What’s Up Wednesday

whats up wednesdayWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s.

What I’m Reading

The danger in beginning Crown of Midnight when I have so much to do is that I won’t get a lick of it accomplished. I ran out yesterday, after exercising and losing my will to live in one fail swoop, to purchase this book on pub day. To say I was excited doesn’t do justice to my feelings on the subject of this book.

What I’m Writing

I spent a big chunk of time writing content for the blog and Kickstarter dedicated to the short film project I am now fully immersed in. (More on this below!) This kind of writing is actually quite supportive to query writing because it centers around pitching a concept to an audience with no prior knowledge of your project.

I did some other writing as well, though not on my WiP. I worked on the sequel to my novel, which is still in the limbo phase of querying. (I’m handling this well, really, totally at peace. *bites nails to bits*) Sometimes it’s acceptable to go with your inspiration, which is what I did there. Plus, a few thousand words ain’t too shabby either!

What Inspires Me

I have mentioned a few times the workshop I did with Nova Ren Suma through Mediabistro. This class not only introduced me to the wonder that is Nova, but it also acquainted me with some truly talented writers at varying stages in their craft. One of those writers finished revision on the book she was workshopping and is now readying her query. It’s always exciting when this happens.

In the same vein, another friend from that workshop, who is an immensely talented writer herself, chose to take time out of her day —and money from her bank account — to support my short film project. Susan Crispell, your encouragement in this (and your fangirling of my novel before this!!!) is invaluable. I heart you from Texas, and hope we get to meet one day in person! She also has a book coming from Swoon Romance in January titled Love and Cupcakes, and I can’t wait for the rest of you to get to read her fabulous writing.

To cap off, I want to mention the support I received from some of the members of this blog-hop, in the Agent Inbox contest I was a part of last week. I didn’t win, but I do feel it was a valuable experience. Thanks to Katy Upperman and Allison Miller for commenting on my query!

And, lastly but not leastly, Sara Biren took the time to send me some email encouragement after hearing about my rejection. It was the email equivalent to a pep squad and I adore her for it.

It is by the edification of other writers, who love words and books, and who remind us we are all in this together, that we can keep going. If you are feeling discouraged — maybe you received a rejection yourself this week, maybe your revision is fighting tooth and nail to stay shitty — don’t lose heart. The tide can turn at any moment, but we all know how rough it can be before it does.

What Else I’m Up To 

So, yeah, I’m making a movie. If you are interested, here is a blog post I wrote yesterday that details everything, as well as provides all the handy links to learn more! I am featured in the Kickstarter video. I may do a little dance. May be worth checking out just to experience that.

My son’s 4th birthday party was this past Saturday. Sam wanted a Power Rangers/Ninja Turtles Theme. My husband took all the pictures on our “nice” camera, and I haven’t had time to pull them off yet. Be assured, it was quite the shindig. I am glad to be done with it, and next year I will probably rent a place and have it catered because I decided I don’t actually like organizing parties. It gives me anxiety sweats. Also, Sam spent most of the day in tears because the pressure of presents and entertaining and all that sugar is really too much.

Sam's first day of preschool!

Sam’s first day of preschool!

Sam also moved up to the preschool class at his Montessori school. With moving up he began five days a week. It was a difficult decision to put him in full-time, but my husband and I both feel it will be best for all of us. Sam seems to mostly agree, with the exception of this morning when he wanted to watch another episode of Ninja Turtles and couldn’t because he had to leave for school.

Happy Wednesday! What’s up with you?

13 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Thank you! Doing a film is always fun and incredibly challenging. Films take a lot of work to make, even short projects like this one, but it’s a blast. The final product is very rewarding too!

  2. Yay for work on the sequel! (Still fangirling, btw.) And thank you for your support for all of my writing. I am so grateful for that Media Bistro class because I met some amazing writers and very kindred spirits.

  3. Your son is so cute! My son, also four, starts full time school in September. I’m sure he’ll enjoy it, but it’s sad 😦

    Good luck with your movie and your querying!

  4. Your little guy is adorable! I love his first day of preschool photo. I also love your inspiration section for this week. There’s nothing more motivating and encouraging than seeing friends succeed, and having friends who reach out to support you when you need it. Thanks for sharing!

  5. That’s awesome about the film project Kickstarter campaign – good luck with that!

    I don’t think I’ve ever planned a party and I probably never should. I can’t see myself doing anything more than throwing down a bag of chips and yelling, “Enjoy!”

  6. Oh I am DYING to read CROWN OF MIDNIGHT. But I haven’t opened it yet because I know that I, too, will be sucked in and not surface until the end. And, oh, the feeling of rejection. As a fellow soldier in the querying trenches, my wish for you is this: that you always have good friends or family nearby when you need somebody to say, “Trust me, the entire world doesn’t hate you and you’re not the world’s worst writing including illiterate people and children under the age of four.”

  7. CROWN OF MIDNIGHT!!! I still need to get my hands on a copy of that. My sister and I almost keeled over when we realized it came out the other day and we completely forgot. The sad thing is, it isn’t on the shelves yet at our bookstores. :/ That workshop you participated in sounds great. I really need to check out more stuff like that. Have a great week, Rebekah! 🙂

  8. I just ordered a copy of CROWN OF MIDNIGHT and I can’t wait to read it. That one is going to be a major distraction from writing!

    I can’t tell you how encouraged it makes me feel to know that you’re working on the sequel to the book you’re currently querying. I’m doing the same thing and sometimes I feel crazy or like I’m jumping the gun, but when that story is in your head begging to be told it feels necessary to let the inspiration take over. I’m rooting for you to have some major success in the querying department soon!

    Good luck to Sam with his full time Montessori school! 🙂

Leave a Reply

