Ready. Set. Write! Update #3

RSWStripe2

Ready. Set. WRITE! is an online writing intensive to help stay accountable with your writing goals over the summer and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on whether planning, drafting, or revising! Your RSW hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin Funk, and Katy Upperman. Find the rest of the details HERE.

Monday means check-in time!

Last Weeks Goals:

1. Finish the read through of my manuscript.

~ Done!

2. BETA READING!

~ Begun!

3. Ten screenplay pages.

~ Five Screenplay pages, so I’ll make up for it this week. 

4. One blog post.

~ Done, although, it wasn’t the blog post I wanted to write. I got in an accident and I talked about it here.

A favorite line from my story or one word or phrase that sums up what I wrote or revised:

(From the SCREENPLAY, not the TV PILOT. Takes place at Comic Con.)

Her eyes go to his hand on her arm. He removes it. She leans back against the bar.

ABIGAIL

Why the mask?

HAN SOLO (JACK)

Would you believe me if I told you it was a disguise?

ABIGAIL

I’m pretty sure everyone here is in disguise. Even me.

HAN SOLO (JACK)

But you’re here, even though you claim abivalence. What possessed you?

ABIGAIL

I made a promise.

Biggest Challenge:

After the little accident I was in, I had to fight not to just watch TV all day Wednesday and feel sorry for myself.

Something I love about my WiP:

Screenplay is an R-rated dramady. Writing dialog with this amount of curse words is quite fun. Also, research. The setting is San Diego Comic Con, so scouring message boards and reading articles is really, too much fun.

This Weeks Goals:

1. Screenplay – 15 pages

2. Beta Reading – ONE MS

 

20 thoughts on “Ready. Set. Write! Update #3

  1. I love curse words. It makes YA a little difficult 🙂 Sorry about your accident–that’s really scary but I’m glad you’re all right and your little one is, too.

    • LOL I do too. I think it would be hard not to write curse words in modern dialog. My YA is fantasy, so it’s a bit easier, but I still slip it in there!

      Thank you for that! Sam hasn’t even mentioned it again, and has had no problems getting in the car. I think it affected me more than him, which I’m OK with!

  2. Ha! I love writing with curse words! I always have to go back through and filter a lot of f-bombs out when I revise (oops!) because my stuff is YA. So sorry to read about your accident. Sounds like it was terrifying, and I’m so glad you and your kiddo are okay. Your post made my heart race! Best of luck with your goals this week, Rebekah… Sounds like you’re doing fantastic with RSW so far!

    • HAHA! It is fun! My YA is fantasy which seems to help with the curse word knee-jerk. But, screenplays are different. I specifically want this one to be R-rated so I can have more freedom. 🙂

      I’m sorry it made your heart race (though kind of glad it was that effective!), and thank you. Sam is such a tough kid, he bounced back fast! And no horrible injuries really were a blessing!

  3. Ha! I love that you’re loving writing something with so many curse words. My MS is full of them too, and I’m worried I need to tone it down, even though it’s adult. Oh well. So glad you’re doing better after the accident. ❤ Good luck on your writing and reading this week.

  4. Ohmygosh – just read your post about your accident. So scary, but SO GLAD you and Sam are okay! And loved the bit from your screenplay! Hope you have a wonderful writing week (and an accident-free one!)

    • Oh, thank you Alison! We were ok, just rattled. And I have been compulsive about checking the parking break. Thank you!

  5. You did really well on your goals, Rebekah. And I’m kind of with you on writing scenes with curse words lol. I read your post about the accident, and I’m so happy you weren’t seriously injured! Tough to concentrate on writing when something like that happens, I can imagine. Hope this week goes a lot better!

  6. Beautiful post about your not beautiful accident. God is good. So is your writing. Good luck on your goals this week. Your research sounds like fun. Have you been to a Comic Con?

  7. I know nothing about writing screenplays, but I enjoyed reading your excerpt! Best of luck to you this week!

Leave a Reply

