Ready. Set. Write! Update #7

RSWStripe2

Ready. Set. WRITE! is an online writing intensive to help stay accountable with your writing goals over the summer and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on whether planning, drafting, or revising! Your RSW hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin Funk, and Katy Upperman. Find the rest of the details HERE.

Last Weeks Goals:

1. Finish the book I am reading right now and start another one.

Done!

2. Revise three chapters.

Done! 

3. Write 8 screenplay pages.

Fail. I didn’t have time this week, and I was focused on my revision. This week I hope to make time for the screenplay. I did think about scenes I need to write, and figure out a big change I want to make in the pages I’ve already got. 

4. Do something fun on Friday with my son, just us.

We went on a date to Panera (Sam LOVES the mac’n’cheese and cookies!) and the movies. 

A favorite line from my story or one word or phrase that sums up what I wrote or revised:

(This is from a flashback)

It was a full moon night. It was a mischief night.

I woke to a hand over my mouth.

“Come on,” his voice was a whisper. He moved his hand and tucked a lock of curly hair behind his ear. He refused to braid his hair like the other boys did when they turned thirteen cycles, instead it grew long and curly, and he trimmed it with a knife.

Uncle Talin hated it. I loved it.

“I’m sleeping. And I don’t know if I want to go wherever you’re going.” I whispered, pinching my eyes closed.

“The waterfall,” he paused, waiting for me to look at him. I opened my eyes, but didn’t turn over yet. “The Kumu’s say if you jump from the top on a full moon you see the face of the one you’re meant to marry.”

Biggest Challenge:

Time and the desire to soak up the summer with my son. He starts Kindergarten in three weeks, which is insane and as excited as I am for this new phase, I am also sad.

Something I love about my WiP:

This revision is coming slowly, but much more cohesive. I am beginning to really see how to write a trilogy, to learn what to give the reader, what to hold onto, what to hint at. This WiP really is the first in a trilogy.

This Weeks Goals:

1. Revise three chapters

2. Rewrite the scenes in my screenplay and add three more.

3. Read 100 pages on a manuscript I’m beta reading.

 

18 thoughts on “Ready. Set. Write! Update #7

  1. So, yeah. I really, really LOVE that scene. Just adding that hint about the Kumus gives it a magical feel that I hope creeps into more of the story. I’m so excited to read the revised opening. I’ll get back to you asap. ❤

    • YeS! I added another line, which you’ll see, and I think it’s great. Just that bit in the first chapter. With what I have planned for the chapters after the inciting incident, I think we’ll be doing well. I hope, anyway.

  2. LOVE the excerpt! And yay for making so much progress! Also, I am going to make a date with my kiddos this week too. The fifteen year old would love it if I chose Panera. 🙂

    Have a great week!

    • So glad you liked it! I just find I want to soak up as much time as possible with Sam before he goes to Kindergarten. He is getting too big, too fast.

  3. Rebekah, that excerpt. THAT EXCERPT. I love it so much. The writing, the way it begins, the small beats you take in the middle, and that ending with the hint of magic. YES! Holy moly, I want to read this. And I’m so happy to hear you feel like you’re starting to get a handle on the revisions and gaining a deeper understanding of how to make this the first in a trilogy.

    I don’t know what it’s like to send a child to kindergarten, but I’m sending you lots of hugs and strength. I bet it’s just a roller coaster from one second to the next. ❤

    Good luck on your goals this week!!

    • Thank you, Court! I am so excited to have you read when I finish the revision — if you have time! (I also want to to read yours when you are ready!)

      Thank you for the hugs and strength. It’s a weird roller coaster, as you said. He still seems so little sometimes, and then not.

    • I am trying. Today I nearly met my revision goal, so I am feeling pretty fabulous. I know the middle is going to eat my brain, though.

      Thank you! It is a completely new scene and I am so glad you liked it.

  4. Okay wow. That excerpt you shared was just awesome! There are so many important details crammed in there, but it all feels like it’s unfolding in a very natural way. It’s great that you’re getting a sense of how to write a trilogy. I’m writing the third book in mine, and each WIP has been a totally different experience with entirely new challenges. I’ve definitely learned a lot too. Good luck with the revising, rewriting, and reading this week!

    • Thank you! It’s a new favorite scene, and I am so glad it’s working and you liked it!

      I am amazed that you are working on a trilogy that way. I find the whole thing pretty daunting, but still I seem to write manuscripts that want to be bigger. I love what you said about each being different, with new challenges. I think every book is that way too. I hear children are the same.

Leave a Reply

