Ready. Set. Write! Update #4

RSWCoffee

Ready. Set. WRITE! is an online writing intensive to help stay accountable with your writing goals over the summer and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on whether planning, drafting, or revising! Your RSW hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin Funk, and Katy Upperman. Find the rest of the details HERE.

Last Weeks Goals:

1. Screenplay – 15 pages

~ Done! I am 43 pages into this SCREENPLAY and it is right where I want it to be plot wise. So exciting. Also, remembering how hard writing screenplays are. You have to come at the story in a very different way than writing a novel. 

2. Beta Reading – ONE MS

~Ugh. I read about 50 pages on an MS and 20 pages on another. Do not take this as me not enjoying the reading, I AM!! It is just slow going right now. 

A favorite line from my story or one word or phrase that sums up what I wrote or revised:

Simon and Alexa emerge. Alexa has her iPad out and is
filming Simon.

ALEXA
B-role.

SIMON
Did you grab the waters?

He faces her as he shuts the door.

ALEXA
(Turns camera to self)
Backpack.

Turns camera to Simon.

SIMON
Granola bars and other sustenance?

ALEXA
(Camera to self)
Loaded up like a hobbit on her way
to Mordor.

Biggest Challenge:

Not having a lot of down time to read. Exhaustion.

Something I love about my WiP:

Sometimes you have an idea for a story and you start writing it and it just doesn’t work like you expected it to. This Screenplay is working better than I anticipated. So. Excited.

This weeks goals: 

1. Write 15 Screenplay pages.

2. Read 100 more beta pages.

3. Continue having an Epic Summer with Sam. (This is one goal I have had no problem achieving so far!)

 

10 thoughts on “Ready. Set. Write! Update #4

  1. Alison Miller

    Yay for all the progress! And I can imagine screenplay writing is HARD – it’s actually something I want to learn how to do someday so you may be getting some emails from me looking for classes, books,… 🙂 Glad though that you are still so excited about the one you’re working on! That’s awesome!

    And yay for epic summers with the kiddos! Trying to find something to do with mine that doesn’t involve heat and humidity is always challenging, but so far we’re managing. 🙂 Have a great week!

  2. Haha! I like the Hobbit and Mordor reference. How awesomely geeky of you, Rebekah! I worked a LOTR reference into my WiP as well. 😉 I remember having to attempt writing a short screenplay in English in high school and it was tough! Looks like you’re rocking it, though. Hope this is a productive week with much less exhaustion! (For me it was lack of motivation. :-/)

  3. I am such a slow beta reader, always. I try to read carefully and make lots of notes, so I end up having a hard time getting lost in the story, even when I love it. Happy to hear that the screenplay is going better than anticipated. Hope you can keep up your momentum, lady!

  4. Yay, Rebekah! I love it when my writing buddies work really hard and get awesome things done! You are an inspiration!

    Also, I totally feel you on the not having time to read. What I wouldn’t give for a couple hours where I’m not exhausted and can devour something fun. But at the same time, I’m so happy that you and Sam are having an epic summer and that this goal has been the easiest for you to accomplish. That’s how it should be! Keep up the amazing work, and good luck with your goals this week! ❤

  5. So excited about your progress. This screenplay excites me so much! I can’t wait to read it. ♡ Hopefully you get a little more down time this week. Good luck with more writing this week!

  6. Erin Funk

    I can see how writing a novel and a screenplay would require two entirely different skill sets. Looks like you’re doing great! Love the hobbit reference! Hope the writing goals go smoothly this week and that you continue to have an epic summer with Sam!

  7. Haha, love the Hobbit & Mordor reference. Go you for going above and beyond your goals! It’s always such a pleasant surprise when things turn out better than you expected. Hope that continues for you. Good luck this week!

  8. Yay for 43 pages of screenplay! I had to write a play for a class when I was a teen and I kept forgetting to add in stage directions so my characters were standing around a whole lot 🙂

    Good luck this week with your goals!

Leave a Reply

