What’s up Wednesday

WUW7What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s blog.

What I’m Reading

I am tantalizingly close to the end of A Game of Thrones. I’m nearing all the craziness that made season one of the show mind-bendingly fabulous, and in book form, it’s even more gut-wrenching. Experiencing the events that surround and propel the shocking ending, again and this time up close and trapped in my brain, is amazing. I haven’t had much time to read this week, but when I have I am happy to say I’m zooming through pages. The first season of the show followed the book almost to the letter, which is really a triumph. I will be finished before the end of the week.

Next up, rereading The Raven Boys and then jumping into The Dream Thieves. So, I have a lot to look forward to over the next couple of weeks.

What I’m Writing

My WiP has made a play for my heart, and it is winning. Last week, even with exhaustion looming and laundry replicating as if supernaturally fueled, I wrote. A lot. 4,150 words. I was proud and pleased with this progress. The best part was, these scenes are stepping stones to the next big moment in the story, which I’m happy to say I stand in front of now. Making good progress on scenes that aren’t overwhelmingly exciting to write (read: no kissing, no fights, no deaths) gives me warm fuzzies. I think this book is going to be a winner.

What Inspires Me

This article about five Hawaiian words and their deep meanings. Hawaiian language is fascinating. With no root in Latin, like most language, the foundation for the language is much more about the emotion behind the word, how it is said, and how it is interpreted. Language is linked inextricably to the Hawaiian people, and is both firmly rooted, as well as fluid and moving. There is a lyrical, magical quality to the way they speak. 

Working with my CP’s on their books. I won’t say that I am fabulous at giving writing advice because mostly I give advice like I write: from the gut. Not traditional, but sometimes a different method of attack is just what you need. Plus, the more I get to know other writers, the better writer I become.

The cast and crew of Cassie’s Cause. We filmed Saturday for most of the day. At one point, the Editor, the PA’s and I verbally wrote a Middle Grade book we’ve tentatively titled Hawkland. I ran stop signs and proved why I’m not a role model, which seemed to only make me more exciting to the fourteen and sixteen year old actors in my car. I helped the Director uncover his true nature with the mysterious power of his star sign, and the footage from our first two weekends of shooting is fabulous. 

As with my CP’s, being surrounded by talented and creative people ready for anything, forces me to constantly up my game and never rest on my laurels.

What Else I’m Up To

Juicing. I stole my mom’s underused juicer a couple weeks ago, and Monday I finally got around to using it. My son is particularly fond of it as well, and enjoys coming up with “formulas” for mixing.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Bachelorette Party. My gorgeous, author friend Lindsay Cummings is getting married in a couple of weeks. I have grown to love and respect her over the last six months of getting to know her, and I was excited to celebrate her impending doom.

(Most photographic evidence of this evening is not approved for general audiences.)

An approved photo.
An approved photo.

Happy Wednesday to all!

15 thoughts on “What’s up Wednesday

  1. Love that bachelorette photo! I follow Lindsay on Instagram and she seems like tons of fun. Best of luck with your writing… I love penning to those “big moments” but sometimes getting there can feel a little tedious. Way to push through! Have a great week, Rebekah!

    1. Rebekah

      Lindsay is tons of fun. We met on Twitter while I was still living in New York. She’s super supportive, and ya know, she has a wolf pup, so, don’t mess with her.

      Yes, I am about to get to penning a big moment, yay!

  2. Susan Crispell

    First, even without kissing the tension between in those new pages is palpable. Torturous b/c you know, no kissing, but still exciting. At least is was to read. Second, your honesty in critique feedback and all of the thought you put into what you say about my work is INCREDIBLY helpful. You make me think about stuff I don’t want to, but I know you’re right.

    1. Rebekah

      Shucks, Sus. But really, not gonna lie, I kind of love those pages too. I also kind of love the ones I’m writing RIGHT NOW.

      And your writing makes me feel so many things, and YOUR feedback is huge and huggable. I mean it. Totally inspiring.

  3. I’m partway through THE DREAM THIEVES, and I think you’re smart to re-read THE RAVEN BOYS first. I kind of wish I had done that too. I’m not lost or anything, but it would have been nice to have a refresher first. I think it’s awesome and inspiring how nicely your WIP is coming along. Such a fantastic feeling when things are going right. 🙂 Have a wonderful week, Rebekah!

    1. Rebekah

      I heard s few others say they wished they’d reread, or did reread, THE RAVEN BOYS first, and I am horribly impressionable. 🙂 But I CANT WAIT.

      Thank you Jaime! I am clearly floored by my WiP, but I had a very clear idea going in what this book was about, and that keeps me very focused when writing. Plus, it’s very different from my first book, and that is refreshing. (Love my first book, but it kind of murdered me.) Have an awesome week too!

  4. A Game of Thrones is amazing! I love all the books, they’re completely addictive. I finally bought The Dream Thieves but I plan to reread The Raven Boys first, too. Congrats on your writing progress! It’s always nice to feel inspired. 🙂

  5. How exciting for your new WiP to just completely take over. It’s such a great feeling when a new idea does that. Have fun writing it 😀

    Hope it’s a marvellous week!

  6. Ugh. My laundry is supernaturally replicating too. In fact, my idea of house cleaning right now is basically to toss everything (and not just laundry) into multiple laundry baskets and shove it out of the way. You rock for getting so many words out last week while being that busy on top of it! And what you said about scenes not being overwhelmingly exciting to write because of a lack of kissing, deaths, and fighting? Yeah, I think that might be why I’ve been having difficulty getting through this last string of scenes. So very true. Have a great week, and I hope it’s full of many, many words!

  7. That article on Hawaiian words is so cool! I’m really fascinated by that language, so thanks for sharing! And you made a great comment about how inspiring being around talented writers and creative people is. Have a great week!

  8. Congrats on making so much progress on your WIP! That’s great!! I love it when writing gives you warm fuzzies. There’s nothing like it. 🙂

    Sounds like you have so much good stuff going on – in writing, reading, and filming. Plus, your juices look dreamy. 🙂 I hope your week continues to go well!

Leave a Reply

