Ready. Set. Write! Update #9

RSWtealpolaroid

Ready. Set. WRITE! is an online writing intensive to help stay accountable with your writing goals over the summer and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on whether planning, drafting, or revising! Your RSW hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin Funk, and Katy Upperman. Find the rest of the details HERE.

Last Week’s Goals:

1. Revise three more chapters.

I ended up revising 60 pages, so this is a major win. 

2. Write three more scenes on the screenplay and fill in the scenes I have skipped over.

I worked on a story grid for the screenplay, and then sent it to one of screenwriting friends for feedback, and then my week got CRAZY so I haven’t gotten back to it. But I think it is going to make a huge difference in shaping the Screenplay. 

3. Read

I read Isla and the Happily Ever After. Oh the feelings. 

A favorite line from my story or one word or phrase that sums up what I wrote or revised:

I stare at the back of her head, my vision blurring from tears trapped in my eyes. I shake my head, and a few of those tears break free to sneak down my cheeks.

“Did you even love my father?”

She reaches up to run a hand through her hair. When she speaks, her voice is almost a whisper.

“Beyond reason,” she pauses to swallow hard. “I loved him beyond reason.”

Biggest Challenge:

This week I took Sam to the water park, Legoland, and Cosmic Jump as part of our EPIC SUMMER. I was exhausted from all the fun, and then I had to finish prep for his Power Rangers B-day party on Sunday. It was all worth it.

Something I love about my WiP:

The revision is stretching me. It’s the slow kind, where you feel the burn across all the writing muscles, must push through the pain and doubt that you can stretch that far, but you gain new flexibility.

This Week’s Goals:

1. Enjoy the last week before school starts with my son.

2. Revise the next chapter, which is a killer chapter.

3. Finish the Story Grid Revision on the Screenplay and send back to screenwriter friend.

14 thoughts on “Ready. Set. Write! Update #9

  1. Yay for getting so much revising done! Can’t wait to see what it does to the story. Also, love that excerpt. I’ve been wanting A to ask that of her mom. It seems integral to her internal struggle with her mom’s feelings for T and her own feelings for A. Enjoy your last week of Summer!.

  2. Love that excerpt. Love that scene (read it this weekend!).

    Ugggh, what you say about your revision stretching you and making you more flexible. So good. Since I’ve only seen the first part of this MS, and this is a revised version, I don’t know what it’s coming from. But so far, the story already feels like it had so much woven into it that I’m just waiting to slowly unthread. I was thinking that when I read the waterfall scene and remembered you said that had come in a revision. I was so shocked because it feels so momentous and important to the rest of the story that I’ve read so far. Chills.

    Awesome job on getting so much revision work done! That’s incredible! Especially b/c I know you were worried about this taking a long time to work through tougher issues. I can’t wait to read more!

    Good luck this week and enjoy your time before school starts! ❤

    1. Rebekah

      So, YAY! Glad you are into it. The basic framework of the pages have stayed the same, but the intent has changed a lot. It is a lot of deepening, or fleshing out what was already there, and removing what did not belong. And the waterfall scene — yeah, it is new, and was spawned by a note from the agent I’ve been working with. She suggested, since the MCs are already so established in their relationship when the story starts, to utilize flashback to help show us why. That scene came to me in a flurry, and feels so right that I almost cannot believe it wasn’t there from the beginning.

      I am very worried about the coming scenes, only because I want to get them right which means being really brutal to myself.

      xoxoxo

  3. Alison Miller

    I feel you on the revision stretching. WHEW. And yay for EPIC summers! Sounds like you and your son are having so much fun! Also, I took mine to see Guardians this week and that was pretty epic.

    Loved your excerpt! And yay for all the progress! I hope you have another wonderful week!

    1. Rebekah

      OH, I LOVED Guardians. So good. Would love to see it again, but my kid isn’t quite old enough for it. Yay to EPIC summers!

      Thank you, Alison! You too!

  4. Erin Funk

    Okay, so not only did you do great with your revisions, but you also win the Super Mom award this week. Seriously, how did you get any writing done at all? I love the excerpt you shared and all the gut-wrenching sadness it conveys. I also love what you said about this revision stretching your writing muscles. That’s a perfect analogy. Best of luck revising that killer chapter and hope you and Sam have a blast during this last week of summer before school starts!

Leave a Reply

