What’s Up Wednesday

wuwPLANEBORDER2What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime or Erin’s blog.

What I’m Reading

I finished the Edelstein Trilogy (the books I was going on about last week) and they were more satisfying, wonderful, scrumptious, happy-making, even than seeing Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Emma Watson present at the Academy Awards. And I was really into that.

From his Twitter feed that evening. Yes. I do Twitter stalk him.

From his Twitter feed that evening. Yes. I do Twitter stalk him.

I then read the ARC of The Truth About Alice, which I received thanks to the author, my friend, Jennifer Mathieu. This book was utterly absorbing, gutting, but somehow sweet and heartwarming at the same time. It comes out in June. Add it to you TBR pronto, guys.

I am now doing All The Beta reading. I also just picked up via the internet a book published in the UK called How To Get a Love Life by Rosie Blake, which looks hilarious, and am reading Mistwood by Leah Cypess, which I picked up at my local library.

What I’m Writing

I added about 9,000 new words to my WiP this week. I have a plan, and a goal, and I am in writing cave mode more often than not at this point. It’s time to finish this thing, it’s so close I can taste it, I just have to get it out.

What Inspires Me

This is going to sound counterproductive to my current goal of finishing my WiP without working on the other projects vying for my attention. But. Contemplating books-to-movie adaptations of books I am reading. I had an extensive conversation about my idea for a remake of the German film adaptation of Ruby Red (called Rubinrot) which I think would be well-suited for Masterpiece Classics to develop.

What Else I’m Up To

We took Sam to see Mr. Peabody and Sherman on Saturday. He definitely enjoyed it, but probably not as much as my husband and I did. There was a lot of giggling on my part.

Trying to adjust to Daylight Savings Time. The first day wasn’t so bad because it was Sunday and I slept in. I was thinking I had avoided the normal crabbery that comes with this particular event, but Monday morning, I had to peel myself out of bed and remind myself it wasn’t my husbands fault that we Sprung Forward.

And, lastly and most embarrassingly, I took the Faction Quiz going around the internet right now. Which one you say? The Aptitude Test. How did I place? Divergent. (Because obviously.) I would be a Dauntless and Candor. The honest and the brave. (Muaha.)

Happy Wednesday!

13 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. My daughter wants to see Mr. Peabody… Looks cute! I have an eGalley of THE TRUTH ABOUT ALICE. I haven’t heard tons about it, but knowing that you’re a fan makes me want to read it sooner than later. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Have a great week, Rebekah!

  2. It sounds like you’re making great progress with your WIP, Rebekah. You’re well on your way to getting it finished.

    DST–*sigh*. All I can say is that I hope the Powers That Be in government take stock of DST regularly, asking if we still need to go through this clock ritual twice a year. I’d hate to think we put ourselves through this for no good reason. 🙂

  3. 9000 words? That’s awesome, Rebekah! Can you send some of that productivity my way? 😉 I really think we need an English adaptation of RUBY RED in movie form. Seriously. I would LOVE to see that! Masterpiece Classics would do an awesome job of it. If only they’d get on that.
    Have a great (and productive) week!

  4. I think I might have to go and see Mr Peabody and Sherman. I could use a fluffy film 🙂

    Congratulations on adding 9k! That’s amazing 😀

    Have an awesome week!

  5. I took a Faction quiz recently and got Divergent also. I’ll have to check to see if yours is the same quiz. I also took the quiz at the back of the Divergent paperback and I was split Candor and Amity.
    Masterpiece Classics should definitely get on Ruby Red. Somebody should!

  6. Nine thousand words is so impressive! I hope you have another awesome writing week so you can wrap up your draft. I’ve been out of the writing cave a little too much this week and need to head back in there.

    It’s kind of funny listening to everyone adjust to daylight savings time because we don’t do DST in Saskatchewan. We’re one of the few places in North America that doesn’t. So while everyone else is tired from losing an hour of sleep, we gripe about how it throws off our TV schedule when everywhere else changes and we don’t lol.

    Have a wonderful week!

  7. Monday was so rough with the time change. I’ve heard such good things about The Truth About Alice. I can’t wait to read this book. Good luck with your WIP. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

