What’s Up Wednesday

WUWRocketWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime or Erin’s blog.

What I’m Reading

Currently, Sapphire Blue by Kerstin Gier, and I am loving it as much as I loved Ruby Red (which was a whole heck of a lot)!

I will soon be reading two beautiful ARCS by awesome writer friends while also reading and making notes on a friends book. Lots of reading! Good thing I enjoy it. 😉

What I’m Writing

Mostly working on my WiP with the most ridiculous working title ever. I have written pages of notes detailing what has to happen for this book to end. It’s a lot. I have talked about my aversion to plotting many times, and I have expressed my need to discover the story through the characters, and I have talked about my obsessive nature — all that to say, I can’t actually look at the notes I made for the end of the book, but I did have to remove them from my head, organize them into something coherent, hide them from myself, and get to writing.

What Inspires Me

My Writers Workshop and Retreat for sure. The setting was glorious. The other writers were magnificent and hilarious and awesome. Nova Ren Suma is even more lovely, generous and funny than I hoped. Also, just, her talent is an embarrassment of riches. I wrote and shared pics in this blog post, if you want to see more!

Getting multiple requests in one week for my YA fantasy Redhunt. So weird. The first request was an exclusive, which I was happy to agree to. The others came shortly after, but I believe in honoring my word (If you don’t have honor, what do you have? The MC in my WiP is asking this very question right now.) and won’t fulfill the other requests until the exclusive passes. Redhunt is close to my heart. I am looking forward to seeing how everything plays out there. But even if none of these agents are the ONE, these requests have fueled my flame.

What Else I’m Up To

Oh, catching up with my kid, my husband, and the dogs after my week away. Sam has been super chatty and sweet since I got home. He didn’t seem to miss me a lick while I was away, but I suspect that was all the spoiling from Grandparents and Uncles and Daddy.

James, the puppy, was neutered yesterday. Sam was very concerned.

samjames

If you answered my FRIENDS quote from a few weeks ago, and you would like a Cassie’s Cause t-shirt, please email me your size and your address! 

Happy Wednesday to All!

16 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Colin

    I’m glad you got a lot out of the retreat, Rebekah. Some people are intimidated by other people’s talent. Others try to learn and draw inspiration from them–it seems you’re of the latter crowd, which is a good thing, I think. 🙂

    And congrats on the agent requests! I hope something good comes from them soon for you. 🙂

    Have a wonderful week!

    1. Rebekah

      I agree. Other writers have been and continue to be a huge part of my writing journey. I think those relationships, their feedback, and their encouragement is so important. It’s another reason I do WUW and the like!

      Thank you, Colin! I am trying to be excited while still being sensible and rational. 🙂

  2. Omg yayyyy, Rebekah! It’s so awesome and inspiring to hear you got requests. It seems you are taking the level-headed approach of “nothing may come of this,” which is understandable and I’d be doing the same thing if I were you, but since I’m not, I’m so excited and hopeful for youuuuu!! Happy dance!! ❤

    1. Rebekah

      COURT!!! You can be so excited and hopeful! (I am excited and hopeful too, but I feel I must also be prudent and stoic. I suck at that though.)Big hugs!

  3. Congratulations on the requests. Ooooh I really hope you have more good news to share with us all soon! Wheee!

    I never plan books. I hammer out a first draft and then sort it all out later. If I plan, it’s like I’ve already written it. Booooriiiiiiing!

  4. First off, congrats on the requests! That’s awesome, Rebekah! Fingers crossed you find the one. 🙂 Also, happy to hear that your retreat went well. What a great boost both of these things must be for you.

    I’m a Ruby Red series fangirl myself. I’m glad (and not even a little bit surprised) that you like them too. Have a wonderful week!

  5. That’s such great news about all the requests! I admire that you honored your word on the exclusive, and I hope good things come from all this interest.

    I really need to get into Kerstin Gier’s trilogy, seeing as all three books are sitting on my dresser right now. Those covers are so pretty I have to remind myself they aren’t just for decoration lol. Have a super week!

  6. I’m having a tricky time with the title of my own WIP. *sigh* It’ll come to me. I’ve heard many good things about the Ruby Red series, I’ll have to check it out. Glad you got to spend time with your family, catching up is so vital!

Leave a Reply

