What’s Up Wednesday

WUWAutumnWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s blog.

What I’m Reading

I still have 100 pages on Allegiant. I know, I know, I’ve been reading it for a week now. But last week I used it as a writing incentive and it worked so well, that I have stretched it out much longer than anticipated. I am feeling many things about this book. I am not sure I am really ready to write about any of it yet.

What I’m Writing

Oh, yeah, so I’ve been writing a lot. Using Allegiant as incentive, plus getting to scenes I was eager to write, plus gearing up for NaNoWriMo resulted in me adding 5,635 words to my WiP.

cheering

I’ve chosen this gif which best illustrates my feelings on that subject.

What Inspires Me

NaNoing. I am thrilled to be participating in NaNo this year. I am psyched. For those of you who don’t know me well, it is important to understand a very core principle about me in order fully grasp the depths at which this event can motivate me:

I am a pathologically competitive person.

iwin

Don’t take that to mean I have to win everything. I do not. I have to win things I should win. Losing something I should win creates a black hole inside me that only cookies can fill. For example: Harry Potter Trivia game; lose that and I die inside. Fantasy Football; if you can get me to sit still and watch a football game any bet hedged will be based solely on costume color. (Right, I said costume.)

Ultimately, my favorite competitor is myself. I am the one I most want to challenge, to trash talk, to provoke. NaNo is a fabulous competition because it isn’t a competition at all —not with other writers anyway — but a competition against your own procrastination and laziness.

Which leads to the truly inspiring aspect of NaNo: the community of writers participating, or spurring NaNo’ers on. I wrote this blog post on Monday that touches more deeply on my feelings. Just know, if we are NaNo buddies, I will be there beside you and will not allow you to wuss out. See above reference to my pathological competitive spirit. In the game of NaNo, we are on a team. And I want to win, and that means I want you to win too.

What Else I’m Up To

This weekend was hectic and filming filled. We shot our biggest sequence of scenes, at our most challenging location, with our most extras (all of the canine variety) and it was overwhelmingly smooth. The final shot of the day saw most of the crew in tears. When you have had something in your head for a long time, it is very easy to build it up to impossible to reach standards, so that when you finally see it played out, the result is anticlimactic. The cast and crew somehow made it even better than it was in my head.

bloody

This weekend is my birthday and our final day of shooting, and I am filled with nervous excitement.

30 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. This! “NaNo is a fabulous competition because it isn’t a competition at all —not with other writers anyway — but a competition against your own procrastination and laziness.”
    I’m excited to push myself to write, write, write this November.

  2. Happy Birthday for the weekend!
    I’m so excited for NaNo, I can’t wait to get writing! I’m currently about 150 pages into Allegiant; I should probably try to finish it before NaNo starts!

    • Well…my weekend is so full of other things I’m not sure what I’m doing by way of actually celebrating. Oh well. But it will still be good. Thank you Katy! You will rock NaNoReviseMo!

  3. Happy birthday, and happy NaNo! It’s coming up so fast!

    I, too, am competitive, but I tend to treat NaNo less as a competition and more as an experiment. “How many words can I get down this time?” “What will people say if I post in the forums on this topic?” etc.

    • Thank you on both counts. Happy NaNo to you!

      I agree, I think you have to keep an open mind about your word count goals and your progress.

  4. Happy birthday!

    “I am a pathologically competitive person.”

    Haha, me too! That’s why I won NaNo with a week to spare the first year I attempted it . I know you’ll do amazing!

    • Thank you Lori!

      Yes! Also, hopefully having a generally solid plan of where I’m going and a decent grasp on my characters will help too.

  5. To feed your competitive side, when you’re buddies with someone on the NaNo site (like we are, yay!), you can look at their stats and see how you compare. (I’m so not competitive so please don’t laugh (or yell) at me when you check my stats and you are way ahead of me!) Also, instead of a treat for you when you reach a milestone, I think you should use Jon Snow pics as a reward. Just sayin’.

    Also, woo hoo for your birthday, even if you’re not super excited about it. 😉

    • Oh, also, yes to Jon Snow pics. Thank you for the birthday woo hoo. I am weirdly whatever about my birthday. Honestly, I’m so busy right now, that I don’t know if I’ll even do much. And we are filming Sunday, which is the actual day. 🙂

  6. Costume. LOL. That was beautiful… Happy birthday this weekend! Loved the gifs, and good luck with NaNo. 😀 I’m new to What’s Up Wednesday, so, hi. It’s nice to meet you.

  7. I will be cheering you on during NaNo! And so glad you’ve accomplished so much! (I’m also very happy I have a new writing buddy in the early afternoons!)

    And yes – the community of writers is incredible. Also, I love THE EMPEROR’S NEW GROOVE and that clip is awesome.

    Have a great week!

    • Oh my Gosh, I love The Emperors New Groove, too! Yes to cheering each other on, yes to writing in the early afternoons…just, yes!

  8. I’m excited and nervous about NaNo this year. Previous years I’ve been biting at the bit to get started but things have been so hectic of late I am worrying I have bitten of more than I can chew this time around. Fingers crossed we all make it thought 🙂
    have a great week.

  9. Ah! So exciting.
    I’ve never done NaNo, but I’m thinking I’m too busy this time to participate.
    Sounds fun though! Next year for sure. Still gonna keep writing though, good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

