Ready. Set. Write! Update #2

RSWtealpolaroid

Ready. Set. WRITE! is an online writing intensive to help stay accountable with your writing goals over the summer and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on whether planning, drafting, or revising! Your RSW hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin Funk, and Katy Upperman. Find the rest of the details HERE.

It’s Monday again, which means it’s check-in time. 

Last Weeks Goals:

1. Write 15 screenplay pages. That sounds ambitious, but I plan to spend most of my writing time this week on screenplays.

~ I wrote 10 screenplay pages, and I am REALLY happy with them. Yay!

2. Finish those three new revision points on my manuscript.

~ Finished the revision points on my manuscript and started reading through it. SO, THAT IS EXTRA!

3. Adjust to my son’s new schedule.

~ LOL

4. Finish the beta reading I have lingering on my computer AT ALL COSTS.

~ I forgot that Ruin and Rising came out last week. So, uh, that took up all my reading time. I cannot feel bad, because THAT BOOK! And my CP Susan was threatening my life if I didn’t read it so we could talk about it. I did finish one manuscript, which I throughly enjoyed, so I halfway met my goal.

A favorite line from my story or one word or phrase that sums up what I wrote or revised:

“The heart is deceptive.”

“The heart houses the power to do great and mighty exploits,” she says, tying a piece of thin leather around the end of my braid. “The mind is a faulty device.”

Biggest Challenge:

Anxiety and time.

Something I love about my WiP:

Even with the grim circumstances my main characters face, the story still comes off dreamy and lush and I think that has a lot to do with the setting.

This weeks goals:

1. Finish the read through of my manuscript.

2. BETA READING!

3. Ten screenplay pages.

4. One blog post.

9 thoughts on “Ready. Set. Write! Update #2

  1. Sounds like you did great! Is Ruin and Rising something I should read for using with that one class I teach? Is it long?

  2. Congrats on making so much headway on your goals. Sounds like you got a ton done this week! And death threats are just a part of being a CP, right? (Also, I think M might have strangled me if I talked to him any more about that book. So, really you saved my life/marriage by reading. That should count for a lot!) Good luck writing/reading/revising this week!

  3. LOVE the lines you shared! And yay for a great week! Good luck adjusting to kiddo’s schedule. Mine are home and it is definitely a challenge!

    Hope you have another great week!

  4. Nicely done on the revisions, and getting 10 screen play pages finished is awesome, especially since you’re happy with how they turned out. I love how you describe your WIP as “dreamy and lush.” That right there makes me want to read it, never mind those gorgeous lines you shared. Good luck with this latest batch of goals!

Leave a Reply

