What’s Up Wednesday

WUWKiteWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime or Erin’s blog.

What I’m Reading

So, guys, if you haven’t read The Ruby Red Trilogy by Kerstin Gier you should really consider remedying that, pronto. I am about 50% through Emerald Green, the last book in the trilogy, and I am obsessed. Thanks to Sara Biren and Tracey Neithercott, first for introducing me to this series, second for informing me yesterday that there was a movie adaptation done in Germany. (And EXTRA thanks to Sara for getting me a copy.)

What I’m Writing

My work-in-progress. I have gotten a lot of words in the last couple weeks, and a lot of plot issues worked out, and have reworked or rearranged scenes until they are actually in the right spots. I am finishing this thing you guys. My goal is the end of March, but I’d love to finish earlier, and just might be able. It’s crunch time.

What Inspires Me

The great books I’m reading for starters. The great writers I’m friends with who make me want to be a better writer. The amazing feedback I’m getting from agents and the progress in my writing journey overall. It’s an amazing feeling to look at where you are in your process and actually believe it’s the right place at the right time.

What Else I’m Up To

My son had his first belt test in karate last night. His sense of accomplishment and the boost of confidence is invaluable to a kid like Sam. And, geez, is he cute.

Official Yellow Belt!
Official Yellow Belt!

I am spreading the word about what Christa Desir, author of Fault Line, is doing for Lent. Check out this post from me on the subject. She wrote one on her blog yesterday going into greater detail as well. I’ve provided links to everything, and hope you’ll consider picking up a copy.

16 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Your little guy is adorable! I’ve heard Sara, Tracey, and I think even Jaime raving about the RUBY RED trilogy. I looked for the first book at the library the other day, but they didn’t have it. Perhaps I should use some birthday book money and buy the whole trilogy? I’m loving your What Inspires Me section this week, Rebekah. Hope you have a great week!

    1. Rebekah

      Yes, Yes! Jaime and I have discussed it too! We all love them and you should definitely check them out! Thank you, Katy, you have a lovely week too!

  2. I’ve been wanting to read Fault Line and I think that just settled that. It’s such a great cause. I’ll be buying it. Good luck with your WIP! Have a great weekend!

  3. I loved the RUBY RED books! I made to sure to order them all in the pretty book covers like you’ve shown. Such fun books! I found that they translated really well into English as well. Sometimes translations can read really clunky, but these didn’t, thankfully. You’re kicking your WiPs butt. Seriously. It’s inspiring me to get my own butt in gear and do the same. And I really have to say your “What Inspires Me” section makes me smile. So many good things there, and I’m happy they’re all happening to you. 🙂

    P. S. Your son is *adorable* with his yellow belt. So cute!

  4. Well I was going to comment on your reading, but then I read this “amazing feedback I’m getting from agents” and basically babbled exclamation points. This sounds promising! Glad you’re getting great feedback and making good progress on your WIP. You can do it!

    Also, hurry up and finish EMERALD GREEN so we can discuss.

    Oh, and your son is all sorts of adorable!

  5. I need to get around to reading the Ruby Red series already, especially since I have all three books. My TBR pile is scary though. That’s very cool they made a movie of the first book. I might have to find that once I’m done reading it.

    It sounds like you’re making amazing progress on your WIP. I’m in the process of reworking and rearranging too. Tough to do but very satisfying when those scenes fall into place. I’m thrilled to hear you’re getting great feedback from agents. Crossing my fingers for you that you’ll get some really good news soon!

  6. I’ve seen a lot of good comments about the RUBY RED series in the past–I might even have that first book on my TBR somewhere. One day, maybe… (the TBR is awfully long!).

    All the best with getting your WIP finished before month-end, Rebekah–you can do it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

