What’s up Wednesday

TreeWUWWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime or Erin’s blog.

What I’m Reading

A lot of amazing beta reading happening here. I got to read my critique partner Susan’s incredible novel about a teenage Reaper who falls in love with the brother of a girl she reaps. I seriously laughed out loud and was brought to tears reading this manuscript. Not to mention, I am in love with one of the characters (not the love interest, though he is also dreamy) so it was extra fun for me. Then I read my friend Alex’s Middle Grade Fantasy manuscript about a girl who can talk to animals with a really unique magic system and interesting world. Lots of love for this manuscript and the well-drawn cast of characters. To sum up, I am a lucky girl.

Now I am doing more beta reading, along with reading an ARC of The Perilous Sea by Sherry Thomas. I seriously loved The Burning Sky, especially Titus and the Crucible and Eton College. This book is going to break my heart, I can feel it.

What I’m Writing

I did a revision on my recently completed MS, which is now titled Of Blood and Promises, then I wrote a query description, after that the synopsis. I switched gears to work on a screenplay I put on the back burner while writing my novel. After feedback from a trusted advisor, I am anxious to complete this screenplay and incorporate her notes.

I have been working on posts for I Believe in Story, the literary blog I contribute to. Last week I wrote a post about handling query rejections like a boss, which was a lot of fun, and kind of liberating.

What Inspires Me

I think Susan Dennard may be the best ever at explaining things. When preparing to write a query or synopsis — no matter how many times you have done it in the past — check out her blog for help. I know I have talked about it before, but it is worth repeating.

My brother and his wife are here from Israel. I haven’t seen them in a year, which means these last few weeks with my niece and my new baby nephew, have been precious. Talking with them about life in Israel, listening to them describe their home, and looking at my brothers incredible pictures, is definite food for the creative.

What Else I’m Up To

Tomorrow I am filming a promo video for my friend Lindsay Cummings’ upcoming debut, The Murder Complex. It’s awesome to use my filmmaking connections and experience to help her put something fun together for future readers.

My husband and I have been working our way through Veronica Mars. We are into the third season and it is a bummer to think we are almost finished.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Easter Egg hunts with my kiddo. That’s hunts, plural. And then Church, which he was disappointed didn’t also include a hunt.

So…What’s up with you?

22 thoughts on “What’s up Wednesday

  1. Hi – sounds like it’s another busy week for you! 🙂 Such cute pictures of your little guy. Glad you had a nice Easter. I just got the first season of Veronica Mars at the library, so I’m going to try to watch as much as I can, but there are a ton of holds so I won’t be able to renew. My viewing will probably be very slow!

  2. I love Susan’s blog! I need to read it more. You’re so right that she explains things in a way that helps you “get it.”

    And how exciting to have family in town. Your kiddo is adorable! 🙂

  3. I’ve heard good things about The Burning Sky – it’s on my TBR list!

    I loved your query rejections post – very timely, seeing as I’m in the trenches right now!

    Susan’s blog is fantastic! I’ve bookmarked her post on writing a synopsis, and she always has really helpful advice.

    Filming a promo video sounds super-exciting! Have a great week!

    • Definitely read The Burning Sky. It take a little to get going, but I seriously loved it.

      So glad the rejections post was encouraging. I think it’s always nice to know you’re not the only one dealing with this.

  4. I heart you. Also, I really, really love your title (and not just because I helped you with it!) So excited to see what happens with this book.

    As for VMars, since you are in the third season now, you will get to the thing (if you haven’t already) that made me so adamant that Aiken couldn’t do the bad thing you were thinking of having him do. There are just some people you can’t forgive.

    • Seriously, Sus, *when* this book is published you can expect a lot of acknowledgement. I really love the title too!

      I’m just, really worried about getting to the thing. I love Logan and his puppy dog eyes so much. I don’t know if I can take it.

      • Honestly, I don’t think there’s anything that could make me not love Logan. Despite everything he’s ever done, I heart that boy like no other. 😉

      • He’s like, the best, even though he’s kind of a shit. Like, I just giggle when he says something snarky.

  5. Ooo, you’re reading an ARC of THE PERILOUS SEA? Lucky girl! When does that one come out? As you know, I kind of loved Titus. 🙂 Sounds like you’re doing some pretty amazing beta-reading these days too. Again: lucky girl. I really like the title you’ve chosen for your MS. Sounds awesome! Like something I would definitely pick up and read. Enjoy the time with your brother and family!

    • It comes out in September I think. When I saw it at TLA I was prepared to fight for it. I know a few teachers and librarians who will love it as much as me, so I am excited to share it when I am finished reading.

      Thank you for the compliment on the title! Excited to keep working on that book.

  6. I got to hang out with my new baby niece for the first time over the weekend. I can remember when her older sister was that age and now she’s so grown up. In that 7-going-on-30 sort of way 🙂

  7. I’m thinking THE BURNING SKY needs to find its way onto my TBR list. I’ve heard a few good things about it lately. Sounds like you’ve had a productive writing week, despite all the other busyness! I hope you enjoy every minute of your visit with your brother’s family. It’s so great that they came all that way to see you. Two last things that I love about your post: that your husband is watching Veronica Mars with you (mine was addicted as I was), and your new WIP title. Have a super week!

    • I think The Burning Sky needs to find its way to your TBR as well! So glad you liked the title. I am pretty happy with it, and saying it on the blog makes it feel more real.

  8. I’m working on a query right now so I’ll definitely check out Susan Dennard’s posts.
    I’m putting Veronica Mars on my iPad but I haven’t started watching it yet. I’m waiting until the movie comes out on DVD and then I’ll watch it all at once.

  9. Susan’s synopsis post was SO helpful to me! Also, I saw your querying post while I was catching up on my Twitter feed the other day and it was AMAZING. I’ve been feeling a bit down about writing and it was the kick in the pants I needed! And yay for Lindsay’s book! I’m excited about that one. 🙂

    Hope you have a great week! Love the Easter pic!

    • Susan’s synopsis pot is a lifesaver. I can’t imagine writing a decent synopsis without it. So glad the rejection post helped you feel less blah! I know that feeling, and it;s good when it’s finally gone.

Leave a Reply

