Christa Desir is the Shiz : A Goal for the Week

https://twitter.com/ChristaDesir/status/440140746780200960

This is not the first time I’ve shared what Christa is doing. This morning I composed my own Tweet telling my fellow Twitter addicts to spread the word. But I didn’t feel it was enough.  Christa already donates half of everything she earns from Fault Line to rape survivors all the time, but for a stretch of forty days, she will make nothing from the sales of her book. And I want everyone to know it because the reason is an amazing one.

Writers work for years on manuscripts before they ever reach the shelves. Sometimes, we work for years on manuscripts that will never be published. Sometimes we never make any money on the hours of labor, and most writers will tell you, it’s not about the money anyway. (If you want to be rich, this is not the profession for you.) When the time comes for publication, and you actually begin making a profit on your book sales, I can only imagine that the taste of victory is sweet, must be savored, and probably makes your stomach hurt a little.

It is so easy for us as consumers to lose sight of what it is we’re investing in. We’ll spend $6.50 on a coffee, but dammit that ebook for $8.99, that thing that was someone’s life for two years, that thing that just might change our day, month, year, perspective, that thing I’ll buy when it goes on sale, or if it makes it to paperback, or maybe I’ll borrow it from my friend who already has it.

I am not saying we don’t share books. We absolutely share books, in every form and fashion, we give them away so someone else can read them. We gush about them on Twitter or Goodreads or from the rooftops. I am not saying buying a cheaper version of a book makes you a villain. Books are expensive, and the economy is not improving. I get that, I feel it just like you. Anyway it gets into your hands is good.

Books are almost always a wise investment, no matter your method or means, but if there ever was a time to buy the full-cost version a book, this would be it.

Lent begins on March 5 and ends on April 17. (I am providing handy links below to Christa on Twitter and her blog, where I am sure she will talk more about this.) During that time, pick up a few copies of Fault Line. I plan to pick up a handful to donate to libraries in my area (there are several). I plan to give a copy to a friend who might not otherwise pick one up herself. I plan to make my friends who are readers buy at least one copy for themselves.

I plan to do this because it feels right to me. All we can do is what feels right to us. That’s all I’m asking of you here. So, if you’re feeling it, here are some links to get you started!

faultline

Fault Line on Goodreads:

Ben could date anyone he wants, but he only has eyes for the new girl — sarcastic free-spirit, Ani. Luckily for Ben, Ani wants him too. She’s everything Ben could ever imagine. Everything he could ever want.

But that all changes after the party. The one Ben misses. The one Ani goes to alone.

Now Ani isn’t the girl she used to be, and Ben can’t sort out the truth from the lies. What really happened, and who is to blame?

Ben wants to help her, but she refuses to be helped. The more she pushes Ben away, the more he wonders if there’s anything he can do to save the girl he loves.

Christa’s Blog :: Twitter :: Facebook

Links to where you can buy online or find it in your area:

IndieBound

Barnes and Noble

Amazon

Leave a Reply

