Ready. Set. Write! Update #1

RSWStripe2Ready. Set. WRITE! is an online writing intensive to help stay accountable with your writing goals over the summer and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on whether planning, drafting, or revising! Your RSW hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin Funk, and Katy Upperman. Find the rest of the details HERE.

Today, we check in on our goals from last week:

1. Finish the few revision points left on my manuscript Of Blood and Promises.

~ I finished all the revision points but then added three. No big deal. Technically I achieved this goal.

2. Write Five Screenplay pages.

~  I wrote five screenplay pages. They are pretty fabulous.

I should have put a goal in there that reads something like Adjust to my son’s summer schedule of two days a week at his Montessori school. 

~ Tuesday we had a playdate with my niece and sister-in-law that involved swimming. Thursday we went for ice cream and comic book shopping with one of his friends, and then he had an art class. Friday, was the movies and the library…and it was only week one.

A favorite line from my story or one word or phrase that sums up what I wrote or revised:

Cal’s eyes trail across her face. He turns on his heels, begins walking across the court toward his gym bag.

She follows, trying to adjust her expression to appear unruffled.

RUBY

You know me, Cal, I gotta make an entrance.

He whirls on her, a mean smirk on his face, and claps, slowly.

RUBY (Cont.)

Ten years. Still wasn’t enough?

CAL

I asked for forever.

RUBY

Forever isn’t in the cards.

Biggest Challenge:

See above wherein I try to adjust to less writing time.

Something I love about my WiP:

The history between the two main characters is ripe with tension. I love being in the middle of it.

This Weeks Goals:

1. Write 15 screenplay pages. That sounds ambitious, but I plan to spend most of my writing time this week on screenplays.

2. Finish those three new revision points on my manuscript.

3. Adjust to my son’s new schedule.

4. Finish the beta reading I have lingering on my computer AT ALL COSTS.

What does your writing week look like?

 

 

20 thoughts on “Ready. Set. Write! Update #1

  1. Your revision goal doesn’t give me much hope that revisions actually end! Haha! I’m in the baby stages of my first revision. I hope you finish your goal so that I can see someone else reach the light at the end of the tunnel for some motivation. Have a great week!

    1. Rebekah

      HA! I tend to revise in stages, mainly because of time constraints, also because I’ll see new things when reading through. Revision is only complete when the book is on shelves, but it is a lot of fun. You can do it!

  2. Ooh, I’m so very interested to know what you’re adding to OB&P. And so happy that the revisions are going well. Also, LOVE the interaction with Cal and Ruby. Especially knowing the plot, those last two lines of dialogue are great. Can’t wait to read more of this.

    1. Rebekah

      I need to email you about the changes. They aren’t the most massive of revisions, but they make a big difference. Yay! So glad you like the interaction there. I really want to get this script finished and off to readers (you! for one) soon. I am pretty into it.

  3. I LOVE the little excerpt you shared, Rebekah. I’m already intrigued! Best of luck with your goals for the next week, and please do let me know when you figure out how to balance kiddo time and writing time — my biggest summer challenge, for sure!

    1. Rebekah

      Glad you are intrigued! I am having a lot of fun with this script. It’s definitely a different kind of story for me.

    1. Rebekah

      Screenwriting is still like a guilty pleasure for me. Getting a film or TV show made is nearly impossible, so I write them with abandon. And it’s a lot of fun! Have a great week too!

  4. Love the excerpt! Writing on a kid’s schedule is soooo hard. My baby is only seven months right now, so that actually might be my biggest challenge of all! How I am supposed to manage to get house stuff done, plus reading and writing, too, and not neglect my son and husband… I am still working these things out.

    Good luck with your goals this week! 🙂

  5. Love the excerpt, Rebekah!! I used to study screenplays to see how everything is pared down to the essentials–dialogue and action. I’m horrible at writing them, but I like your idea of writing them with abandon. Seems very freeing.

    As you told me last week, your writing goals are perfectly ambitious. We won’t do awesome things unless we push ourselves! Good luck writing and adjusting to the new schedule. ❤

  6. Stephanie Scott

    Screenplay writing sounds very cool. I’ve learned a lot from authors who have done both. Good luck this week 🙂

  7. I love stories with tons of tension (and history) between characters. I have one like that too! (Currently backburnered…for now.) Great job meeting your goals this week, Rebekah! Hope this week is just as awesome. 😀

  8. Alison Miller

    I LOVED the excerpt! And yeah-I’m adjusting to school being out for the summer and a drop in writing time. But I have faith in us – we’ll figure it all out!

    Hope you have a great week!

  9. Erin Funk

    Summers are so tough when it comes to writing. I work better at this time of year when I’m not stuck in the winter doldrums, and yet this is when I need and want to do other things, like spending more time with my son, enjoying the nice weather, and working on curriculum. So yeah, I totally hear you on the whole adjustment issue! Hope you find more time for your goals this week, although you did pretty great with the time you squeezed in last week!

  10. Great goals you have for this week. Glad you got things done last week! I don’t care for tension and drama in real life, but in a book or script it’s heavenly!

Leave a Reply

