Ready. Set. Write! Update #6

RSWCoffee

Ready. Set. WRITE! is an online writing intensive to help stay accountable with your writing goals over the summer and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on whether planning, drafting, or revising! Your RSW hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin Funk, and Katy Upperman. Find the rest of the details HERE.

I missed last week because I had just arrived in NYC and forgot! But I set some goals on my What’s Up Wednesday post.

Last Weeks Goals:

1. Enjoy this moment.

~ This was a serious goal for me. I am not good at in the moment living. I managed it well I think. 

2. Think about writing.

~ So much. I did some revising too. Went to a cafe, had a bagel, and actually wrote a whole new chapter. Also, saw writing friends which aided in the inspiration. 

3. Be in love with my characters. Be in love with this city. Be in love with my husband.

~ Yes to all of the above. But very glad to be home with my kid. 

A favorite line from my story or one word or phrase that sums up what I wrote or revised:

He brushed his thumb across my knuckles. “It is everything to both of you,” he paused, moving his hand up my arm to squeeze my shoulder. “It shouldn’t be.”

Biggest Challenge:

Myself. In my own way and stubborn.

Something I love about my WiP:

That the book I want to write is in there, that I know what that book is, and that I can see how to shape it.

This Weeks Goals:

1. Finish the book I am reading right now and start another one.

2. Revise three chapters.

3. Write 8 screenplay pages.

4. Do something fun on Friday with my son, just us.

 

12 thoughts on “Ready. Set. Write! Update #6

  1. Yay, Rebekah! It seems like even though you were traveling and living in the moment, you still managed to do some good work. Your post this week is so grounded and levelheaded. It’s making me take a deep breath.

    Good luck with you goals this week, especially #4. ❤

  2. Love the lines you shared, Rebekah! I sense some swoon-y vibes there, though I could be wrong. 🙂 I’m so impressed that you wrote a chapter while you were away! I fully intend to shelf anything writing-related until I’m home from my trip. I’m not very good at squeezing in writing unless I’m home at my computer. How awesome that you have a clear idea of what your story needs to be and how to get it there. Can you send some of that my way, please? 😉 Have a great week!

  3. Love your excerpt that you shared. I want to go to a cafe or the magic Panera bread that all these writers talk about on Twitter. I would love for it to work for me. I think I need a change of scenery. Good luck with your goals this week!

  4. All your goals from last week resonated with me so much. I’m not good with “in the moment living” either, but it sounds like you’ve been doing pretty well at it lately. I love the line you shared too, and it really makes me want to know what “it” is that he’s referring to. Hope meeting your goals goes smoothly this week and that you have a wonderful time with your son on Friday!

  5. I am so intrigued by your revisions after that line! I noticed you didn’t attribute it to anyone and now I am dying to know what’s happening and who’s talking. Can’t wait to see the whole revision plan and then get my hands on those page. ❤

    • I am still fine-tuning the revision plan, tweaking it as I work on these opening chapters. But I am really excited about these opening chapters. It’s funny, because before I went to New York I was not excited about revising. I think New York helped. I cannot wait to show you everything too!

  6. Next week I’m totally stealing your goal number four. I need to do something fun with my kiddos – just us – before they go back to school. 😦

    And it sounds like you had a lovely week! With productivity too! I wish you more of that in the weeks to come!

Leave a Reply

