What’s Up Wednesday

wuwPLANEBORDER2What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime or Erin’s blog.

What I’m Reading

Beta reding, but different stuff now. I feel like I’m starting to get ahead on my reading, which is a wonderful feeling. Betaing is a responsibility I do not take lightly, so my recent reading slump is also not something I am proud of or willing to give in to. It’s good to be coming through it. Still reading If I Stay by Gayle Forman, still slow as Christmas.

What I’m Writing

Still mostly the Screenplay. I love this thing more than I should love something I have no idea what to do with. Screenwriting was my first writing medium. I know, it sounds very weird. I wrote my first screenplay at the age of nine on a typewriter. It was bare bones and unrealistic, but it was a screenplay.

I am also processing some notes on a manuscript and trying to figure out how to revise. It’s not that the notes are complex, or even really that much, it’s more wanting to really do this manuscript justice. So, I haven’t started revising yet, and I am OK with that.

What Inspires Me

Watching TV and Films and dissecting what is seen on screen and what is said in dialog. We were watching Firefly last night, which is incredible for language and character development, and I found myself taking notes.

My writer friends, who have become some of my best friends. I have called on them for advice, encouragement, and distraction in the past couple weeks and they have delivered to no end.

Spending time with a friend I haven’t seen in four years. We’ve kept up over Facebook, which is one reason I still do Facebook, and after four years — and a lot of changes — it was like no time had passed.

What Else I’m Up To

I had dental work last week and then didn’t really let myself recover properly. So I am paying for it. I had to go in to the oral surgeon yesterday for “an adjustment” which is a nice way of saying they had to do work on me that they shouldn’t have had to do.

Going to NYC next week for six days. I haven’t been to the city since last May. So. Excited.

Have a wonderful Wednesday!

6 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. I’ve never written a screenplay, but it’s a medium I’d like to try some time! 🙂 I love Firefly, and I have to agree – it’s great in terms of its character development. If only it hadn’t been cancelled!

    Oh dear, I hope you’re feeling better soon! Have fun in NYC, and have a great week!

  2. Oh, that’s crummy about the oral surgeon. Hope you’re feeling much, much better now. And NYC? So envious! I might have to plan another trip there sometime soon because it’s easily one of my favourite places on Earth. Have fun!

    Firefly as research…I like the way you think! Great idea to study dialogue and whatnot in films and TV. I’ve never really thought about doing that, but it’s a great way to make dialogue sound more natural I expect. Have a wonderful week, Rebekah!

  3. Yay beta reads! And reading slow as Christmas 🙂 I’d love to hear more about your screenplay! Sounds like it’s been going well. Woo for NYC! Have fun on your trip! Hope to see you at group soon 🙂 Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

