What’s Up Wednesday

WUWRocketWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s blog.

What I’m Reading

My Maggie Stiefvater induced book hangover lasted longer than I would have liked. To be honest, thoughts about The Dream Thieves still distract me from my normal routine. However, if anything could tempt me to move on from my revelry, it would be the hotly anticipated and massively popular (for good reason) Allegiant.

Reading Allegiant
Reading Allegiant

I don’t think I have to tell you guys who wrote it, or what I’m most looking forward to about reading it (Four/Tobias POV chapters), or why I am nervous about accidental spoiler reveals and not wanting it to be ruined for myself. I am not too far into the text, but it is already oddly bittersweet to know this book ends a trilogy that, in some very specific ways, was what made me certain I should be writing YA. I am nervous. Someone hold me.

What I’m Writing

When I finally reclaimed my week from Ravens, I was able to write, and I actually wrote quite steadily and with urgency, racking up a little over 3105 words. I am now anbit antsy to get to the coming scenes, which I have been looking forward to writing since I started. The tricky thing is deciding how exactly to layer the scenes in order to get the best possible result from what I have planned. As my CPs know, I enjoy inflicting pain, bewilderment, and swoons on my reader; the best scenes include all three.

(Insert Maniacal Laugh)

I have also been thinking about the sequel to my novel (hopefully someone else will see it’s a novel and be willing to rep it) Redhunt. That has brought up some emotional conflicts within myself that I am mulling. I have to take it slowly. I have to stop arguing with my MC, which goes something like this:

Me: You’re being withholding.

Her: You would be too.

Me: Not to my own brain.

Her: Agree to disagree.

Me: Don’t be cheeky, it’s not a good color on you.

Her: It’s better than the other option, which involves a screwdriver to your eye.

Me: That’s it, you are no longer allowed to speak. I’ll do the talking for you.

(I start typing. She fidgets, gets a snack, and begins chewing loudly in my ear.)

Me: This is hopeless.

Her: Finally, you see things my way. Lets burn the mother down.

(I begin to wonder if that thought came from me or her.)

What Inspires Me

Mumford & Sons created the soundtrack to Redhunt, they just aren’t aware. As I mull things and bicker with my MC, this song plays over and over in my head.

Take from that what you will.

Pics from my brother’s wedding because they remind me of Hawaii, and thanks to Hawaii I was inspired to write a new story. And finding this picture of me and my husband dancing was a happy surprise. Sometimes, when reading and writing other peoples love stories you can forget that you are telling a pretty fabulous one with your own life.

dancing

Talking to friends on Twitter. Jaime, host of this blog hop, and I had a particularly awesome chat about The Dream Thieves which confirmed our utter genius (or Maggie Stiefvater’s), and it helped me cope with my own lingering fears and concerns about that series. My CPs, who are all brilliant and funny, make me a better writer, and chatting with them gives me a happy Monday night. That God for Twitter, guys.

What Else I’m Up To

This weekend I had the immense honor and pleasure of being a bridesmaid in my author and close friend, Lindsay Cummings wedding. She is a joy. The wedding location was a rustic fairytale, nestled in the woods close to the barn where she boards her horse.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here’s to another fabulous, busy, busy bee of a week!

23 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Susan Crispell

    Oh, you and your Allegiant reading, mocking me and my sick ass. My book is also mocking me (from the coffee table) so I tried to guilt my sister into driving 8 hours to come read it to me. That’s how badly I want to read it vs how bad I feel (stupid haunted trolley rides!)

    Also, send O to me and I will talk some sense into her. Though I highly enjoy your conversations with her. Please post more. You know, it might help get her in line in addition to making me laugh.

    As one of your CPs, I can agree that yes, you are evil, and I love it. You do it all so damn well that I can’t hate you for it even when I want to. 😉

    And congrats to Lindsay! (I was a bridesmaid for a Lindsay this weekend too! She gave the bridesmaids kick-ass Mockingjay necklaces to wear. Yep, we’re that nerdy!)

    1. Rebekah

      Sus, you just partied too hard with those ghosts. They are already dead, they can handle the cold in their lungs. Now you pay by not being able to read ALLEGIANT. I had someone else, who is also not able to read it for whatever reason, suggest I film myself doing a reading. I shot that down, because Four POV means lots of involuntary flails and fainting spells.

      She is ever the trickster. Sometimes, I wonder why I put up with her. I love that you support my evil, it is one of the reasons we are friends. That and your fabulous word smithery and good taste in literary boys.

      Sometimes our similarities are a little disturbing, Sus. Are you actually me? (MOCKINGJAY NECKLACES!!! I have a funny story about nerdy wedding things, I’ll email you.)

      1. Susan Crispell

        I understand your need to not read Four POV out loud. There will be lots of swooning and distractedness on my part as well. I’ll let you know when I finally feel up to reading and then we can discuss Four and all his glory when we are bot finished. 🙂

        I had the same though on our similarities. After much thought, I have come to the conclusion that we are not in fact the same person, though it does often feel that way. ‘Cause if we were, I would know what’s coming in your WIP and, sadly, I do not. Other than I know it’s going to hurt my heart considerably.

      2. Rebekah

        Yes, we can have an epic discussion. I anticipate ridiculous swoons. Tears. Whiskey.

        No, same for your books and the lucky fact that you have Math in your head, and I just got to read about him. LOL. You do not know, and I am so very pleased!

    1. Rebekah

      OH MY GOSH, right? The Dream Thieves…so.many.feels.

      I do try to see her prattling on as a good thing, even though she is very hard to wrangle sometimes.

  2. Great job on your writing progress this week! Also, hearing you speak about the Divergent books really makes me want to read! I normally read mostly MG, but I think I have to pick this one up. Loved the beautiful wedding pictures and the sweet picture of you and your husband. It is so special to stand back and think that we are everyday spinning threads of our own stories and all the characters who make them special ❤

    1. Rebekah

      I think you should read Divergent. It is one of those series that everyone will be talking about, especially with the films coming out over the next few years. Good one to read in YA too, because it’s not too edgy.

      Temre, I love your last sentence in this comment. Well put!

  3. I love that Mumford & Sons song!
    I’m reading The Dream Thieves right now and I’m determined to finish it before tomorrow night when hopefully I’ll get to meet Maggie Stiefvater! *crosses fingers*

  4. Hi Rebekah. I’m glad you’re making progress! I still have yet to read the Divergent series. Yes, it’s true. I’m looking forward to it, though.

    I still have my arc of Shiver that I got when there was an ALA convention in Chicago!

    1. Rebekah

      Hey Ron. Thank Ron! Shame, shame for not reading the Divergent trilogy yet, but hope you enjoy it when you do!

      Shiver is very good. That trilogy was my intro to Maggie S., and I loved it. I even gave it to my younger brother who is not a reader, and he actually read it! But The Scorpio Races and The Raven Cycle series, are my favorites. I could reread them again and again.

  5. It’s so much fun when you have internal battles with your characters. It really helps you to get to know them.

    Mumford and Sons are so good. Great writing music for sure.

    Lovely wedding photos. Looks like a wonderful day ^_^

    1. Rebekah

      My MC and I are very different people from one another. I love her and am forever trying to better understand her.

      LOVE Mumford and Sons for almost any occasion, writing or driving or drowning out my husband in an argument.

  6. “I enjoy inflicting pain, bewilderment, and swoons on my reader…” <— Clearly I need to read your stuff, like, NOW. 🙂

    I loved all of the wedding photos Lindsay posted on Instagram. She looked lovely, and from what I could tell, the wedding was beautiful!

    I hope you enjoy ALLEGIANT. I started this morning and I've already fallen right back into Veronica Roth's awesome world. Have a great week, Rebekah!

    1. Rebekah

      LOL Katy! I would actually totally love to torture you with my words. 🙂

      It was a wonderful wedding,full of personality and quirkiness, just like Lindsay. They are a really cute couple.

      Oh my, I am very excited/nervous about ALLEGIANT, but am trying to pace myself as well. Agree, Veronica Roth created a fascinating world.

  7. My mum just ordered Allegiant today, which is great since I can’t afford it and she’s promised I can read it after her. The only problem is I’m not sure I can wait that long! So jealous of all the people reading it right now.

    1. Rebekah

      Just, avoid Twitter and blog things related to the book unless they are spoiler free, and you will make it! I hope it gets there soon. How sweet of your mom. 🙂

  8. Alison Miller

    I just got my copy of ALLEGIANT although I do have other books begging me to read them before that. I think I may have to stay off Twitter and blogs for fear of spoilers!

    Also, love your pictures! And your conversation with your mc. Too funny! And yes – my CPs are incredibly wonderful and all kinds of inspiring. Have a great week!

  9. A wedding in the woods is so pretty 🙂

    I’ve been holding off buying ALLEGIANT (you know, for a whole few days), but I might crack this afternoon b/c the school my mom works at is having a book fair. No matter what, I know I won’t be able to walk away from it empty-handed.

  10. I’ve got at least half of Mumford & Sons latest on the playlist for FIRE. Such great writing music!

    I love my CPs so much. I’m so glad they put up with me and my liberal use of all caps in emails and tweets. And use phrases like “pizza of hotness” to describe my MSs. They get me.

  11. Oh, wow sounds like you had a really busy week 🙂
    I need to read more Maggie Stiefvater — she’s so great. The Mumford & Sons inspires me as well. They’re so talented. I love White Blank Pages.

Leave a Reply

