What’s Up Wednesday: I’m Proud of All My Friends Edition*

WUWKiteWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s blog.

*If you can tell me which FRIEND said this, and give me the episode, I will give you a full social media shout out. And we will also need to become best friends. 

What I’m Reading

I am still reading UnSouled by Neal Shusterman, but I have a good reason. I spent a few days reading my friend and CP, Susan Crispell’s debut Adult Magic Realism novel, Love & Cupcakes this week. I definitely, heartily recommend this book if you like sweet romance and swoony guys, but even more if you have a sweet tooth. I’ll talk about it more in my interview with her next week, so stay tuned!

What I’m Writing 

I wrote about 6,000 words last week. NEW words. My WIP found it’s way back into my good graces. My characters took on new levels of honesty. I began to feel like I could actually do this thing I set out to do. This feeling gave me confidence to make some changes to my other novel, and even if they end up being thrown out, it felt good to be back in that world. I guess my Muse and I are firmly back together.

What Inspires Me

I have some very talented friends. Some are actors. Some are writers. Some are dancers. Some are computer nerds who speak in code. Conversations with gifted people get my gears spinning.

With his cousin Jubilee.

With his cousin Jubilee.

My son. I shared last week that we got a new puppy. Sam is a cautious child. His confidence and his belief in himself stammers when faced with new, and seemingly, impossible situations. In the weeks since we got him a puppy, his willingness to branch out, away from his comfort zone and into new areas, has noticeably shifted. I am the opposite of shy, timid, but that can be misconstrued sometimes as being infallibly certain. Everyone needs to be reminded they can do whatever they are doing. No one is immune to fear.

What Else I’m Up To

I have a lot of reading and critiquing to do to get ready for the Djerassi workshop in just a little over two weeks. This was pointed out to me yesterday, at which point I started requesting whiskey and silence.

My husband’s birthday is today. I’m making him manicotti for dinner this evening. The fact that I am cooking something that requires a recipe and multiple steps shows how much I care. Friday we’re having a birthday party at our house with local pizza, kraft beers, and professionally made cupcakes. My husband is the best of guys. I am thankful everyday that he’s mine.

jennifer-lawrence-oscars-gif-4-yay

Eternal respects in the form of Jennifer Lawrence’s pretty face go to Samantha Hager and Melanie Stanford for knowing that Ross is the FRIEND that bruises like a peach!

22 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday: I’m Proud of All My Friends Edition*

  1. I read Unwind this week, and it was so good – if heartbreaking! I’ll probably read the other books at some point, but I think I need to read something more upbeat next, haha.

    Glad you and your muse are back together! Good luck with the writing! 🙂

    • I wouldn’t recommend reading the entire series at once, you are wise. But I’m glad you read it. I think these books are incredibly valuable.

  2. I love those moments when you actually like what your writing enough that your confidence gets a lift–yes, I can do this! I especially like this during revisions, particularly after I’ve just cut a bunch of words that I can’t believe I wrote. 🙂

    I hope your husband appreciates your culinary effort on his behalf. Have a great time celebrating, and a wonderful writing week, Rebekah! 🙂

    • Yes! Thank you, Colin! I cut 30,000 words once. (I know!) was able to scavenge those words for gems, but the majority had to be trashed. And it hurt, but it made the novel that much stronger!

      Haha! Me too, considering it is not my favorite thing. I’m a decent cook, it’s just not how I like to spend my time. Also, I am a little OCD and a perfectionist, so messy kitchens frustrate me.

  3. That would be ‘Chanandler Bong’ who said that. 😉

    6000 new words! That’s fantastic, Rebekah! And it’s wonderful how something like that can boost your confidence and produce such great results. I can’t wait to experience that again once I’m completely back in the swing of things. “Everyone needs to be reminded they can do whatever they are doing. No one is immune to fear.” Yes! This is so, so true. This particularly hits home when I think about stumbling back into writing. (I should also mention that it’s awesome that Sam has been so positively impacted by this puppy. So great!)

    Have a great week, and enjoy the heck out of that kraft beer/pizza/cupcake party. 🙂

    • Well done, Jaime! You win!

      Thank you, and if you need reminding you can do it, I’ll be glad to facilitate! Confidence is important. None of us are perfect at out craft, not even the greatest writers of all time get it right every time. You just have to keep trying.

      My mouth is already watering for the pizza/beer/cupcake party. Carbs! Sugar! Alcohol!

    • FRIENDS is a nostalgic favorite. I still watch my DVDs regularly. I never bought the Blue Ray because I heard they removed the extra scenes that are part of the DVDs.

  4. Happy birthday to your husband! Hope you guys have a great time celebrating. 6K words in a week is incredible! I hope you’re able to keep your momentum up and stay inspired. Have a great week, Rebekah!

    • Thank you, Katy! I hope I can keep momentum, although this week has been bogged down with all kinds of other tasks so far. Hoping to write tomorrow and Friday!

  5. You know, I consider myself a total Friends fanatic, I’ve watched all 10 seasons multiple times, and yet I’m not sure who said this! *hangs head in shame* I’m thinking Phoebe… ?

    • Oh, Melanie, Melanie, Melanie…tsk tsk. But, don’t feel bad. It’s a lesser known quote. I also recently watched this episode (like you, I am a FRIENDS fanatic.) so I am at an advantage! Thanks for trying!!! You got the question last week!

  6. Thank you for the blog love. (And the Twitter love, and the FB love, and the email love, and the text love…) I can’t wait to answer your interview questions.

    And I can’t wait to read all your new and revised words! So happy you and your muse made up. Have fun cooking tonight. Tell him happy birthday for me.

  7. Glad to hear your Muse is back 🙂

    Love that the new puppy is having such a positive impact. The classroom my mom works in has a program where dogs come in to visit and the kids love it.

    Happy bday to your husband, hope the party is a blast!

  8. Oh wow, 6000k! You rock! No wonder you’re feeling confident! I love how you put that about your characters taking on new levels of honesty. That’s such a great thing to strive for. I hope the manicotti making goes well (so good!) and that your husband enjoys his birthday party–especially the beer! 🙂

  9. J Law! Yay, I love seeing her 🙂

    And congrats on 6K! That’s amazing. It’s also great to hear that your son is really enjoying his new puppy and it’s helping he out too.

Leave a Reply

