What’s Up Wednesday

WUWAutumnWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s blog.

What I’m Reading

I haven’t been reading as much as I normally do, but I finished The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle last week. It’s not a book I could comfortably recommend to very many people because of the content, though I did have a fun conversation about it with some fellow writers and readers over wine. It’s that kind of book.

I started The Burning Sky by Sherry Thomas over the weekend. It has all the elements I love: magic, romance, secrets, danger, a girl dressed up as a boy, a Prince with a mission, etc. I bought this book at Austin Teen Book Fest due to the fabulous book trailer playing in the auditorium before Maggie Stiefvater’s speech. My sister-in-law, Stephanie and I are very susceptible to persuasion involving a Harry Potter reference and fire.

What I’m Writing

My NaNoWriMo project tried to devour my brain last week. My husband was sick and the world around me conspired to keep me from writing. Still, I have cracked the 25,000 mark in total word count…which means I’m still behind. One of my POV characters has taken the reigns of the story and refuses to give them back. I have made notes at points where I might alternate POV again, but right now it feels more important to follow him rather than stifle him.

I have a lot of writing to do this week. I still believe I will “WIN”.

What Inspires Me

Pretty boy pictures. Before you scoff, don’t because at this point in NaNo I need all the help I can get. My sister-in-law has taken it upon herself to send me NaNo inspirations as she discovers them. Yesterday’s picture of Loki, God of Mischief was not only pretty looking but super appropriate for what I was writing at the time.

loki

Writer friends. Receiving presents from my CPs also doing NaNo. Emailing with them about all the crazy. Having Twitter writing parties with them, and many of you clever What’s Up Wednesday bloggers. Writing is a solitary act, which sometimes means the writer gets lost, abandons the work, and feels hopelessly obscure. Being in it together (even virtually) can make all the difference.

Doctor Who. While I was living in New York I watched Doctor’s Nine and Ten. David Tennants departure was more than I could handle. I did not move on to Matt Smith. I was unwilling to see someone else as the Doctor for a long time. When I finally decided I was ready, I couldn’t stream the show from Netflix because we live in the woods and have a bandwidth cap. Hopeless, (and cheap considering the seasons are for sale everywhere) I didn’t know how to carry on. Then I was given the first Matt Smith season for my birthday, and it was all the spark I needed. I have been using Doctor Who as a reward for daily writing. It is going incredibly well. I have fallen in love with Eleven and the Ponds. I want to be just like River Song when I grow up. Also, so far, every day I have used the Doctor as incentive, I have hit my word count goals.

mattsmith

What Else I’m Up To

My husband was sick and since he’s a male he was dying. It took up a lot of my time.

We have construction going on at our house, and have for the last week and a half. They are building a patio and arbor in the back using stamped concrete and beautiful cedar. They’ve built stairs up to the house as well as a sidewalk, in the front. I have mentioned I live in the forest, but to elaborate further, I live in the forest on a hill that is hard for some to get to. We have built stairs to help those with bad knees. I’ll post pictures when it’s finished. Hopefully just in time for Thanksgiving.

Speaking of…we are hosting Thanksgiving. This weekend I am getting together with my Mom and sisters-in-law to make placemats out of craft paper and calligraphy pens before we all watch (swooning epically) The 50th Anniversary of Doctor Who. (Insert mad fangirl giggles and blushing.) Life is certainly sweet.

doctor who

What’s up with you?

22 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

    1. Rebekah

      Yes, Emma! We fangirl together. I bet it’s an even more epic event in Britain.

      That’s ok! I believe we can do this Emma, and if for some reason we don’t get the 50,000 words, we can still be proud we tried. Hope you can get a break this week from your edits to write something new!

    1. Rebekah

      YES! I grow more excited the closer it gets, plus, watching these episodes for the first time only adds to the thrill.

      My sis is just the best. She is a fangirl and a booknerd and we share cute boy love. I am happy to share the inspiration she sends me, and regularly do on Twitter!

  1. Yay Who!! And what a great way to reward yourself when writing. I use Who to help me persevere with exercise. There’s nothing like watching classic Who while panting away on an elliptical! Seriously, as much as I hate even the very idea of exercise, it’s a great incentive for me.

    I may not be with you physically on Saturday afternoon, but it’s amazing to think that you and I and millions of others around the world will be watching the same Anniversary Special at exactly the same time. It’s like we’re all sharing a big virtual living room! 🙂

    Have a great writing week. 😀

    1. I am not a fan of exercise either, and readily admit that I need to be. I will have to try using the Doctor for that too! I haven’t watched the whole series, but the reboot seasons are fabulous and addictive and mind-bending. I love the idea that we’ll be watching at the same time, very cool. I’m sure I’ll tweet about it extensively.

  2. Here’s how you need to look at you NaNo word count: you have already written 25,000 words in less than a month. That rocks. I believe you can win, but even if you don’t, getting that many words down in that short amount of time puts you way ahead of where you would’ve been had you not NaNoed. And, I’m all for you following A if he’s exciting you.

    When I get home today I’ll check what seasons of Eleven I have. I think I have all until the newest so I can mail them to you to borrow if you want. (Please remind me. I’ve got NaNo brain so I might forget!) There are so many feels with the Ponds, you don’t even know. Like seriously. SO. MANY. FEELS.

    1. Rebekah

      Sus, I went out and bought the other seasons because I am hopeless and obsessed. It was money well spent, but thank you for offering to loan me yours. I seriously think you’re the greatest ever. I just watched the Flesh episode and now Amy is gone!!!! OHMYGOSH!

      I agree, winning is all in the perspective. I want to get 50,000, but either way, this is a big deal. Also, I’m making notes about revision which means I believe this project will be worth revising and something I’ll finish!

  3. You’re doing awesome with NaNo, in my opinion. 25K with part of the month still to go is pretty darn good. You can do it! You have some great incentives to get you writing too. Love the Loki pic. 😉 Good luck with Thanksgiving. I’m sure it will be wonderful!

    1. Rebekah

      Because Loki is dreamy. Thanks for the encouragement Jaime! I do believe I can win and do see my word count thus far as something to be proud of. NaNo is helping me get the draft out faster than if I weren’t NaNoing. And I’m having to ignore the inner editor more!

  4. Alison Miller

    WOW! 25K is awesome!!! Go YOU! Also, you crack me up. My husband will be the first to tell you that when I am sick, I am the one who’s dying. TOO FUNNY.

    And yes – YAY for writer friends. And twitter parties. And pretty boys who inspire us. 🙂 Hope your hubby feels better and have a great weekend!

    1. Rebekah

      Haha, I am sure I’m ridiculous when sick too, but I tend to pretend not to be sick unless I have a fever because I hate having to rest.

      All those things are wonderful! He’s better thanks to a hefty antibiotic. 🙂

  5. Okay, you’ve got me all kinds of intrigued by THE INFINITE MOMENT OF US. What is this “content” you speak of? Is this a book I need to read? I recently read SHINE and was pretty impressed… I wonder if my library has INFINITE?

    On another note… You WILL win NaNo! I’m totally rooting you on, lady!

    1. Rebekah

      Yes, Katy, you are someone I would feel comfortable recommending INFINITE MOMENT OF US to. I don’t know what you’ll think, but certainly do think you should read. Controversial Contemporary YA seems right up your alley! The writing is super swoony, too. The content is of the sexy variety, and there is A LOT of it.

      On the other note…Thank you!!!!!

  6. Apparently, I’ve seriously missed the Dr Who boat. I should probably remedy that. Congrats on making it to 25k words. Keep up the good work, and hopefully your hubby will feel better soon.

    1. Rebekah

      I think so, Kate! It is certainly not for everyone, an you do have to just kind of let go and enjoy the ride, but the Doctor is a blast. I haven’t watched the whole series, just the reboot with Christopher Eccleston, David Tennant, and now Matt Smith, but love it.

      He is better, though still has a bit of a cough. Thanks!

  7. Sorry to hear that your husband was ill. How much of it was man flu? 😉 Congrats on getting so much writing done too!

    Oh, Doctor Who. The best thing about it is there’s so much of it you can love certain parts and hate others and still be a fan. I hope this week’s anniversary special will be good. It better be! Having Ten back should be the best thing EVER.

    1. Rebekah

      LOL, he was really sick, but also really pathetic. I didn’t realize until now his capacity for pathetic was so high. I am glad he’s on the mend.

      I have faith in the Annivrsary special, and I’m super excited to have Ten back too! Yay!

  8. Congrats on passing 25K!

    My day job has been devouring my brain at the moment, which hasn’t allowed me any brain cells left over for novelling. Hopefully I can get some words on the page today and that I can make up the word count some over the weekend.

    Love the pretty boy pictures, especially Loki. I, too, solemnly swear I am up to no good. 😉

    1. Rebekah

      Thanks Andrea! I hope your work stop trying to consume your brain and you have time to write.

      There is no fun in not managing some serious mischief!

  9. Ah, the dreaded “man flu.” Been there, hope I don’t go back anytime soon.

    Hosting Thanksgiving – wow! My kitchen is the size of a closet, so boiling water is sometimes an accomplishment. Good luck and have fun 🙂

  10. Hi there! Looks like you’ve got lots of great stuff going on. I’m looking forward to “The Day of the Doctor” too, and think it’s great that Matt Smith has been helping you reach your word count goals. And I love the notion of the shared protagonist who won’t give the book back to any other POV. Follow his story!

Leave a Reply

