What’s Up Wedesday

TreeWUWWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime or Erin’s blog.

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve done What’s up Wednesday! I hope everyone is having a wonderfully epic summer.

What I’m Reading

Currently doing beta reading. Which is top priority for reading right now as I have a lot to get caught up on and very little reading time this summer. I also started If I Stay by Gayle Forman, and so far am loving it. I haven’t read anything by Gayle Forman yet, but have heard nothing but good things. And with the upcoming movie, I thought I’d start there!

What I’m Writing

I’ve been working on a feature length screenplay pretty much exclusively for the past two weeks. I am over 1/3 of the way through and just so very happy with it. The dialog, which is maybe the most important thing in screenwriting, is coming really naturally. I am taking this to mean I have a firm grasp on my characters. Right now I am just working on the main plot lines, and getting the basic story down. I had some breakthrough figuring out how all the main plot lines will converge at the end yesterday, which was THRILLING.

What Inspires Me

This may sound very strange, but my brother and his family. Three years ago, right before my husband and I moved to Brooklyn, my brother, his wife and young daughter moved to Israel. Right now, they are right in the middle of war in a foreign country. Their faith and bravery to stay in their home in Jerusalem in the midst of this chaos is incredible. Your thoughts and prayers for the peace of that nation are appreciated, personally, by me and my family. This is a terrifying time, it is meant to unsettle and unnerve, to get those who live there out of safety and into harms way. War does that, is touches the innocent and the foolhardy alike. When the war is over the land, over faith and long standing hatred, there are no winners. There can’t be.

What Else I’m Up To

Everything that is involved in having an epic summer with my son.

Also. I got New Hair (that is what all the kids at Sam’s school call it) and Sam asked me what “the hair color doctor” had to do to give me this hair. I explained it was a lot like painting.

new hair

Have a wonderful Wednesday! And drop by comments to tell me what’s up with you!

8 thoughts on “What’s Up Wedesday

  1. Hooray for plot breakthroughs! Those are the absolute best. Your screenplay is coming along really nicely from the sounds of it. Good job! I’ve been meaning to reread IF I STAY with the movie coming up. I haven’t read the second book either, so a reread is probably in order.

    I didn’t realize that things in Israel had heated up so much again. I went and checked out some news articles on what’s going on. Man, Rebekah. I’ll definitely be thinking of your brother and his family, hoping they stay safe!

    1. Rebekah

      Yes, plot breakthroughs are amazing! They make me feel like this thing I’m writing will actually become a completed story. That is a good feeling. I am being very ambitious with this screenplay, writing about something this complicated and trying to keep to the human side of the Con while showing the Con itself. It’s fun, but I have to just take it step by step.

      My sis just posted on Facebook that the American Embassy closed due to bombs. So scary. Thank you for your thoughts of safety! Really appreciated!

  2. Erin Funk

    I recently read IF I STAY for the first time as well and immediately regretted not buying the sequel at the same time. I’m looking forward to the movie, but there’s the distinct possibility I’ll bawl just like I did at TFIOS (only not quite so hard).

    I don’t think it’s strange at all that you’re inspired by your brother’s family and the courage it must take for them to face the ongoing issues and violence in Israel. Not that North America doesn’t have it’s problems, but for many of us it’s hard to comprehend what it must be like to live that way. My husband (and my parents) visited Israel when he was in his late teens and had an amazing experience. It’s so sad that such a beautiful place with so much history is so torn apart.

    I’m glad to hear you had some breakthroughs on your screenplay! I hope it all comes together just the way you want it to!

  3. “hair color doctor” Adorable 🙂

    I’m looking forward to the IF I STAY movie although even just the preview makes me want to cry, so it’ll be interesting to see if I hold it together in the theater.

Leave a Reply

