Ready. Set. Write! Final Update!

RSWCoffee

Ready. Set. WRITE! is an online writing intensive to help stay accountable with your writing goals over the summer and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on whether planning, drafting, or revising! Your RSW hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin Funk, and Katy Upperman. Find the rest of the details HERE.

Here were my goals:

1. Finish a draft of my screenplay. I’d like to have it off to some readers for feedback by the middle of July.

2. Finish a draft for a TV pilot and send off to readers.

3. Begin work on the sequels to both YA manuscripts, as well as further polishing and revisions on the first books, as needed. I would like to have a few chapters written and the books plotted (although, my plotting is pretty loose when drafting) by the end of the summer.

5. Read at least one book a week. I’ve been so busy lately, and so tired at night, that reading has been shoved to the back burner. No more!

4. Have an epic summer with my son.

Here’s What I Actually Did:

1. Wrote half the draft for my screenplay. Wrote a story grid to help with plotting and arcs. Feel really good about the concept and characters. WIN!

2. Didn’t even touch the pilot. Did not have time. C’est la vie!

3. Got revision notes from an agent I’m working with (though not signed with) on my manuscript Of Blood and Promises. They rocked my world. I took a break from the MS while I sorted them out. Came out on the other side with a brilliant and exciting plan. 110 pages into the revision. WIN!

5. HA! Was in a reading slump for most of the summer. Also, because my son was with me A LOT more, I had way less time to devote to anything, and the time I had went to writing and trying to keep up with CP reading. I read a handful of amazing books though, including:

The Perilous Sea by Sherry Thomas

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

The Winners Curse by Marie Rutkoski

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

6. I had the MOST EPIC SUMMER with Sam. This, more than anything, is what I wanted to accomplish. He started Kindergarten today, and I wrote a post about it here. I have no regrets that so much of my summer was devoted to making sure his was filled with adventure.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My Biggest Challenge this Summer was…

Changes. This was a summer filled with change and it required extra effort on my part. It meant letting go of my previous habits and routines.

Favorite Line from my WiP:

Screenplay —

Terrified. I knew my entire life was about to change. Brilliantly, but absolutely.

Of Blood and Promises

She was light in sinking darkness. She was friend and ally to my isolation. She was the face I saw when I closed my eyes.

She was never mine. I was never hers.

Something I love about my WiP:

They are what I want to be writing, and even when I couldn’t work on them, they kept telling why I had to come back.

Thank you fellow RSWers for the friendship and fortitude to get through this summer and still have something to show for it. I have no doubt that much of my writing success this summer is due to this group!

10 thoughts on “Ready. Set. Write! Final Update!

  1. Yay for the epic summer with Sam! I know you both loved every minute of it. And you kicked ass at your writing goals too. Revisions are so hard and time consuming, and you managed to get a ton done on OB&P this summer. Now with Sam in school, you’ll be able to devote so much more time to finishing it and working on all of the other projects! ❤

  2. I loved your post about sending Sam off to Kindergarten, and it makes your epic summer with him all the much sweeter. On top of that, you managed to get a lot of work done. Yay!! Thanks for all your words of encouragement over the weeks. I can’t wait for the next installment of OB&P! ❤

  3. Congrats to your little guy on his first day of kindergarten — how exciting! And congrats to you on all you accomplished this summer. You did awesome, and I had a blast following along with your progress and writing with you in the evenings. Let’s keep that up! Best of luck with your projects moving forward… I can’t wait to see where they go from here!

  4. Erin Funk

    Okay, that is an amazing snippet from OF BLOOD AND PROMISES! I had to read it twice just to enjoy it a second time. It looks like you had a wonderful summer, both in terms of writing and hanging out with your son. Those pictures are so fun! I hope your fall is just as productive as this summer and that whatever changes you’re facing you feel settled again soon. 🙂

  5. I love what you shared of your writing today, Rebekah! So well written and compelling. You accomplished so much this summer all while getting to hang out with your little dude. That’s pretty darn cool. 🙂 I’m keeping all of my fingers and toes crossed that this R&R goes swimmingly. Can’t wait to hear more about OF BLOOD AND PROMISES!

  6. Alison Miller

    YES! So glad you had such an epic summer! And I think I’ve been under a rock because I had NO IDEA you were working with an agent. That’s AWESOME! Also this: “even when I couldn’t work on them, they kept telling why I had to come back.” That is so awesome and exactly how my stories and characters work with me. Great feeling!

    So glad you joined in this summer and I am super glad you achieved so much! I’ll start writing during the day again next week (my kids start school Thursday). HMU if you need a writing buddy!

  7. Hey there! Sounds like you had a great summer full of accomplishments, and I really admire you for tackling projects in different media.

    I think the numbers on your lists are a little wacky. Specifically, ‘epic Summer with Sam’ was 4 on the goals list, after 5, and 6 on the accomplishments list, with 4 missing entirely.

Leave a Reply

