Ready. Set. Write! Update # 5

RSWcloudpolaroid

Ready. Set. WRITE! is an online writing intensive to help stay accountable with your writing goals over the summer and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on whether planning, drafting, or revising! Your RSW hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin Funk, and Katy Upperman. Find the rest of the details HERE.

Last Weeks Goals:

1. Write 15 Screenplay pages.

~ I wrote 18 pages. Yes. 

2. Read 100 more beta pages.

~ Done! Phew!

A favorite line from my story or one word or phrase that sums up what I wrote or revised:

Kate looks annoyed and nearly stops in the aisle.

KATE
Since when does my flirting bother
you?

ABIGAIL
Since your husband still has a
pulse.

Kate’s face tightens. Abigail sits. Kate stands for a beat, waves once at Thor, and then sits.

Biggest Challenge:

About halfway through the week I really had to fight doubt, frustration, and general life fatigue. Time is always a big issue for me this summer, too.

Something I love about my WiP:

It’s not a fantasy, which is what my YA novels are, but it is about living in a fantasy world. And it’s a lot of fun to let my nerd flag fly.

This Weeks Goals:

1.  Put together a workable plan on how to revise based on some awesome feedback for one of my manuscripts.

2. Finish pages for my CP and get her notes.

3. Write 5 screenplay pages.

 

19 thoughts on “Ready. Set. Write! Update # 5

  1. I have a character who’s exceptional at math and well, I let my nerd flag fly in my story too. 🙂 Also, from reading your screenplay snippets, I’ve wondered about the setting. Is it set Comic Con? If so, HOW FUN!

    And I hear you on the doubt thing. That’s been plaguing me a lot lately. Stupid doubt.

    Hope you have another productive week!

    • Yes, it is set at Comic Con! The whole screenplay idea came to me the end of last year when I started getting seriously obsessed with Comic Con. I am loving the research. Yay for your nerd flag!

      Doubt it stupid. 🙂

  2. Dang, Rebekah! You are hitting it hard with meeting and surpassing your goals! That’s friggin’ awesome! And omg, your screenplay sounds like so much fun. I don’t know as much about screenplays as novels, but if you want another reader when you’re ready, I volunteer. I volunteer!

    I so hear you on the doubt. When I’m feeling that way, I sing the main line from that confidence song in The Sound of Music. “I have confidence in confidence alonnnnne! Besides which you see I have confidence in meeeee!” Sometimes it helps.

    • This screenplay just took off in the last couple of weeks. I love it! And YES you can absolutely read, I would be so thrilled!

      Oooh, I will try that this week!

  3. Woo hoo for exceeding your goals! So very exciting. Also, let the OB&P revisions sit and keep up the momentum on the screenplay. I think that will help you so very much. Also, those lines. Damn. Knowing the underlying issues at play here, that is so painful and so, so good. Major hugs this week.

    • I think you are right about letting it sit. At least until I get back from NYC. I am seeing ways to revise, and liking them, and feeling confident about it, but I want to wait until I’m really feeling mentally in the right place.

      Um, I am pretty much writing all the Abbie/Kate/Jack stuff right now, and it is like, whoa. I really love them. I think writing adult conflict, with these kind of characters, is really exciting to me.

  4. Man, I think a lot of us are struggling with the same things right now. I couldn’t agree more with your Biggest Challenge This Week section. Yep, I’m there too. You’re doing so well meeting your goals, Rebekah! I need to take a page from your book. Hope this week is super productive! Oh, and hooray for letting your nerd flag fly. 😉

  5. You did awesome, Rebekah, and I love the excerpt you shared. I’m feeling the doubt/frustration/burnout thing too. Maybe it’s just a midsummer slump? Hoping this coming week will be better (easier!) for both of us.

  6. Ugh. I’m with you on the doubt, frustration, and general life fatigue. I really hope your confidence gets a special boost in the next while and that you get some much needed stress relief too. Nicely done on beating both your goals! Best of luck incorporating that awesome feedback you received and with your other goals as well!

Leave a Reply

