Writer Recharge Wrap-Up

writer-recharge

For more on Writer Recharge please follow this link. A huge thank you to the brilliant ladies who came up with it. It is always awesome writing with you guys — even if it’s in the virtual sense.

First, my goals for the month:

  • Finish my YA Fantasy WiP. I’ve been steadily building this world and story since August 2013. I need to finish the draft.
  • Finish the TV pilot I began work on in January.
  • Stop starting new ideas until the other ones are finished.
  • Title the YA Fantasy WiP because I’m tired of calling it (awkwardly) Banyan Book.

I met exactly one of my goals. Care to guess which one?

Anybody, anybody?

Bueller? Bueller?

If you guessed, stop starting new ideas until the other ones are finished, then well done. And, to be fair, that was hard for me.

While I didn’t finish my draft, or the TV pilot, of title this manuscript anything less awkward, I did make headway on all fronts. I added word count or scene count. I discovered important layers to my own plot. I had an amazing writers retreat where I connected with other writers I hope to know, support and be enriched by for years to come.

Most importantly, I rediscovered a love of the story. Not just this particular story, but all of them. The undiscovered. The already ignoring. The previously written. February ends with me firmly in love again with just writing. Writing for the mere fact that I must, I am compelled, and I am inspired. That is a huge gift.

I have new goals. Goals to finish this draft in the next two weeks or so, and now I know how to do it thanks to this month. And I am very energized.

8 thoughts on “Writer Recharge Wrap-Up

  1. So, I kind of love how similar our posts are. And seriously, you kicked this month’s ass. New words and new A&A almost-action. So. Damn. Good. I cannot wait to read this in its entirety. And to see all of the ideas we talked about in California come to life on the page.

  2. You are the second person to update with rediscovering the love for your story. How awesome! And headway is headway no matter how big or small. (that was totally in honor of Doc Seuss 🙂 )

    Sounds like you had a great month! Tweet at me whenever you need a writing buddy during the day! I’m usually around. 🙂

  3. I trolled the MSWL (manuscript wish list) feed on twitter last week where agents and editors tweet what they wish they had in their inboxes. I drummed up several ideas for new stories; it’s great to have new ideas, but I understand that need to rein them in! I made a few notes that I emailed myself and then I moved on.

    Congrats on making progress. Much luck on finishing your draft this month!

Leave a Reply

