My Ready. Set. Write! Goals

RSWCoffeeReady. Set. WRITE! is an online writing intensive to help stay accountable with your writing goals over the summer and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on whether planning, drafting, or revising! Your RSW hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin Funk, and Katy Upperman. Find the rest of the details HERE.

Today is all about setting goals for yourself. Here are mine:

1. Finish a draft of my screenplay. I’d like to have it off to some readers for feedback by the middle of July.

2. Finish a draft for a TV pilot and send off to readers.

3. Begin work on the sequels to both YA manuscripts, as well as further polishing and revisions on the first books, as needed. I would like to have a few chapters written and the books plotted (although, my plotting is pretty loose when drafting) by the end of the summer.

5. Read at least one book a week. I’ve been so busy lately, and so tired at night, that reading has been shoved to the back burner. No more!

4. Have an epic summer with my son.

This weeks goals:

1. Finish the few revision points left on my manuscript Of Blood and Promises.

2. Write Five Screenplay pages.

Ready. Set. Write! helped me stay accountable last summer, and I am so thrilled to do it again this year!

What are your goals for summer? 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “My Ready. Set. Write! Goals

  1. I love your overarching goals and your goals for this week. I especially love that you were so specific with the latter, right down to the number of pages. I think the best way to meet a goal is to make it that specific. Works for me, anyway. Good luck meeting your goals this summer, Rebekah! I’m thrilled you’re joining us again! 😀

  2. Alison Miller

    Have an epic summer with my son. LOVE this goal! And I love your others too. Hope you have a wonderful writing week!

  3. I’ve not heard of this until now but thank you for educating me! You have a lot of great goals there. I think I really like the way you planned ahead for the whole summer but then looked at it in smaller chunks too. I think that works well.

  4. I totally pilfered your idea to make overall summer goals and then make smaller weekly goals.

    But I love these! Especially the one about having an epic summer with your son. ❤

    Good luck this week on your WIP revisions and your five screenplay pages. I believe in you!

  5. Erin Funk

    Sounds like you have a busy writing summer lined up! And lots of variety in your projects too! Good luck tackling your screenplays and your sequels! And I hope finishing of those last few revisions on your ms goes smoothly. 🙂

  6. I cannot wait to read all of these projects. Seriously. So, um, yeah, get on this please. 😉 Also, your epic summer could totally include a trip to the beach in, say, North Carolina.

Leave a Reply

