What’s Up Wednesday: Resubmit

 

RobotWUWWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime or Erin’s blog.

Resubmitting a manuscript to an agent is the equivalent of a call back in an audition. Querying is really auditioning. It is your chance to show an agent you are the right one to play the role of their New Client.

When you get the chance to resubmit a manuscript after revision, you take it, and you do your best to hit all your marks.

Even after you have revised, read aloud, sent to a CP, and walked through the book one last time, it can be hard to be sure. And the truth is, it may never be perfect (most published authors will tell you it never is) but you have to resubmit it and have faith that it will be perfect enough to show the agent what you can do, to make the story shine in a new way, and to make them fall in love.

I resubmitted my manuscript today, with excitement and a lot of nerves, and now it is out of my hands.

What I’m Reading

Finally getting back on the reading wagon. I just finished (after far too long) The Perilous Sea by Sherry Thomas. I loved it, though I did have a hard time with certain chapters and plot points. Definitely recommend if you read The Burning Sky, and if you haven’t read that you really should.

I am finishing up a friends MS, and starting on another tonight. Also, I will begin reading In a Handful of Dust by Mindy McGinnis, and I am so excited.

What I’m Writing

Right now I am working on a secret WiP that I don’t know if I’ll ever do anything with. It’s kind of personal, and it’s different from my normal genre, and it’s a little freeing. Also, the Screenplay. I want to get a draft complete by the middle to end of June. That may be my ambition talking, though, and not possible in reality.

What Inspires Me

I had a writing session with my friend Lindsay today. Her debut The Murder Complex comes out in a couple of weeks, and her excitement is evident. We’ve been friends now for about a year, and watching her walk through this process has been not only inspirational but educational. It is such a huge accomplishment, and I am really happy for her.

My own love story. Monday, Memorial Day this year, May 26th my husband and I celebrated our 8th anniversary. There is not one part of me that wonders if I chose my partner wisely. We have grown up together in these eight years, we have made hard choices and faced uphill climbs. I am thankful to have him beside me.

 

What Else I’m Up To

This weekend I am going on a road trip with my husband and son to Houston, TX. We are attending the book launch for my friend and awesome writer Jennifer Mathieu, whose debut The Truth About Alice releases this week. I got to read an ARC back in April, and seriously LOVED it.

We are then planning to take my son to visit NASA. He has wanted to go since he learned about it. My maternal grandfather worked in the aerospace program in the 60s, which makes it extra special to share this with Sam.

The last stop on our trip will be to celebrate with my friend Sarah Penrod, who is a contestant on this season  of The Food Network Star. Everyone watch and cheer her on. She’s a super cool, immensely talented person.

Happy Wednesday to All!

12 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday: Resubmit

  1. Yay for sending the R&R back in! Sending all sorts of good thoughts your way! I’m so excited about all of your revisions and I think the agent will be too. Based on what she wanted to see, I think you nailed it.

    And happy anniversary! I hope you and N got to celebrate with everything else going on. ❤

  2. My hubby’s in Houston this weekend, too. He was thinking about checking out NASA at some point while he’s there as well. We went to NASA in Florida and that was pretty fascinating. Hope you guys have a blast! (Heh! Unintentional pun. :P) Happy 8th Anniversary to you and the hubs! Love the pictures you shared of the two of you. 🙂

    Oh, crap! The very fist thing I wanted to say here was congrats on resubmitting and all the luck in the world and all the fingers crossed for you. Hope the secret project is coming along nicely too. Have a wonderful week, Rebekah! 😀

  3. Happiest of happy anniversaries, Rebekah! And best of luck with your resubmitted MS, I’m sending all the good luck and happy vibes I can muster your way. Have a wonderful week! 🙂

  4. I hope all your hard work on this R&R pays off, Rebekah! You should get bonus points for resubmitting so quickly! Love the adorable photos of you and your hubby and the wonderful things you had to say about your relationship. It’s great to read romance in books, but even better to hear about people finding true love in real life. Congratulations to you both on your anniversary! Have fun on your trip to NASA! What a great place to visit!

  5. WOOHOO! Good luck with the resubmit! I’m crossing my fingers EXTRA HARD. 🙂
    And wow! Sounds like you have so many wonderful things going on. Also, I love secret WiPs. I have a few of those I dabble in occasionally. And Happy Anniversary! Love the pics!

Leave a Reply

