What’s up Wednesday, July 24

whats up wednesdayWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s post. We really hope you will take part!

I have missed a couple weeks, but I’m back to tell you guys what’s up. It’s been a hectic and strained couple of weeks. Emotional. Exhilarating. Sleepy. I’m glad to be back.

What I’m Reading

Finished all my betaing. I loved reading my friends as-yet-to-be published books. Reading for critique is so different than reading for pleasure, though, because you know there is a need to be more thorough, more critical. My favorite moments while betaing were when I was so lost in there story that my writer brain shut off and my reader brain turned on. I am nearly finished with an ARC of The Bitter Kingdom by Rae Carson. You GUYS! It’s amazingness. I want to kiss this book. ( *clears throat* Hector) Rae Carson can certainly write an epic ending. 

What I’m Writing

Scripts. I had a writing session with the teens from my workshop where we plotted out the three episodes in our web-series, which we begin filming next Wednesday. I had way too much fun. I took their plotting, which contained detailed dialog and description, and put scripts together for them to edit and tweak.

I’m also working on a new book that I just love, as well as the sequel to my novel, and my own short film idea that I hope to begin pre-production work on this fall. Lots of very intense writing projects happening right now, but I’m loving it. I’m breathing it.

What Inspires Me

Still hugely inspired by the teens in my workshop. These kids are brilliant. They also totally get my fixation with Power Rangers and fangirling. It’s good to be understood and appreciated.

My sister-in-laws. I have six (two on my husband’s side, four on mine), and they all bring something vibrant and different to our family. Those married to my brothers could almost be qualified as saints. And they love me, support me, make me laugh so hard my stomach hurts. This distinction is more important than you can understand if you have never been an ONLY.

Conversations with Sam, my son:

Sam: Momma, I’m ready to go to the superpower store.

Me: (driving) Where is that?

Sam: Metropolis.

Me: How do you pay for things at the superpower store?

Sam: Your credit card.

Me: (shocked, mock disapproval) I’m not made of money.

Sam: You could be if we went to the superpower store.

Faced.

This picture from the lovely Sara Biren.

Sara's pic. Brainerd Lakes.

Sara’s pic. Brainerd Lakes.

What Else I’m Up To

couch

We finally got our furniture. I literally never want to move from that couch. Life in our home has digressed into the artful game of who gets the chaise.

Figuring out my next step in this publishing game. Things have shifted, and even though I can’t fully disclose all of it, know I am at a weird and exciting place. I am thankful to you lovely Ready. Set. Write. ladies and my blog readers. It’s good to know you’re not in this alone.

My brother and his wife, who live in Jerusalem, Israel, just welcomed a baby boy. Big sis Lily is proud, and they are all awesome. It’s such a blessing to all of us. So proud of them for doing what they do over there.

elijah

Happy Wednesday!

21 thoughts on “What’s up Wednesday, July 24

  1. I would like a credit card for the Superpower store, so maybe there are bonus incentives to using it. What a great idea! 😀 I also have some pretty great sisters-in-law. I hugged mine earlier this month for being so awesome (we just rarely see each other).

  2. I LOVE conversations with the little ones, and Sam cracks me up! Our 3 yr. old great granddaughter keeps me laughing. If I didn’t say it before, “It’s good to have you all home again, honey.”

  3. I wouldn’t get up from that couch either! I love this particular What’sUpWednesday post of yours, it’s filled with loads of happy news and cheerful tidings…and I hope the days to come would be filled with more!

    • Oh, thank you! I love this. Yes, there are lots of wonderful things I am both looking forward to and wondering about. It’s a good place to be.

    • He is very special, and already super creative. That is his superpower.

      It will be. I have done this kind of thing before, and it’s always hectic and confusing, but super fun.

  4. I have to agree with your son: I want a credit card for the Superpower store too. How awesome would that be? I love beta-reading so much, but like you, I always find myself lapsing into reader mode, when I’m supposed to be in beta mode. Such a horrible problem to have lol. 😉 Sounds like you’re making good progress on some great projects. Good for you! Good luck with your goals this week. 🙂

    • I agree, Jaime! Credit card for superpowers. Mine would be maxed out.

      Beta reading is a balance, because it’s a big responsibility to read someone’s book and constantly remind yourself you are supposed to look for ways to improve. Not like when reading a published book that has been through the editors and copyeditors and the like.

      Thank you! You too!

  5. Oh that soda looks fantastic, just perfect for reading on 🙂

    It sounds like you have exciting things in the pipeline. I hope it all goes well for you.

    You’re son sounds brilliant! The other day I said we had no money for something and my son said The wall will give us some ie the ATM 🙂

    Have a fun week!

    • I do think my kiddo is pretty brilliant. The way he interprets the world is so fresh and clever. Love it.

      The couch is my happy place right now. 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement! I am sorting through a lot of things, ideas, rabbit trails. It’s good.

    • I am into superheroes because of my son, but I’m glad, and he would not be alone in wanting to take a trip to the superpower store! I want to go to. Now, just need directions to Metropolis.

  6. Okay, I love your son’s logic about the superpower store. I hope it’s a chain, because we could use one of those around these parts too. And I’m so envious of your couch! It’s gorgeous and it looks comfy. I write a lot while sitting on my sofa, and I think my favorite cushion is staring to slump from too many long writing sessions.

    You know, out of everyone taking part in WUW, I think you’re the only one I’ve seen who’s writing scripts. That’s so cool, and I’m glad to hear the class you’re teaching is going well!

    Congratulations to your brother and his wife on their new baby! And best of luck with all your writing projects this week!

    • I feel, in this world where there is a superpower store, it would have to be a chain.

      We waited four months for our couch! But it is completely worth it. I have been doing some writing on it, even though I have an office, because…well, see photo. 🙂

      I just got back into writing scripts after a long hiatus while I was writing my novel. I found it too difficult to work in such a different style, and it hindered both mediums. Love it though. It’s not easier, not really, but after the monster world-buiding I did in my novel, it’s a relief.

      Thanks!

  7. When you’re at the superpower store, and you pick up a few things for me too? I’ve never met your son, and I love him already. Kids are so great at coming up with crazy fictions. You’ve got a superpower son and a workshop full of super-teens, no wonder your writing life is so full right now.

    • Absolutely Kate! Telekinesis or shapeshifting? Flying ot invisibility? My son is joyful and creative, he’s just lovely. We also have fun together, and he doesn’t take me very seriously which makes things interesting. My teens would be very pleased to see themselves referred to as super, especially since our web series centers around a group of orphaned superheroes. Love the full writing life, don’t you?

  8. I’d fight for that couch too. Gorgeous!

    And congrats on the new addition to your family! Also, Sam sounds like my son! That’s awesome!

    I hope you’ve been having a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

