What’s Up Wednesday

whats up wednesdayWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s.

What I’m Reading

I finished reading the ARC of Tandem by Anna Jarzab. I really enjoyed it. If you are a fan of sci-fi that deals with multiverses and has romance simmering beneath the surface, you will love it.

The book I decided to pick up after Tandem, is one I’ve been meaning to read for a while now. I heard such praise about the world building and romance, not to mention the protagonist, that I actually became reluctant to start. Maybe because I was afraid I wouldn’t get it. Maybe because the hype was too much. Or maybe just because I knew I would become obsessed. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass has already delivered on the hype and I am officially obsessed. My fear realized, and I’m thrilled.

What I’m Writing

Still working my my new project, though I’ve only written about 1000 words on it since last week. My weekend was sort of…full. I didn’t get as much writing in as I would have liked. Also working on the sequel to my manuscript and plotting some more. Much of my writing on that project is mental and notes right now.

What Inspires Me

The Civil Wars new album, The Civil War. I am largely inspired by music while writing. For me, the emotion that courses through some music ignites the desires in my characters in such a way that I feel what they may feel beneath my own skin. When working on my novel, The Civil War’s song “Poison and Wine” perfectly expressed the conflicted nature of my love story, and provided an ideal platform for writing the tense romantic scenes between my MC and the Romantic Lead.

What Else I’m Up To

Earlier I said my weekend was full…full of preparing to film or filming or being tired from filming.

Swimming. My son has gradually grown bolder in the water as the summer has worn on. I really needed to float in cool water Friday evening, after a day of roller coaster emotions from…

Being Rejected. I wrote about it here, so I won’t go into it again, but will say I did receive a request for a partial the next day. The road to publication is nothing if not unpredictable, a mixture of heartache and elation, and best taken with a shot of tequila.

Have a Wednesday full of unexpected fun! Oh, and tell me what’s up with you too.

15 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. I think it’s okay to have an off week when it comes to writing. I’ve had a few this summer, and I always feel bad about them, but they motivate me to jump back in the following week. I hope you’re able to do that too. I’ll be writing in the evenings if you want to do some Twitter writing parties. 🙂

    Oh, and I have had THRONE OF GLASS for months and have been hesitant to start it. I think I’m intimidated by all the amazing things I’ve heard about it. But knowing that the hype is deserved makes me want to pick it up right now!

    1. Rebekah

      I will absolutely be joining in Twitter writing parties — most definitely tonight! I am tired from my final day of shooting with the kids, but exhilarated as well. Our writing flow has ups and downs, just like our moods, and often because we also have REAL lives we must manage.

      Yes, I do think you should read THRONE OF GLASS! I don’t think you could be disappointed!

  2. “The road to publication is nothing if not unpredictable, a mixture of heartache and elation, and best taken with a shot of tequila.” Yes! So, so true! Sorry to hear about the rejection, but YAY for the partial! Your 1000 words of writing is about 1000 words more than I wrote this week, so you’re doing better than you think lol. I’ve been wanting to read TANDEM since I first heard about it. It’s funny how the whole multiverse thing has become a thing this year. I actually wanted to write a post about that very subject. Happy to hear it was goo! Have a great week, Rebekah! 🙂

    1. Rebekah

      Jaime, I think we are both in the same boat as far as not feeling super writing productive this week, but sort life productive. We must remember all things are a balance.

      YES! Write a post about multiverses. I would read that! It is fascinating. I’ve been having odd multiverse dreams ever since I finished Tandem. One was “How I Met Your Mother” related where Barney was telling the story, Hmmm…

  3. Oh I am jealous! I’ve been dying to read Tandum, it sounds brilliant and I used to read Anna’s blog before she was published.

    Yay for your partial request and for the 1000 words 🙂

    Have a great week.

  4. I enjoyed Throne of Glass too. Congrats on the request! I’m enjoying the Civil Wars new album. It’s so good. Good luck with your writing goals. Have a great weekend!

  5. “The road to publication is nothing if not unpredictable, a mixture of heartache and elation, and best taken with a shot of tequila.” Can I just say I love you. That line is to great!

  6. Stephanie Scott

    Unpredictable is an accurate word, yes. Rejection…yuk, but part of it. And hopefully a point to learn from (if any feedback was provided).

    1. Rebekah

      Yuck, yes, and part of it, yep. There was minimal feedback on the MS beyond saying he’d read with great interest but felt it wasn’t for him. Oh well…I am taking what I can from that.

  7. I’m so glad you’re enjoying THRONE OF GLASS! I absolutely loved it and can’t wait to get the sequel in my hands!

    Sorry to hear about the rejection you received. I thought your post on it was very thoughtful and encouraging to those of us who are also going through the querying process. That’s wonderful that you got a request for a partial the next day though! Hope good things come from that!

    1. Rebekah

      I loved Throne of Glass. I NEED the sequel, now too!

      Thanks. The ups and downs of querying are universally understood, so I was happy to share. I hope something comes from the request too, but I’m also trying to be chill and realistic.

  8. Isn’t The Civil Wars’ new album the best? I’ve added so many songs to my writing playlists.

    Congrats on the partial request! I’m sure it felt extra fantastic in light of the rejection you’d just received 🙂

    1. Rebekah

      Totally! Their music fits into the fabric of my soul. There is something very raw about them.

      It did, Stephanie! It was unexpected, which also made it sweeter.

Leave a Reply

