What’s Up Wednesday

WUWKiteWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s blog. And in honor of What’s Up Wednesday for the fall, Jaime made some beautiful new buttons. I’ll feature them all over the next few weeks.

What I’m Reading

I finished Beauty last week. I loved it. I adore Robin McKinley, and everything I have read by her has been brilliant. Beauty isn’t my all-time fave McKinley, that title is still held by the haunting Deerskin, but it definitely enchanted me. Especially this passage. I want to live in the Beast’s library.

beauty

I began A Game of Thrones, the first in the epic Song of Ice and Fire series that inspired the massively popular HBO show. I have watched the show. I crush hard on Jon Snow (he’s 14 in the books, but not in my head, because…Kit Harington). I am taking my time, not only because the book is very dense, but because I find myself dissecting the sentence structure and world-building elements while reading. Bran has my heart, and that one scene from the first episode of GoT, where Bran sees something he shouldn’t and then something horrible happens, that was somehow more painful to read.

What I’m Writing

I made great progress on my WiP. I hit, and then passed, the 10,000 word mark for overall word count. I am now over 12,000. I feel really hopeful about this story. I have a pretty good idea of the larger movements, have a strong sense of the world so far, and the writing itself isn’t coming out as complete and utter horse-shit.

What Inspires Me

Reading the writing of others. As a writer, one must also be a reader, but what is especially amazing is when you can be a reader for other talented writers on the same journey that you’re on. I got to read a piece from a friend last night that floored me. It was a moment where the talent of this writer, which she has honed probably for many years, came together to create near perfect pages. Or as I told her on Twitter, “There was magic in those pages.” And that is a gift.

My son’s struggle with his own expectations. Sam is a very literal child, which maybe most children are, but this seems to also just be his personality. When things don’t play out as he explicitly expects them to, in the very specific way he has seen in his brain, he struggles. Dealing with this hurdle in his life has shed light on my own need to give myself and others a bit of a break, because I have realized, Sam gets this from me. The truth is, many things will not happen as you hope or expect, that just isn’t reality, but that doesn’t give you the right to pitch a fit. You have to change your perspective. You have to understand that expectations are just one element at play in the overall outcome.

What Else I’m Up To

Tonight…a Mumford and Son’s concert!!!!!! Yay and yay!

These next few weeks are crazy busy:

We are on the final leg of pre-production.

I am in a Fun Run (I know, I don’t understand the name either. Running is not fun.) It was one of those crazy things I let myself get roped into and then actually get excited about, until I realize I will actually have to run, and then I start to panic.

The last weekend of September is Austin Teen Book Fest and I’m GOING! Of course, as a fangirl and not an author. But someday…

If you live in Texas, or nearish Austin, you should also go.

Banner2013_940

Happy Wednesday! What’s up with you?

12 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Alison Miller

    I really wish I lived in Texas. Or at least could visit in a week. *sigh*

    Also, I’m one of those people who creates scenarios about how I imagine things playing out and sometimes get incredibly disappointed when they don’t. You’re right – you do have to change the perspective. I personally think I should still be able to pitch a fit 😉 but I hear ya. I am the same way. 🙂

    That’s awesome progress on the WiP! Go you!

    1. Rebekah

      Me too, Allison! I’ll post lots of pics, which isn’t the same, but still something. ATBF is a blast. I went last year with my sweet husband, but this year I’m going with my sisters-in-law and my author friend, and her YA booknerd pals, so I have a feeling it will be even better.

      I want to pitch a fit, I think we all do, and I think that desire is valid. I then think we have to move on, and maybe eventually we won’t feel the need to pitch a fit at all.

  2. “The truth is, many things will not happen as you hope or expect, that just isn’t reality, but that doesn’t give you the right to pitch a fit. You have to change your perspective. You have to understand that expectations are just one element at play in the overall outcome.” You have no idea just how much I needed to read this. So, so true. I need to take this to heart. Blow it up poster size where I can see it on a regular basis. :/

    I’ve been wanting to read GoT, but I’ve been giving the mammoth size of the books the side-eye. Yikes. Still, they’re tempting me. I know what you mean about Jon Snow. I don’t think I could picture him as anything other than older and hotter after seeing this gem: Kit Harington, FTW

    I’m so envious that you’re seeing Mumford & Sons! That will be awesome! Have a great time and a great week, Rebekah! 🙂

    1. Rebekah

      Jaime! I hope it’s encouraging and not soul-crushing, though. I feel once we get our expectations under control, we can see the potential to move forward. I don’t mean you don’t fantasize about the outcome of something you’re hoping for, because I think that is so important too, but just realize the actual result can still be beneficial, or even better, when not set alongside the expectation.

      I give it the side-eye as I read and my progress never seems to change. Totally worth it though. Oh, geez, Kit Harington. You and me, Jaime, we are on the same page. *wipes drool from chin*

      You have a great week too!

  3. Susan Crispell

    Agree about Bran. Everything is much more painful in the books than on the show, and you know how devastating that can be. Good luck with the world-building research. GRRM is a master of it.

    And, in case you haven’t realized by our epic Twitter and email conversations, the adoration and awe are totally mutual.

    1. Rebekah

      Bran, oh, I adore him. Also, he kind of reminds me of Gray. When my husband and I were watching the show, I said, “Hmm, that’s sort of what gray would like like if he were a bit older.” So, reading Bran is really affecting me. I wonder if I’ll ever be able to world-build like he does…probably not, but it is helpful to study.

      :))) Still thinking about those pages. *clears throat* Send more.

  4. Congrats on passing 12K and still loving the story. Any day my words are not complete and utter horse shit but only somewhat of the equine shit variety is a very good day.

    And, oh, I so identify with your son. I always set in my head exactly how something will go and feel a bit let down when—gasp!—it doesn’t happen that way. Great post.

    1. Rebekah

      Equine derivative shit is better, for sure. 🙂

      Thanks Tracey! The whole expectations thing just keeps coming up, and I think, maybe writers are more inclined to fantasize about the outcome because that’s what we do constantly in our writing. I don’t know. But…solidarity sister!

  5. I love book festivals and I’m so glad I managed to get to the Edinburgh Book Festival last month ^_^

    Congratulations on all the writing progress! It all sounds very exciting.

    Have a wonderful week!

  6. GoT is on my Fall reading list… okay, so it’s been on my Fall reading list since 2012, but I’m determined to get to it soon. Really! I haven’t seen any of the TV series, and nor will I until I’ve read the book.

    Congrats on 12,000 words. Keep going! 😀

    The Teen Book Festival looks like fun. Have a great time on behalf of all of us who wish we could be there. And have a great week, Rebekah! 🙂

Leave a Reply

