What’s Up Wednesday : The Finished Draft Edition

AlienStarsWUWWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime or Erin’s blog.

What I’m Reading

* Crickets *

Today I jump back into my reading pile. While in the writing cave, the time I didn’t spend writing was spent brain dead. I have some special manuscripts to read, some books sitting on my nightstand and waiting on my computer, plus an ARC of my friend Lindsay Cummings forthcoming Middle Grade novel The Balance Keepers. This next week is all about the reading.

What I’m Writing

That manuscript that has been in progress since August 2013, well, it is no longer in progress, but completed.

I feel like this:

celebrateAnd this:

tired-puppy

And my hair looks like this:

insane

There are revisions ahead, as always, but I look forward to them. After a read through it’s off to CPs and onto titling and summarizing and stuffs. Right now, basking. The time for basking is here.

What Inspires Me

See above.

The same night I finished my manuscript, my CP Susan finished hers. We have given feedback to each other for about a year now, but these manuscripts are the first we’ve written and critiqued from the beginning. We have ridden the drafting raft together. We have talked each other off ledges. We have encouraged beautiful words and helped note problem passages. Finishing together…just feels right.

The incredible outpouring of excitement and love from friends, both within the writing community and outside it, when I announced I finished my draft.

Requests from CPs and writer friends that I SEND THE MANUSCRIPT NOW! You guys are the bees knees. For serious.

heart

What Else I’m Up To

My son ran a fever last night. His allergies are awful this time of year, every year. We can’t get ahead of them, it seems. My mom, who is a Master Gardener, got him some local Bee Pollen to help. Now to get him to take it everyday.

We spent the morning talking, and honestly, I can’t think of anything I’d rather do today anyway.

Sam: Mommy, I’m using my imagination.

Me: Love it!

Sam: Do you use your imagination?

Me: Yep, everyday.

Sam: What do you do with it?

Me: I create worlds, and characters, and write stories about those worlds and characters.

Sam: I want to create a world.

And for the next half hour we did just that.

Happy Wednesday everyone!

 

 

 

28 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday : The Finished Draft Edition

    • The slog of revision, I know it well. The great thing is, if you keep trudging, you will absolutely get through it. All the best!

    • Huzzah! I will be honored to make the trek alongside you. Tonight, we celebrate! Rubinrot, fo’ sho’. I’m gonna pop some champagne, too!

      Thanks! Sam seems better today, no fever and good spirits!

  1. I am so damn happy for you! (And, you know, for me too since I get to read the rest of it soon!) You rocked this last month and wrote so many words, I cannot even tell you how damn proud of you I am. And so effing impressed.

    Also, I am so very grateful to you for all of the talks and texts and Tweets and FB posts and everything else during the writing of our books. I know we joke about being codependent, but I honestly could not have finished my book without you. So fitting that we finished them together. ❤

    • Sus, stop making me cry. I just put make-up on for the first time in three days. Right now, I am a little shocked I even did it. It feels so good. Like, whoa.

      Writing this book with your support (And Sam and Jess’s too!) has made all the difference to my motivation and confidence. The texts and emails and all the things may be codependent, but I agree, I don’t know how this would have happened otherwise.

      Well done, my friend.

  2. Yay for the finished manuscript! That’s fantastic, Rebekah! And how great that you and Susan were able to help each other out so much along the way. That’s the best. 🙂 As for your son, maybe you’ll have a little writer on your hands. Pretty great stuff. That puppy gif is so adorable and chubsy. I feel like sitting and just staring at it. I should probably do something else, right? Have a wonderful week! You deserve it. 🙂

    • Thank you, Jaime! It is a great feeling. Susan is an awesome CP and friend, it is so cool supporting each other in this process.

      Sam is more like me everyday, which is either terrifying or wonderful depending on what characteristics he exhibits. Storytelling is a great thing for him to emulate.

      Right, that puppy, I just want to smoosh him. You have a wonderful week too!

  3. Haha, I love all your gifs 🙂 Congrats again on your finished manuscript!! Wooo! Now you have to send me a copy, or at least a little taste 😉 And I love that Sam is interested in what you do, hopefully he turns out to be a writer one day too! See you Friday 🙂

    • Thank you, Tori! I will definitely let you read it at some point very soon. I have to do a read through before I send it to anyone. No revisions, just making sure it’s not a mess.
      Sam is a great kiddo, and very curious, and very clever. Maybe a writer. Looking forward to Friday!

  4. Aww, I love that interaction with your son! And BIG congrats on finishing your manuscript! I love that you and your CP finished together — how perfect! Hope you have a wonderful (and relaxing!) week, Rebekah!

    • Thank you, Katy! It has been so different writing this book with the support of other really awesome writers and CPs. Sam is a darling. 🙂

  5. You totally deserve to bask right now! And you’re only like that puppy gif after finishing a manuscript? Geez, I’m like that every day lol!

    I feel your pain on the allergies. We all have major allergy issues in my house, and spring weather, while welcome, is tough to deal with. Hope your son feels much better soon and that he continues creating new worlds! That’s awesome!

    • Haha! I’m still like puppy, even after a couple of days of recovery.

      Thank you Erin! Hope your allergies let up soon too. Allergies are merely pests. I just wish they would go away and not return every year.

  6. Congrats on being doing with the story! That’s always a great feeling. (And omg that puppy falling asleep is sooooo adorable!) Hopefully your CPs love it and there aren’t that many revisions in the future for you and your story 🙂 But I love the revising process. It’s always fun.

    • Thank you, Kim! I do enjoy a good revision, but would also love my book to not be a sack of dung. I know, that puppy is ridiculous. I want to stick my face in its face.

  7. Gah! I love those kinds of conversations with my kiddos! Yay! And yay for completing your story! That’s AWESOME!!! You and Susan sound like Katy and me. We finished at the same time too. Great minds…

  8. Someone suggested bee pollen to my husband last year and that was actually the first time I’d heard of using it. It made total sense when we thought about it, though.

    Congrats on finishing your MS!!!

Leave a Reply

