What’s Up Wednesday: The Outlander Edition

RobotWUWWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime or Erin’s blog.

What I’m Reading

Finished the adorable How to Get a Love Life by Rosie Blake. It was a fun read, and since it is an e-first the price is quite low. I totally recommend, plus, it takes place in London which just feeds my growing obsession with the UK. I am using Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas as a revision reward. I want to just devour it, but this is better…this is better.

What I’m Writing

Yes. I am revising. It is part revision and part rewrite, which has gotten me thinking about the difference between the two. There is a difference. When I started revising the draft stayed mostly the same with some well-placed additions or subtractions, new scenes, reworking old scenes. Then I made this BIG change, and the BIG change has required a rewrite of the middle third of the book. I am a million times happier with this thing, but holy hell it’s involved. I want to be finished with the revision by the 15th (or somewhere very near the middle of the month) and have it off to my CPs shortly thereafter.

What Inspires Me

Thinking outside the box. I sat with my eyes closed last night pondering out a particular sticking point in the plot, and came out on the other side. Being willing to step back and really look at each element in this book has broadened my own understanding of what I’m doing, and why I’m doing it.

Outlander…in no way does Scotland in the 1700s remind me of the world in my manuscript, but the beauty of the story, the romantic Jamie quotes, the pretty boy in the kilt…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What Else I’m Up To

Watching Outlander

I don’t have Starz, and where we live (our house is in the woods) we cannot stream very much from the internets because our provider has a bandwidth cap. (I hate them.) So I go to my sister-in-laws on Saturday to watch Outlander. She is a teacher, and with the school year up and running she stays busy during the week. Saturday is our time to catch up, to fangirl and swoon, and to forget there is a world where Jamie Fraser is not real.

quote

 

I’m gonna also need all these outfits, and her tartan with pockets. (My birthday is coming up, FYI.)

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Catching up with friends in general after the busy summer. Reading more. Writing more. Overall just having more time, while also somehow having less time. Mom’s with school age children, you’ll know what I mean.

Have a wonderful week!

10 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday: The Outlander Edition

  1. Aaah! I REALLY want to watch Outland, but I REALLY want to read the book first. Maybe I will have by the time it comes out on DVD. 🙂 So happy that you’ve hurdled a WiP challenge by thinking outside the box. This is clearly something I need to try because I’ve got some tricky spots in my upcoming WiP. Have a great week, Rebekah!

    • Ahhh! You need to watch. Yes, you probably should read the book first. I didn’t though. I just couldn’t handle the wait. I plan to read the book when I finish my revision (and do maybe nothing else for a few days!)

      Good luck on your sticky points! One thing I’ve learned with this particular revision is that I do not always know the best way, right away, and that is OK!

  2. I’ve been loving Outlander too. It’s making me want to reread the book for, like, the fourth time lol. So good! I predict that cowls are going to be huge this season thanks to Outlander and Katniss’ wardrobe in Catching Fire. We’ll see if I’m right… 😉 I would love to have some of Catriona Balfe’s outfits, that’s for sure. I might have to see if I can find a knitting pattern!

    I hear you on the rewrite pain. You’re tackling this thing awesomely, though, and I am not. My WiP feels sort of stalled out in its rewrite. Ah well. I’ll be cheering you on as you finish this thing and inch ever closer to Heir of Fire. (Great motivator, by the way!) Have a wonderful week, Rebekah! 😀

  3. Sometimes those huge rewrites are the best thing that can happen to a book, painful though they can be. Best of luck with yours 😀

    Ah, London. It’s an amazing city. Here’s hoping the UK won’t be shrinking anytime soon (don’t go, Scotland!)

  4. I want to see Outlander so badly, but as far as I can tell the UK haven’t bought the rights yet – why is beyond me as it would be HUGE!
    Hope your revision keeps going well.
    Have a great week.

  5. I was really skeptical about Outlander at first, seeing as I’m a huge fan of the books, but they’ve done a stellar job of it so far. Pretty much I live for Saturday nights lately. I totally want Claire’s gorgeous knit cowl scarf and those arm warmers she has too. My only complaint is that there won’t be enough episodes!

    My copy of HEIR OF FIRE just arrived in the mail today, but I have a couple things to read before I can get to it. The anticipation will make it all the better, I’m sure!

    So glad to hear you’re happier with your ms now that you’ve done a bunch of intense revisions/rewriting. It’s such a tough but rewarding stage of the process. I think the Fraser clan motto works well here. You just have roll up your sleeves, shout “Je Suis Prest,” and dive in! 😉

Leave a Reply

