What’s Up Wednesday

WUWKiteWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s blog.

What I’m Reading

Well. Let me paint you a little picture. Since last Wednesday I have finished A Game of Thrones (Triumph!), reread The Raven Boys (in about day and a half), and read The Dream Thieves (in less than a day). It was a stormy Monday and Tuesday in North Texas. I could, and maybe should, have written words of my own, but upon concluding A Game of Thrones (Hurrah! I loved it like a…everything coming to mind is offensive.) those roguish Raven boys started calling my name; their honeyed, moneyed Virginia twang tugging at my heartstrings like they were harp strings instead. While my son was in school, and storms crackled in the cloudy Texas sky, I just read. I read with abandon, my friends. I could hardly put the books down, and this after having previously read The Raven Boys earlier this year.

To say I enjoyed The Dream Thieves would be like saying I like whiskey. I savor whiskey. I tingle with whiskey. Whiskey and I are dear and long loyal friends. There is almost nothing I can do when reading any Maggie Stiefvater novel except feel completely and utterly other in my own life. Her book world is the real one, the laundry and dirty dishes that don’t do themselves, are the figment. I will at some point elaborate more eloquently about this book, for now I will say these statements:

1) This is Ronan’s book, and it is hard sometimes because of that, but as he is unflinching, so is the book, and in that something special happens.

2) It is hard to choose a Raven boy because they are a unit, though less of a unit in this book than the first.

3) If I had to choose, it would be Gansey. He is also the character I most identify with. Psychoanalysis unwelcome.

4) I want to read it again, but I want it to also be for the first time.

What I’m Writing

Wrote about 2,000 words on my WiP. I was sort of busy this weekend, and then, yeah, see above how two of my writing days were eaten by Ravens, so…but it’s OK. Today words will happen, and lots.

What Inspires Me

Maggie Stiefvater. Her brain is a complicated, magical, and probably very loud place— not unlike 300 Fox Way I think — and reading her books makes me jumpy with wanting. I am convinced she is the only person who can write the books she writes. I am also convinced she should teach me about cars. I also interacted with her on Twitter Tuesday, which was maybe the happiest I’ve ever been on Twitter and quite possibly the most deeply nerdy.

An interaction:

Words from an agent who passed on a partial. An agent who reps some pretty big deal authors. It was not a form rejection, which was made overwhelmingly evident, and so the compliment to both my writing talent and my storytelling ability were incredibly humbling. Passing on my MS was not yippee, but then, neither would be representation without certainty.

What Else I’m Up To

The usual:

Taking care of and spending quality time with my son.

My niece had her first birthday on Saturday, which was pumpkin themed and accompanied by delectable treats. There was this pumpkin mousse dip, and I just wanted to bathe in it.

The Cassie’s Cause crew filmed for eight hours (with lots of breaks and some major hiccups) on Sunday. But we got all the scenes, and these scenes are really some of the most crucial in the whole film. We are at our halfway mark. I may yet survive this.

My husband is in New York on business, my son goes to school, and I have decided I don’t think I should be left home alone. I get nothing accomplished.

To a productive, but not rigid, Wednesday!

22 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. I’m rereading The Raven Boys right now, and I’m glad to hear The Dream Thieves didn’t disappoint! And Maggie tweeting you – that’s awesome. Her books are so unique and creative – she’s definitely one of a kind!

    Sorry to hear about the rejection, but a personal response is encouraging! It really is a great compliment. I hope you hear some good news soon! 🙂

    • Oh, no, definitely did not disappoint. It’s kind of mind blowing and so many feels.

      Thanks Emma! I have come to a place where I feel ok with rejection, as well as thankful for requests. I just believe, at some soon point, there will be the right agent. 🙂

  2. THE DREAM THIEVES is on my shelf, staring at me, telling me to finish my draft because it’s my reward. Waiting sucks! But it does motivate me to work hard 🙂

    Rejections suck, hands down, but personalized ones make it a little easier. There’s nothing worse than an agent having your full or partial and then getting a “Nope” without explanation.

    • Yes, The Dream Thieves is a good reward.

      It didn’t feel too bad, actually, but I think that’s because I’ve either hit a Zen place with querying, or I am in delusion.

  3. I identify with Gansey the most too. I like the other characters, but I love Gansey. (And I would never even attempt to psychoanalyze that. :P) It was nice getting to know Ronan a bit better, and I now have a particular theory about him. 2000 words of writing is exactly 2000 more words than I wrote this week, so you’re doing great in my opinion! 🙂 While I’m bummed on your behalf that the agent passed on your story, it’s great that this agent complimented your writing. Sometimes those are the things that really keep you going. I have an email from an agent with tidbits like that, and I fully intend to print off the good bits nice and big and stick them above my computer where I’ll see them when I’m tempted to get down on myself and my writing. I’m rooting for you to get representation with certainty soon!

    • We have the same theory, so we are clearly correct and also awesome.

      It is bummery to not have her say, “You’re a talented writer and confident storyteller, so please send me more of your book.” But I do believe someone will, and it will be the right someone. Thank you for rooting for representation with certainty!!

  4. Congrats on getting awesome feedback from an agent! Go you! And your reading blitz sounds like heaven. I’m going to have to spend some more quality time with the RAVEN BOYS/DREAM THIEVES myself. I gobble things up when they first come out. Then I go back and savor. 🙂

    • I, too, will be diving in again for a savory read. And thank you for the “Go you!”, and feeling pretty much that way about it. It is sometimes, all about perspective.

  5. …I think I have to add a few more books to my TBR pile… Uh oooooh!

    Agent feedback is so helpful, isn’t it? Even when it comes with a rejection, it’s so great to have something other than a form rejection. Hope the good news comes your way soon 😀

  6. I am about two thirds of the way through The Dream Thieves and trying to savour it. It’s just so amazingly good though. I think Gansey is fast becoming my favourite Raven Boy too. I felt like she really allowed us to see him more in this book.

    Hope your Wednesday is productive 🙂

    • I know. I am going to reread it at some point because of how I just devoured it.

      My Wednesday was not as productive as I would have liked, but I’m OK with that.

  7. Oh, I love you so much. You want to BATHE in pumpkin mousse. I wish you lived closer. 🙂

    I have not read The Raven Boys/The Dream Thieves yet but everyone is raving about them so much I probably should! And stormy reading weather? Perfect!

    Hang in there, fellow Rejectionista — your time will come. Individual feedback from an agent means you’re one step closer to yes.

    • Oh my gosh, me too! We could put our swimsuits on a take a dip. It’s the same as a mud bath, right?

      Yes. You need to read them. I really love them, and I can’t imagine someone who wouldn’t love them.

      Thank you, Sara! We Rejectionistas must stick together. I agree because she at least wasn’t like, “Um, stop writing words and try knitting.”

  8. I recently professed my love for Maggie Stievfater as well and I’m glad you love her as well! Her writing really gets me and to me. I wish I could put words together as eloquently as her. Awesome job on writing your own words!

    • Prerna, I completely agree. Her writing, not just the Raven Cycle trilogy, but all her books, are so special. Thanks for the encouragement!

  9. Love, love, LOVE how you compared THE DREAM THIEVES to whiskey. Perfect analogy. Also — hello! — Maggie Stiefvater tweeted you. You’re pretty much famous, lady! It feels weird to say congrats on the feedback from the agent who passed, but I can totally see why that would inspire you. I take all the feedback I can get, especially when I’m lucky enough to get it from someone with tons of experience. Hope you have an awesome week, Rebekah!

    • Hahaha, Katy. Yep, I’m so famous. As I told a friend of mine concerned that an author thinks she’s a stalker, “It always feels good to know your work is appreciated, even when you also worry for the safety of your skin.”

      I think a congrats is appropriate, and I will happily accept it.

Leave a Reply

