What’s Up Wednesday

whats up wednesdayWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s.

I want to preface this by saying, it’s been a hell of a week.

What I’m Reading

I finished Throne of Glass. I would like a moment of silence to relive some of the spine-tingling feels this book delivers. (Closes eyes and thinks about Chaol, Celeana, and Dorian. Wanders into daydreaming where I am an assassin with killer hair and cat-like reflexes who captures the interest of two beautiful men.)

OK, I’m back. I then decided to read Austenland by Shannon Hale. I love Jane Austen, and Mr.Darcy is still possibly one of the most swoony literary men ever, so this book naturally appeals to me. In much the same way I adored and devoured Bridget Jones’s Diary, I fell headlong in love with Austenland. It’s a quick read at 208 pages. It’s laugh-out-loud funny at times, and it delivers the romantic goods. I haven’t read an “adult” book since The Rules of Civility last year, but this book was exactly what I needed in the midst of my crazy week. It was an escape, just as Pembrook Park is for the heroine Jane, and one I was grateful for. 

The film adaptation was recently released, and it looks like a blast!

What I’m Writing

Hmm, what am I not writing? Last week we wrapped the first installments on our web series, now officially titled SUPER TV SHOW. Riding the high of this, the crew and I decided to take a chance on producing our own short film. This film project is one I have had in the works, in varying and evolving forms, for almost seven years. It’s a project I very much believe in. Next week we will launch a Kickstarter campaign to raise funds. I will share all that information as soon as I have the link for it. I am ridiculously excited. Along those lines I’ve been writing proposals, rewriting the script for filming, and sending emails to contacts in the locations we need permission to film in. For instance, we want to use a historical cemetery as one location. There is a Cemetery Board that must approve. It’s morbidly fabulous.

I also made some progress on my WiP, bringing in another 1500 words. I love this story, and now I am doing more in-depth research to flesh out the world-building. I also have some alpha readers who want to know where the hell my next pages are. Sorry!

What Inspires Me

We went to a small town to scout locations and shoot our Kickstarter video on Sunday. We ended up drinking wine in an eclectic antique store with the shop owner, a film buff who studied molecular science, and talking about Fellini. We also caught most of it on film.

The support of the writer community here and on Twitter. When I shared my experience with rejection last week, the response was overwhelmingly encouraging  and edifying. I am always impressed by you.

What Else I’m Up To

My son has been sick with swimmer’s ear and some kind of stomach bug. He also seems to be going through some sort of terrifyingly early pre-adolescent hormone surge. He screams, cries, and pits his will against mine at regular intervals throughout the day. His birthday was today — but his party is Saturday — and for the most part it was a lovely day. I made him a special breakfast, took him to a playground, and spent the afternoon watching Power Rangers Jungle Fury (only available through random vendors on Amazon, so it was a birthday present) with him at my mom’s house. I also had to threaten him repeatedly with time outs and loss of privileges if he didn’t put on his listening ears and get in the damn car. (I did not cuss at him, but in my head there was a string of expletives.) Children are a blessing. And so is alcohol.

I entered the “Agent Inbox” contest through author Krista Van Dolzer’s website. You should all visit the contest, which should be up some time today, and tell them how amazing Post #9 is. Plus, if you are at all curious to find out what my book is about, this is a good opportunity. I have never shared this much information about it on the internet. It’s feels scary.

Last night I went to the midnight release of The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones. First of all, wow, I am a major fangirl and really too old to be out so late. (Though, when I lived in NYC I spent quite a few wild nights out until 3am. But I was an idiot.) Second, the movie was a little disappointing, but Jace Lightwood in the flesh wasn’t.

mortalinstruments

The most fabulous part of our late, late night was during the previews when this happened:

kitharringtonpompeii

I honestly can’t tell you anything about the teaser trailer that followed this shot. Pompeii comes out February 28, 2014, and I’ll be there. I have already exstensively searched the internet for the teaser trailer from last night with no luck. If you happen to stumble upon it before I do (and I promise, you will know when I do) please Tweet me or post in comments.

Happy Wednesday! Now, if only I could take a nap.

14 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. I’ve had Throne of Glass on my list for a while but haven’t gotten to it yet. Maybe I’ll pick it up once I finally finish my Debut Author Challenge reads…whenever that is. Also your web series sounds awesome. And anything done at a historical cemetery has my vote. And the fact that you got all that work done AND knocked out 1500 words? Yeah, good week. Good luck next week!

    1. Rebekah

      Thank you, Liz!

      Clearly, I absolutely think Throne of Glass is worth reading. I was so moved by it, more than I expected to be.

      The web series is quite fun! I can’t wait for editing to be done so we can premier it. I will be posting it here once we have it available to view. Post-production is the longest part.

  2. Gosh you have had quite the week! It sounds fun though. The line – children are a blessing, so is alcohol made me snort with laughter! So true!

    I loved Austenland and I’m dying to see the film. It’s not out here till September though.

    Good luck with the agent inbox. I’ve never heard of it. I’ll have to go check it out.

    Have a great week and I hope you track down that trailer 🙂

    1. Rebekah

      It was quite a week, and fun is a good way to describe it, Alexa! 🙂 I speak only truth. My nights usually involve wine for my wind-down.

      It’s still in limited release here, so NY and LA, but hopefully it will reach us soon. I’m so glad you loved the book too. The movie features some great actors. One favorite is James Callis. Ever since I saw him in Bridget Jones, I liked him. Then, when my husband and I watched Battlestar Galactica my love for him was set in stone.

      Thank you! Do check it out if you have time. And I am still on the hunt for that trailer. My stomach flip-flops with the memory of it.

  3. Alison Miller

    Isn’t the writing community fabulous?! Congrats for getting into Krista’s contest! I’m in too (#8) and I just went over and read your entry and I LOVE it! I tried to give helpful suggestions, but sometimes I don’t feel like I know what I’m talking about – pure reader reactions – so feel free to ignore me. 🙂 Good luck!

    And it sounds like you’re having a better week! I love that you’ve been scouting film locations! How cool! Your stories about your experience are neat too. Also, I took my teen and 16 of her friends to the midnight premiere of Hunger Games. NEVER too young to fangirl!

    1. Rebekah

      Allison! Your entry was fabulous too! I thought your comments were great, and I’m so glad you liked it. 🙂 🙂 Thank you so much for commenting!

      It is fun to scout and then have the town really welcome you like that. That kind of reception just to the notion of filming bodes well.

      LOL! I didn’t make it to The Hunger Games midnight release since we were in NY at the time and I couldn’t secure a sitter for 10 to 4 am. I will probably manage for Catching Fire though! I am a glutton for punishment and sleep deprivation.

  4. I’ll have to join you in closing my eyes and thinking about Chaol. Sigh. Loved that book. I’m sorry to hear CITY OF BONES was a bit disappointing, but not too surprised. The trailer looked good, but it seems like Hollywood has yet to really do justice to a YA novel, at least in my opinion. Ah well.

    This totally cracked me up, and I can relate: “Children are a blessing. And so is alcohol.” I should post that on my fridge. Some phases are definitely better than others. I hope your son is feeling better soon.

    Best of luck in the contest!

    1. Rebekah

      I had very high expectations for the City of Bones movie. I do still feel the casting was spot on. And I wouldn’t discourage anyone from seeing it. It just wasn’t what I hoped it would be. I agree, YA film adaptations are generally lackluster.

      He seems better this afternoon and evening. He went to school today, which really helps him. He’s too smart for his own good.

      Thanks for the good luck!

  5. Best of luck with the Agent’s Inbox contest, Rebekah! I can’t wait to go root for your entry! 🙂 I hope your kiddo feels better soon. My daughter has been acting a little crazy lately too… Maybe it’s just end of the summer blues? (That’s what I’m telling myself, anyway!)

    1. Rebekah

      I saw your comment, Katy! Thank you so much for commenting. I’m so glad you enjoyed it, too.

      I like your idea that it’s end of summer blues. Lets go with that!

  6. I saw that EW shot of Kit Harrington the other day in my FB feed and I think I may have drooled on my keyboard. So, so pretty. I also saw the Mortal Instruments movie and wasn’t completely enamoured of it. Jace was pretty great, though my husband leaned over at one point and commented that his hair looked like Duran Duran. I think I may have snorted out loud. There were definitely some deviations from the book and it wasn’t without its seriously cheesy moments, but mostly I enjoyed it. I loved your little THRONE OF GLASS interlude. I’m Team Chaol, so I just imagined him. 😉 Your What I’m Writing section is fascinating for so many reasons! Sounds like you’ve been up to some pretty great things lately. 🙂

    1. Rebekah

      Um, yes he really is. I did manage to find the trailer finally, and now I’m just so happy.

      Jamie Campbell Bower made the movie, for me. I did enjoy it, but it wasn’t what I was expecting, and I think that’s why I was thrown. I may have to watch it again to decide for sure.

      Team Chaol, yes, but I do enjoy Dorian. I actually like his character without thinking of him as Celeana’s love interest. I don’t know, I am going to have to ponder this some more.

      Thanks Jaime! It has been a busy week, but good.

Leave a Reply

