What’s up Wednesday July 31


whats up wednesday
What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s

What I’m Reading 

I finished The Bitter Kingdom ARC. It’s phenomenal. I will probably be putting a post together soon about the whole series. I have thoroughly enjoyed each Fire and Thorns book.

I am about halfway through OCD Love Story by Corey Ann Haydu. This book is a hard one for me. I’ve had to take it in small, manageable bites. It may not be this way for everyone, but for someone with OCD tendencies — leanings that were much more dominate in the throws of adolescent hormones —I relate to Bea in a way that makes me ache, for her and for the part of myself that could be this way and isn’t, that it becomes difficult to stay with her. However, as a read it’s equally funny, romantic and deeply quirky, all things I enjoy in contemporary YA. There will likely be a full blog post about this book as well. I have a feeling it’s one I’ll need to talk about.

What I’m Writing

Many things. I have been so productive lately that I’m actually in very real danger of patting myself on the back and bragging. That being said, a lot of my night time productivity is due to the Twitter support from other Ready. Set. Write ladies.

This week I have written 5000 words on the manuscript for my sequel. At this point it is just for me, and still who knows what is going to happen with this series, but I am firmly in love with it. I may be more in love with it after my break from it. I am in danger of loving it so much now that I began the sequel that everything else will be boring.

I also wrote about 500 words on a new story. I tend to have very specific, overwhelming dreams, and this new idea was spawned by one of them. It comes complete with some plot twists and world building. Writing about this new world, in this very different narrative voice, is completely fascinating. It is still in the discovery stage, but the spark is there to explore.

What Inspires Me

As I said, the Ready. Set. Write ladies on Twitter. My first night back working I spent also dialoging with some of them on Twitter. I was surprised by how it truly motivated me to stay focused, knowing they were all writing and knew I was supposed to be writing instead of shittin’ around on the internet. Odd how accountability can add to your discipline. I have never had a hard time staying motivated during my writing days, but the evening, when I’m drowsy and there’s House Hunters International marathons on (perfect TV to check out to), have never been my most productive time.

Trees. As a girl, trees were sanctuaries. I grew up on acreage surrounded by old, massive oaks that I lived in and named and told secrets to. My home now is nestled into a hill with a thick tree fence of protection. From my office, I look out over the tops. Trees are all I see. I’m reminded of a particular quote from Anne of Green Gables, said to Matthew:

I had made up my mind that if you didn’t come for me tonight I’d go down the track to that big wild cherry-tree at the bend, and climb up into it to stay all night. I wouldn’t be a bit afraid, and it would be lovely to sleep in a wild cherry-tree all white with bloom in the moonshine, don’t you think? You could imagine you were dwelling in marble halls, couldn’t you?

Trees are also a thing in this new story I’m working on.

What Else I’m Up To

Today I begin filming on the web series I’ve written with the teens from my acting/writing workshop. We have been rehearsing and planning and throwing things together, and now we shoot. I am thrilled with their enthusiasm and creativity. Their talent and energy. Very exciting day.

I finally got a reading chair for my office. It’s whimsical and quirky. I feel like Snow White or Beatrix Potter or someone equally feminine and nature-loving.

Pictures of empty furniture are odd.

Pictures of empty furniture are odd.

Working out. I have been getting back in the swing of working out. I unintentionally took a break after Hawaii, but started back last Monday. This Monday, my brother trained his new wife (who is a Hawaiian dancer) and me. Walking is a challenge now. Stairs make me want to cry. My thighs will be gorgeous.

So…what’s up with you?

 

5 thoughts on “What’s up Wednesday July 31

  1. Congrats with your progress, Rebekah! I’m sure you can allow yourself a little pat on the back, and perhaps a bit of a happy dance. 🙂

    All the best with your writing and filming this week!

  2. Wow, you’ve had an awesome writing week! I’ve been meaning to participate in more of the RSW twitter sessions, but they usually fall at the wrong time for me. I tend to do my heavy writing after everyone’s signed off for the night (which is totally starting to catch up with me). I’m glad you’ve been finding them motivational!

    I love that quote from Anne of Green Gables, and I also love your new chair. It looks like the perfect place for a relaxing cup of tea and a good book! Happy writing this week!

  3. Ooh, I love your chair… Super cute! And I agree — writing with Twitter buddies is so much more fun. It’s gone a long way in helping to keep me motivated. I will be looking forward to reading your thoughts on OCD LOVE STORY. I thought it was a fantastic book, and I found myself empathizing with Bea as well. I know I have some low level OCD tendencies, so it was sort of fascinating and sort of terrifying to read about a teenager with such an extreme case.

Leave a Reply

