What’s Up Wednesday August 7

whats up wednesdayWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s.

What I’m Reading

I finished OCD Love Story by Corey Ann Haydu. As I said last week, that book brought up a lot in me. It is worth reading, and it left me feeling hopeful if slightly twitchy.

I am reading another ARC now. (I have racked up the ARCs lately, yay for well connected friends.) Anyway. Currently reading Tandem by Anna Jarzab. I know I love it because I am soaring through it, however, there are things I feel odd about in it. Mostly, POV switching that is a little jarring at first and then a little cop out. I like Sasha, and the plot and concept is riveting, but it’s romantic lead Thomas that does it for me. I recommend giving it a shot when it releases in October!

What I’m Writing

Still working on my sequel, though haven’t touched it in a few days because the other idea I began has taken over. It’s OK, because I am under no current pressure to make headway on the sequel. I just wanted to know I could and start messing with how.

The new WiP is sort of consuming all my waking thoughts right now. I had a banner day Monday, getting close to 4500 words written in one day. Tuesday (even though I was caring for my son and running errands) I managed to squeeze out another 1500 words. Son took a nap because he was up a lot during the night with unknown worries and fears, and so I made him rest in the afternoon. This gave me more writing time than I expected, but then I had to reluctantly wake my son to prevent him staying up until midnight. I am filming today, which will impede my progress, but that is a productive use of time.

What Inspires Me

Pictures from Hawaii. From time to time, I am reminded that I was there and it was magical. Also, my WiP kind of has something to do with it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Family Stories. Last weekend, I traveled with my husband’s family to the Austin area. A few weeks ago, my husband’s mother discovered she had an older half-brother. Her mother had given birth to a son who had been adopted before she married my husband’s grandpa. My mother-in-law didn’t know this had happened, but when her mother told her that she had a brother, my mother-in-law was overjoyed. Watching the family open themselves up to this new person, his daughter, his wife, and his grandkids was an incredible experience. Seeing the power of this revelation in my husband’s family manifest without judgement or bitterness, was an incredible example of the kind of people they are, and the kind of legacy passed down to my husband and his siblings.

What Else I’m Up To

Filming. Today we have seven scenes to shoot in about 3.5 hours. I will be powering through, drinking coffee and diet coke, and probably doing a lot of sweating. Wish me luck!

Catching bugs and things. Monday I caught a tiny lizard for my son, which he – in an incredibly humane gesture for a nearly four year old boy — let go the following morning.

Staying out of the sweltering Texas heat. I feel like God is baking us into a cobbler to serve with ice cream at the church pot-luck. I saw the first glimpse of fall clothes at Target yesterday and wanted to cry, but decided to sweat instead and then buy an ICE-E.

Fangirling hard over this clip from The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones. Oh, the FEELS! Oh, the boy! Oh, Lena Headley not playing Cercei!

 

13 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday August 7

  1. Love those Hawaii pics, especially the Banyan tree! I hear you on the when kiddo sleeps mom gets more writing done thing. Naps = Good! Sorry to hear he’s having a tough time at night, though.

    Good luck with the filming. (p.s. I’m a fan of Coke, too. Always Coke, never Pepsi).

    I’m currently reading City of Bones. Plan to finish it before the movie.

    Best of luck with your writing!

    1. Rebekah

      Sam has spurts of bad nights, which we have learned to accept as part of growing and parenting. But thank you! Yes, it’s hard.

      Diet Coke is the devil and I love it. 🙂

      Loved the whole Mortal Instruments series! Hope you enjoy it.

  2. 4500 words in one day is amazing! That’s a good WEEK for me. 🙂 And I love your Hawaii photos… They totally make me want to take a vacation. Best of luck with your writing progress in the coming week, Rebekah. We should do some Twitter writing!

    1. Rebekah

      It was a surprise to me! Sometimes the muse visits and grants interesting days. I also wrote in silence, which I haven’t done in a long time.

      Thanks you Katy! Yes, let’s do Twitter writing this week. 🙂

  3. OCD Love Story looks so good, I can’t wait to read it. Also, your husbands family story totally made me smile. I’m currently in the process of adopting, so I like hearing about happy adoption stories, and happy family reunion stories fall into that category in my book.

    1. Rebekah

      Oh, I am so glad, and hope process is smooth for you guys. I have two adopted brothers, so I believe adoption is a wonderful and worthwhile thing. 🙂

    1. Rebekah

      It’s part of a writing acting workshop with local teens. We will air the series on YouTube, and may sell DVDs. We’ll see, but the kids came up with the concept, wrote scenes, cast, direct and act, and we facilitate it. It’s been an incredible time.

  4. What an amazing family experience. Wow! It must have been so emotional and inspirational ^_^

    Ooooh Hawaii! I’d looooove to go there.

    Have a wonderful writing week!

    1. Rebekah

      It was emotional, for sure. I was hugely inspired by my husbands grandma in all of it. The story is much like a lot of those stories in the mid 1950s, but her decisions and how she chose to handle it is truly amazing. I feel I understand her so much better now.

  5. Way to multitask and crank out the words! You had a super writing week!

    The story about your husband’s mother and how she discovered a long lost half-brother is so inspiring. It’s wonderful that they were so welcoming and excited to expand their family!

    I saw your tweet about the extended clip of The Mortal Instruments movie and I checked it out. I haven’t been thrilled with some of the YA movies that have come out in the past, but I have to say City of Bones looks really good. I also think Jamie Campbell Bower was a perfect choice for Jace.

    I hope your new story idea continues to inspire you and that filming goes well this week! Oh, and stay cool! I can’t imagine trying to beat Texas heat. Canadian heat is often more than I can handle!

    1. Rebekah

      Thank you! It was an awesome writing week so far!

      I loved to get to experience this with them. It really drew us together in a new way.

      I agree 100% about the casting of Jace. He looks and sounds so like him, and he’s a good actor, so hopefully it will be better than some of the others. I think he and Lily Collins seem like they have decent chemistry as well. Yay!

      Oh my gosh, Texas heat is painful and exhausting. I was in it so much filming today that I feel wobbly. I wish I was in Canada for summer and here for winter.

Leave a Reply

