What’s up Wednesday from New York City

RobotWUWWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime or Erin’s blog.

What I’m Reading

I am jumping around between a few books right now. I don’t normally do that, but this summer I am suffering from reader commitment phobia. Still reading If I Stay, but because it’s on my Kindle app I am being slow. I started Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke on the airplane, and I am really into it.

What I’m Writing

Yesterday morning I put together a detailed revision plan for my manuscript Of Blood and Promises. It is the most detailed plan I’ve ever come up with for a manuscript, which seems significant. This summer has meant less writing time for me, and also writing time focused on a screenplay, and when I got notes on this manuscript (they are from an agent I’ve been working with) as grateful as I was for the opportunity to revise, I found myself demotivated.

Rather than ignore my feelings, I took a break, letting the feedback sit for a bit — letting everything sit for a bit. I think it was the right move, and I’m excited. BUT…I am still working on the screenplay. The last few times I’ve revised my manuscripts I stopped all progress on the screenplay, and while I don’t have as much writing time right now, I am going to try.

What Inspires Me

New York City. I lived in Brooklyn for two years. It has been 15 months since I came to the City last. We’re here for a week, and while my husband works during the day, I am visiting old friends, fighting with public transportation, feeling the energy of the city, and wandering through quiet places in Prospect Park.

Our departure from New York was a break-up, and at the time we were happy to say goodbye. Being back here, seeing this place on my own, at this point in life, as this person, is a surprising gift full of reflection, grounded in inspiration.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What Else I’m Up To

See above. And since I didn’t get to do my update for Ready. Set. Write! on Monday, here are my goals for the week:

1. Enjoy this moment.

2. Think about writing.

3. Be in love with my characters. Be in love with this city. Be in love with my husband.

Happy Wednesday!

8 thoughts on “What’s up Wednesday from New York City

  1. New York is definitely inspiring! I would love to go back and visit sometime. Happy to hear (based on your FB status) that you’ve dipped into those revisions. Good job! Especially considering you’re away right now, too! I’m sure having a detailed revision plan is super helpful. Well, have a wonderful trip and good luck with those revisions! 😀

Leave a Reply

