What’s Up Wednesday

whats up wednesdayWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s.

What I’m Reading

I just finished Crown of Midnight, and OH MY HOLY GEEZ! If you fell in love with Throne of Glass, you will want to propose to Crown of Midnight. I caress this book, stroking the pages with effusive affection. There was a point where I set it down, filled with grief, and considered not picking it back up. For pages and pages I was so distressed I actually considered writing a very strongly worded open letter eviscerating Sarah J. Mass for ripping my heart so thoroughly to shreds. But I persevered and was rewarded. This series in YA High Fantasy at its best.

What I’m Writing

I actually got quite a lot of my own writing done this week. Not only did I knock out a little over 3000 words on my WiP, but I spent a good chunk of time plotting and researching as well. I decided, after getting about 30 pages in, that I needed to understand a bit more about the history of this fictional world and by extension the MC’s family line. I spent a few hours Saturday morning putting together a fictional family tree, which was very fruitful. Haha…anyway, then I decided I might have to rewrite the whole thing in third person. I haven’t written in third person for a few years, which means I’m now very intimidated by my own ambitions.

What Inspires Me

The book Ancient Hawaii. Yes, my WiP is inspired by Hawaii. No, it is not set in the real Hawaii. Yes, I will have to go back for “research” in order to properly tell this story. No, I am not sure how I will afford that.

Twitter writing parties are still happening, and I for one an grateful. Last Friday, when I was considering shittin’ around on the internet Googling images of Kit Harington, Tracey Neithercott suggested a writing party check-in. This accountability, and my first hour word count failure and subsequent shame, helped me get almost 1000 words in two hours. I am not begging, but please, pretty please with a cherry on top can we continue these forever?

What Else I’m Up To

Our Kickstarter for the short film Cassie’s Cause funded on Monday, Labor Day! Not just funded, but exceeded our goal by over $2000 clams. You can still pledge your support! The campaign will run until September 25th. With Kickstarter, you must reach your goal in order to fund, which is why ours was so low, but exceeding your goal isn’t limited in any way. So, if you still want to be a part of the project, you can. Please follow us on Twitter and Facebook, we’d love to share the experience with you that way!

Along the same lines, pre-production for the film is in full-swing. We had a meeting last week to discuss where we stand, what we need, and how we plan to make it happen. Making a film, even a short film, requires a lot of diligence and attention to detail. The things you think you can skimp on are what will likely make the difference in the end.

My son had his first week in the 4-year-old class at his Montessori school. He is LOVING it. Witnessing his progress, even after one week, makes my heart glad. He’s jumped right in to learning, and brings that energy and excitement home with him. We spent an hour yesterday evening writing his letters. He kept saying, “More! More! I want to write more!” (I’m totally beaming.)

Happy Wednesday to all! What’s up with you?

19 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Awww…your son’s enthusiasm for learning is awesome! And I really hope we continue these writing parties! I can’t participate as much at night with my new schedule and bedtimes and such, but I will tweet any time I can! They are so helpful! Also, CONGRATS on the amazing progress!!! When I finish my draft, I will also do a family tree. And a map of my fictional town. And probably about fifty pages of back story docs. It helps. So good for you!

    Have a great week!

    • I like your method of drafting and then doing some of that background work. I did roughly that with Redhunt, but found it a little frustrating after I’d already written so much and then had to rework.

      His learning enthusiasm is precious. He really responds to affirmation. As long as we are positive, he jumps in with both feet.

      Looking forward to more Twitter parties!

  2. “Shittin’ around on the internet Googling images of Kit Harington.” Hahaha! I don’t know. That sounds like a good use of time to me. 😉 Happy to hear you’re getting so much out of the Twitter parties. Sounds like you’re doing great with your writing! I’m also happy to hear that you loved CROWN OF MIDNIGHT. I know how much you loved Book 1, so it makes me all kinds of thrilled to know that I can expect great things from Book 2. My copy just needs to get here already!

    • Jaime, I totally anticipated that time spent Googling to be both enjoyable and rewarding. However, writing is probably more productive.

      Oh! CROWN OF MIDNIGHT! I hope your copy arrives soon, because it’s amazing and you will love it.

  3. I’m so glad your son is enjoying school so far! What a big relief for mama! 3K on your WiP is fantastic, especially since you spent time researching and plotting, too. What a time-suck research can be, and yet, sometimes it’s absolutely necessary before moving forward with the writing.

    Best of luck with your writing this week, Rebekah!

    • It is a relief to know he’s enjoying his day and benefitting from it. It definitely makes sending him feel worth it.

      Still researching, but also inspired to move forward, so it should be an interesting writing week!

  4. I can’t imagine redoing something in another POV, but more power to you if you’re able to do it. I have a similar future dilemma, in that I’m planning to resurrect a long-shelved first-person character and her story after over 20 years. The book is 19th century historical and told in diary form, but I haven’t written first-person in about 20 years.

    My little brother attended a Montessori school for awhile, and I’ve heard good things about the system as an adult. If I ever have kids, and it were on budget, I might consider sending them there for awhile.

    • I sent the pages to my CP’s, and so far they are saying stick with the POV structure I’m already doing. I am still toying with the idea, and may just give it a try in a separate doc.

      Also, good luck with your new/old project. It sounds really interesting.

      We’ve been happy with the Montessori school so far. He won’t attend through elementary school, but this foundation is great!

  5. I am noting the Sarah J. Maas series. I’m sorely deficient in my fantasy reading, so I will bear it in mind. And congrats for the word count AND for the film funding! Both are major wins this week for you. 🙂 I hope this next week sees major progress on the planning of the movie, and on your WIP. 🙂

    • I think this series is a great representation of what true YA high fantasy should look like. THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS or SHADOW AND BONE are great as well, but they put a different spin on the world-building you normally see in fantasy.

      Thank you, Colin! We are excited to move forward with the film knowing we will be able to do it properly. Very grateful!

  6. I really like the Montessori concept and I worked in a nursery that incorporated a lot of the theories. It does wonders for a child’s independence.

    Research is a GREAT reason to go to Hawaii! Hope you can get there soon 😀

    Throne of Glass is in my TBR pile and I’m really looking forward to getting to it.

    Have a fantastic week!

    • We’re happy with the Montessori program. This particular school mixes in some traditional education methods as well, which seems to work for my son.

      Consider moving Throne of Glass up on your list! You won’t regret it,

  7. your energy makes my head spin i was once young a long time ago it has been fun watching you then hearing of your blog catching it & following y’all home to TEXAS
    thanx for bein real for what i can see there are no pretenses about you and that is truly fresh by the way i am fairly new new to your blog

    • Thank you commenting Kelly! I am so glad your reading and following. Thank you for supporting the film project, too! Big hugs and blessings!

  8. Oh man, when my copy of CROWN OF MIDNIGHT gets here, I just might have to lock myself in a room to read it. I’m terrified and SO freaking curious now, but also relieved that it’s that wonderful. I love it when sequels deliver like that!

    3000k plus research and plotting is a hugely successful writing week! Way to go! I haven’t been to Hawaii, but I think it’s intriguing that it inspired the setting for your WIP.

    Just think, maybe someday your son’s letters will turn into full stories! 🙂

    • Erin, it is so fabulous you will just DIE! It just reached NYT Bestsellers, which is so exciting too.

      I am feeling very motivated about all my writing projects. Hawaii was inspirational to me in so many ways, but the setting and the culture really stood out. I haven’t been able to get it out of my head since.

      I had the same thought about my son writing! It makes my lip tremble and tears threaten to imagine him one day writing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

