What’s Up Wednesday: The Still Recovering From NaNo Edition

I have a long standing ill-fated, unattractive relationship with the month November. This year alone I wrote two blog posts on it (can be read here and here if so inclined), and I’m still not sure how I faired.

Then there was NaNoWriMo and my own foolish ambition. I wish I was one of those people who had a well-crafted gracious loser face.

graciousloser1

Alas, I am not. As the end of November, and NaNo, flew toward me like a wrecking ball, I had already accepted certain NaNo defeat. It looked a lot like this, only not as adorable.

loser

But I was. Or I didn’t write 50,000 words I wrote 30,000 and some change. I didn’t heave a heavy sigh of regret, or gleam with pride, but merely carried on in an almost stoic way. I could have cheated. I have over 50,000 words on the manuscript I was working on for NaNo.

I could have lied and won and be sharing my pretty banner of winning right now instead. But I took the high road. And I thought of my fellow NaNoer’s, and my CPs who were all doing this with me, and I said no to cheating. It looked a lot like this, only  crazier.

21.no

So I managed to enjoy Thanksgiving, even though my head was full of snot and I just wanted to drink some whiskey and go to bed. I contemplated how I could have won NaNo, what I will try to do next year (and probably won’t because the best laid plans…) and how, ultimately it’s just fine.

itsfine

Acceptance is the first step to recovery. Hey, I still wrote 30,000 words in less than a month. There really should be a “participation” award with NaNo. Maybe a giant banner that says, You’re good, just not good enough! and then in the corner Proud NaNoWriMo loser, 2013.

As for What’s Up this Wednesday* with me, a whole lot of pacing myself and blowing my nose.

What I’m Reading: Finished The Burning Sky by Sherry Thomas, and ended up loving it way more than I anticipated from the first fifty pages. It took me a while to get into this one, but it was worth the investment. Also, Prince Titus. Yes. I just started Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, and oh my holy mind-meld this book mirrors my late-adolescent self in a very real way and embarrassing way. All those who insisted I read Rainbow Rowell, I give you a well-deserved salute.

What I’m Writing: Wrote my first words of December yesterday, and they felt good. Went back and read through notes and pages from November, constructing a plan to finish this novel in the next month or so. I need workable pages for my Djerassi Retreat in February, so no more slacking! I also began work on a feature length Screenplay. It feels really good to write in this medium again, especially after NaNo. The story is not something I could produce myself, and not fantasy, and not at all what I normally write. Did I mention it feels really good?

What Inspires Me: At the risk of sounding like an asshole, myself. (I’m gonna let that stew for a minute.)

Ok. When I say myself I mean fangirls and boys. People invested in the many varied Fandoms available. People who understand the need to relate to one another through fantasy. This is helped along by Fangirl, and by the screenplay I’m writing, and because all my favorite people are fans.

What Else I’m Up To: Being sick. Cleaning up from hosting Thanksgiving. Decorating for Christmas. Reading to my son. It’s December guys, lets go wassailing.

christmas

*What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s blog. WUW Winter Holly 1

16 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday: The Still Recovering From NaNo Edition

  1. There should be a reward for participation! I only wrote 22K, but completed edits on two other books, which I had to put first! I also had the Winter Plague for two weeks which really messed with my goals.

    I loved Fangirl! Totally relatable.

  2. It’s absolutely awesome to take inspiration from yourself 🙂 And I’m sick too, so I sympathize. Need ALL the hot chocolate. Feel better soon!

    Also, your Christmas tree is gorgeous!

  3. I think 30K in a month is amazing, and you have much to be proud of. *cheers* Also, yay for FANGIRL! Rainbow Rowell’s books are so freaking amazing. She writes first love like nobody else I’ve read. Enjoy!

  4. I loved Rowell’s Eleanor & Park, so I’m looking forward to starting Fangirl soon.

    Congrats on your excellent participation!

    I’m still recovering from NaNo, too, as I got a little burned out with it and all the other projects I was doing. I didn’t quite finish either, but I’m happy with the work I did and the progress I made. After few days of cooling off, I’m now to a point where I can start looking at the book again in the hopes I can finish the draft this month.

  5. oh, NaNo fatigue. I’m right there with you. Glad you’re writing again so soon. And I can’t wait to read this screenplay. Also these 30,000 new words for A&A. Seriously, post something soon, please. And I completely sympathize with the needing good Nova-worthy pages for the retreat/workshop. This has been causing me so much freakin’ stress.

    Also, glad to know Fangirl is good. I haven’t read anything of hers yet, but she’s been on my list for a while. Might need to move this one up.

    1. Rebekah

      Sus, you would LOVE Fangirl. There is a very specific period of my life that it reminds me of, and it is both cringe-worthy and smile inducing.

      Yes. 30,000. To be fair, a hefty chunk was when so and so had the reigns. The words need work. Especially before February. (We can hope and scramble together to have Nova-worthy words!) I will post some that are not crazy and spirally. This screenplay. Yeah, I pretty effing thrilled right now with it. I have written about ten pages, which isn’t much, but I already love these characters and this concept. You will like it. I’ll send you an email regarding the plot.

  6. 30,000 in a month is a fantastic achievement, well done! There should definitely be a participation badge 🙂

    Your Christmas tree looks lovely!

    I can’t wait for Fangirl. It’s out here in January.

  7. Ooh, your house is so pretty and cozy-looking. I have no decorations up. None. And now I want to go out and buy ALL THE DECORATIONS. 🙂

    Rebekah. Thirty THOUSAND words in a month is fan-freakin-tastic. Major kudos and congrats for that!

    Speaking of … I went out for some celebratory ice cream while in Boulder and they had Bailey’s flavored ice cream (Bailey’s! Ice cream!). It made me think of you, because all of your NaNo posts mention Bailey’s. Yaaaay. 🙂 Also, it was delicious, because Bailey’s + ice cream = pure genius, right? If I could ship you some, I totally would. Your 30K is certainly ice cream worthy. You’ll just have to go to Boulder to experience it yourself.

    1. Rebekah

      This comment made me beam happy, and then drool from the mouth! Brigid, Bailey’s ice cream sounds frickin’ fabulous. I NEED! To Boulder (if only)!

  8. Hooray! I had a similar post (I got not quiiiiite to 40k, which is slightly disappointing because it’s like getting a B+, you’re close to an A but just not there) but November is a month that, like you, I’ve always had a love-hate relationship with and in the end I’m glad with what I’ve written. It’s not like there’s a rule that we have to stop writing after November, and there’s a whole little corner of the forums dedicated to proud “losers” who are continuing into December. 🙂

  9. This! “There really should be a “participation” award with NaNo.” I think 30,000 is a huge achievement. November is a hard month to write a crazy amount of words–Thanksgiving, the start of cold and flu season–and sometimes “winning” NaNo isn’t in the cards. But in my opinion, anyone who does 30K in a month deserves a medal or at least a shiny gold star!

Leave a Reply

