an abnormally long time. I keep annoying him by yanking him up 🙂

    Have a wonderful time at the signing. I get completely tongue tied too. I can’t even remember what I rambled at Maggie Stiefvater – poor woman.

    • It’s better to know it all, I think, but it changes how you view things. We must all say “no” to the inner-editor.

      Alexa, I KNOW! I panic a little, but try to hide it so as not to make him leery.

      I would be tongue tied with Maggie Stiefvater, too. Or just try to smell her hair. Whatever.

  3. I love how you put that about going into your first novel with innocence. In my case, I think I’d say ignorance too. I’ve learned so much about writing in the last couple years, and like you say, it gets very difficult to ignore the inner editor.

    That tweet from Maggie Stiefvater is hilarious, as was your comment about using alcohol as motivation for exercise. Hmm, maybe a sport bottle full of wine would make time on my treadmill more appealing. Have a great week!

    • Ignorance, yes, that too. Writing has a way of changing you, right? Writing my first book was a little like a masters class, only I was tacking it all together on my own.

      Yes. She rules. For me the alcohol comes later, but I wouldn’t judge (or pretend not to want to) drinking on the treadmill. I’m more like, “If I work out I can have a drink without guilt.”

  4. Isn’t great getting to beta read books for people? I’ve had the privilege of reading some excellent books that I just know I’ll be seeing on bookstore shelves one day, they’re that good. I love your master villain mentality when plotting new story ideas. Yes!

    I’ve had a handful of authors sign books for me at the SCBWI conference in NYC, but aside from Julie Andrews, none of them were on my list of authors that I would seriously go weak in the knees over meeting. There are definitely some that would make me sweaty and shaky if I had the chance to meet them! 🙂

    • It is great to beta read, especially when you realize you’re reading something really wonderful. Yay for villainy.

      I just get nervous, no matter what. It’s the pressure of everyone behind me, as much as the author (or celebrity) in front of me. Plus, I always feel weird, like I should be cooler in person than I end up being. I’m good with people, but signings are odd socially for me.

  5. I’m not sure how I feel about that “first time feeling.” When I wrote my first novel, I wrote for fun and with feelings of complete and utter inadequacy–especially compared to all the great books I’d read. I’m still unpublished, and I still approach every new novel with the same feeling. Maybe that’ll change after I’m published and feel like I’m supposed to be able to do this… 🙂

  6. Pingback: What Is the Best Motivator for Writers? | After Writer Dreams...

Leave a Reply

