What’s Up Wednesday

wuwPLANEBORDER2What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s blog. And in honor of What’s Up Wednesday for the fall, Jaime made some beautiful new buttons. I’ll feature them all over the next few weeks.

I’m in my third story loft office, drinking coffee and thinking thoughts. For only Wednesday, this week has already kicked my butt, and there are still miles to go before I can rest.

Current View
Current View

What I’m Reading

I am still in the thick of A Game of Thrones, and yes, I am still blown away by the writing and world-building. The first season of the show followed the book pretty closely, but it has been a while (with many horrors in between) since I watched the first season. Slowly it returns, making the experience of reading an odd combination of accepting the interpretation and throwing it out all-together. Especially Dany. My swoon for Jon Snow has reached a fever pitch, and really, that is saying something considering the severity of my crush before.

I’m making slow progress and not feeling one ounce of regret for spending this much time on a single book. It’s sort of freeing to chew on a sentence just as long as I damn well please. To close my eyes, letting ice form around me as I stand on the Wall with Tyrion and Jon, or have my chest seize as Summer saves Bran by ripping an assassins throat out, or wanting to smack Sansa for choosing Joffrey over Arya.

Reading for me had become a bit of a job. Oh, I better read this because everyone is and I want to be part of the conversation. Or, I need to get so many books read, in this amount of time, in order to meet my 2013 reading goals and not feel like a failure. Reading and writing should never be a job, even when they are your job. The motivation should come from a singular desire to be transported by words on a page, whether those words are your own, or someone else’s. That is an idealistic view, I know, but holding on to ideals keeps the cynic from ruling when the dreamer really should.

What I’m Writing 

I wrote around 3000 words on my WiP, which puts me right at 15,000 words. I feel the pacing is getting dangerously close to not being what I want it to be, and that annoys me. So I’m now resisting urges to do drastic things because there is still a lot of groundwork to be laid. I have taken to pacing around my office to get the jitters out.

I also pulled out a feature length screenplay, which was a labor of love and the first big story I ever wrote, and decided it needs to be rewritten. Ten pages in on that, and not really sure why I’m doing it, but just know that I must.

What Inspires Me

Acceptance. I turn 29 in a little over a month, (November 3rd) and truthfully, I just want to hide. It’s not about getting older, though the thought of leaving my 20s does make my palms sweat, it’s about where I expected to be by 29 and where I am. I am a pretty ambitious person. Driven is an unflattering word maybe, but accurate. This year has been overwhelmingly productive. Productive to the point that the tired in my bones becomes lead if I contemplate the year behind me for too long.

Yet the dreamer in me, the part that forces me to move when I want to stay sedentary, wanted more from this year. And so the realist has to chide the dreamer, showing her the truth. She has no Time-Turner, nor a pensieve to pull the thoughts from her head fully-formed, and she doesn’t possess the ability to brew Felix Felicus empowering herself with supernatural luck, so she needs to cut herself some slack.

I am in a constant battle with me that makes me look like a nutter and feel like an outcast. Recently, the two sides seem to have reached an agreement, or at least, a level of acceptance with one another,  and this has allowed me to see the state of my life truthfully. It’s been a good year. I still want to accomplish more. I know I won’t accomplish everything and have decided not to bitch about it anymore.

Running. Ran about 75% of the 5k on Saturday, keeping pace with my husband and getting sprayed with a lot of neon paint. I’m used to pushing my brain, not my body. The sense of accomplishment does a lot to clear the head. You’re allowed to feel awesome, even if you’re the only one who understands why.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mumford and Sons. Hearing the music live changed my perception of their songs entirely. It is impossible to get good footage at a concert, and it wouldn’t do it justice to try to relay the experience via compressed and low-quality film. Just, yeah…it was as good as I hoped.

What Else I’m Up To

Leaving Friday afternoon for Austin with my sisters-in-law. These ladies are my buds, and I can’t wait to share all the bookish goodness that is Austin Teen Book Fest with them. Looking forward to spending some time with my friend Lindsay, as well as the cool group of Dallas-Fort Worth authors I’ve recently gotten to know, while there, and to generally soak in the knowledge.

We begin filming Cassie’s Cause, our Zombie related short film, on Sunday. Looking forward to the controlled chaos that is shooting a movie, because my OCD hates it, and I like to irritate my OCD.

25 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Alison Miller

    I hear you on acceptance. I have similar thoughts and perspectives, and being 43 I hear the dream-to-reality clock ticking faster and faster. But I try to coax the dreamer side to be patient. This writing thing is a marathon. Not a race. 🙂

    On that, congrats on the 5K! I can barely race my son around the block, so that’s pretty inspiring!

    And funny – I did the same thing this week with one of my first stories. I’m rereading it – not revising yet – but fully plan to.

    Have a great week! And have FUN at the book fest! So jealous!

    1. Rebekah

      It’s hard, and not at all realistic for us to be expected not to dream. We are writers. Dreaming is a part of it. And hopefully, the dream comes true, no matter the time frame.

      I am so excited to see Maggie Stiefvater, most of all. Like…goofy excited.

  2. You’re really making me want to make good on my decision to actually read GAME OF THRONES soon. I hear what you’re saying about reading becoming a job and I couldn’t agree/relate more. I set myself a fairly ambitious Reading Challenge goal this year and that always restricts me a bit. That is what I blame for not tackling GoT already. I’m so worried about taking too long to read something and hurting my chances at meeting my reading goal. Why? Who knows. I think I might opt out of the reading challenge come January or lower my goal somewhat.

    I know what you mean about it not being the age that gets you, but the what you wanted to accomplish by that age. I’m in my mid-30s and I feel the same way. I’m trying really hard not to panic when I look at everything I haven’t yet done, but basically I suck at not panicking and stressing about such things. Basically you’re not alone in struggling to accept this.

    I hope you have a great week, Rebekah, and that you have a blast at the Book Fest!

    1. Rebekah

      GoT is a big commitment. I will not read the second book right away, because I will need to read some others on my TBR, but it is worth the time investment and really does have so much in it to mull as a writer. The whole, reading goal thing is a bit silly, but I do it too, and I don’t know why we do do it.

      Thanks, Jaime, it’s encouraging to know I’m not totally ridiculous in my panicking. I suck at handling it too. You are not alone there, either.

  3. A zombie-related short film? Sounds brilliant!

    …Despite everyone I know telling me I need to watch it, I have so far steered clear of GoT. I don’t need another addiction in my life ^^;

    Have a great week!

    1. Rebekah

      LOL! Yes, Zombie-related! Hoping it will be brilliant. 🙂

      I understand staying away from GoT. I did for a long time, but eventually gave in, and it has proven very distracting.

  4. It’s become a bit of a personal mission with me to get all my friends addicted to Game of Thrones. Show or books, it doesn’t matter. I like the interpretation of Dany’s character…They aged her up, which was nice, but still kept her sexuality as a major part of her personality. It was odd to read about a 13-16 year old being so sexual, especially with older men, so I’m actually a little more comfortable with the show’s interpretation.

    Acceptance…I am a person for whom driven and ambitious are the highest compliments, so it’s also very hard for me to accept what I see as failures. I’ve gotten a bit better, but I see where you’re coming from. 🙂

    1. Rebekah

      So, I probably should specify about Dany. I am speaking about the particular scene in which she has sex with the Kal. I hated that in the show, but had no idea that it was also so very far from the way it happens in the book. The scene in the book did so much for their connection, to me, and I wish the producers of GoT would have kept that, and I don’t know why they didn’t. I am generally glad they aged all the characters up, because of the sexually explicit and violent nature of the series. I think the choice to change a very pivotal experience like the one she has with the Kal was unnecessary. I understand that they put the control in Dany’s hands later, and I’m ok with that, but I don’t agree with these kinds of alterations that change the character so drastically.

      1. Ah. THAT scene. I wondered how they were going to do that in the show, because it takes a long time in the books. I think it was an instance where they had to make a big sacrifice because of the format of the show. It lost the pivotal experience, but I thought it also gained something in her character’s arc because she had to travel/develop farther. But yeah, I definitely had the reaction of WHAT? Nooooooo! It’s supposed to be romantic!!! when I saw the show the first time…It’s still one of the biggest changes they made.

  5. I can so relate on the reading sometime feeling like it is more a job than for enjoyment. I set myself up to read a lot this year and think I may cut back next year and challenge myself to read just half of what I have this year.
    Congrats on the 5k that is so impressive.
    I hope the rest of your week is fun too 🙂

  6. Game of Thrones is such an addictive book – in fact, the whole series is! At the same time, reading slowly is great as you get to enjoy the experience. George R. R. Martin’s writing is so intricate and detailed, but I was surprised how fast I got through the series regardless!

    1. Rebekah

      I just feel like I really want to experience these pages without rushing, and I think I am experiencing a bit of regret for how “fast” I read some of my most anticipated books this year. I can go back and re-read, but I can never read for the first time again. So, I am savoring it.

  7. I so appreciate the view of reading and writing you expressed here. I think it’s very easy to let both become drudgery if you lose sight of what inspired you to love them in the first place. I’ve been trying to get back to writing for the joy of it and put aside all the stresses of the process, but it’s such a hard thing to do. And squeezing in a few pages of reading here and there hasn’t been a great way for me to maintain my love of books. Your thoughts on acceptance and aging hit home for me too, in a big way.

    Also, I’m very jealous that you got to see Mumford and Sons in concert but glad you enjoyed the experience! 🙂

    1. Rebekah

      Thank you, Erin! I especially think it can be challenging to appreciate the writing process when you are getting ready/are in querying, because it does transition to more business and less pleasure. I think you are doing great by writing your sequel even though you aren’t certain where your first book will end up, something I think is brave and shows you really believe in your book.

      They were phenomenal. I was actually shocked by how thoroughly moved I was by the whole experience.

  8. I loved your comment about how reading and writing should never be work, even when it’s your job. That’s so true. We love stories and that’s why we read/write. Thanks for reminding me.

  9. Your post makes me want to pick up the first GoT book right now. I’ve been putting off reading the series because I know I’ll be sucked in and want to read all the books one after the other. That wouldn’t be so bad if they were’t a gazillion pages long and therefore a threat to any sort of productivity in my life.

    I totally relate to the acceptance thing. I’m also driven and very much dislike not meeting certain life goals by my random self-imposed deadlines. But, then again, when does life ever go according to plan. I guess the best we can do is accept and adapt. And realize 40 is the new 30 so there’s still time. 😉

    1. Rebekah

      I’m having a really interesting experience reading this book, Tracey. It is engrossing, and I do find myself lost in thought about it, often while I should be doing something else (read: writing, laundry, cooking over a hot stove), but it also has reignited this need in me to just enjoy the time I have with a book, rather than read to see what happens. Maybe because I know the plot from watching the show, I don’t know. There is a larger thought here, that I probably need to explore.

      Very true! The closer I get to 30 the more I need to think if 40 that way.

    1. Rebekah

      Thanks Jennifer! We are all nervous energy right now getting ready to shoot and getting our funding from Kickstarter at the same time. VERY exciting.

      Seconded, Arya rules all.

  10. I’m writing a screenplay for my WIP. It’s going to be a major plot point. I’ve written a couple for a class in college. I think writing screenplays helps me when it comes to writing my WIPs. I’ve only watched Game of Thrones but I would love to read the books one day. Good luck with your writing. Have a great weekend!

    1. Rebekah

      I think it’s so interesting that you are writing a screenplay for you WiP! I actually considered doing a novelization of the screenplay I am now rewriting. I still may eventually. But awesome idea!

  11. So I love the fact that you’re working on a zombie-related short film. Yay for that! Annnd you’re going to Austin Teen Book Fest. Holy awesomeness! 🙂

    I’ve been tempted by GAME OF THRONES. I think I’ll love it, but it’s a big commitment and I keep putting it off. From how you’ve described it, I think I need to reassess.

    Good luck with your writing goals this week!

  12. I plan to dig into A GAME OF THRONES soon, and I fully expect it to take me a while to read. And that’s fine. If it’s as good as everyone says it is, I want to enjoy it.

    Well done for another 3,000 words written! 🙂

    I hope you have a great week, Rebekah. It’s okay to look back and take stock, but regretting the past isn’t going to help you move on. You can’t do anything about what you didn’t do; so make the most of the time you have now.

Leave a Reply

