What’s Up Wednesday: I’m Back!

Castle Button (Final)What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime or Erin’s blog.

What I’m Reading

I just finished an ARC of The Winner’s Crime (the sequel to one of my 2014 faves The Winner’s Curse) by Marie Rutkoski. Oh man. This book. It took some turns I was not expecting, and they were all executed beautifully. I am deeply worried right now about Kestrel and Arin. That’s all I will say.

I started on Amy Poehler’s memoir, Yes Please, and already I’m thoroughly enjoying it. I think Amy is fantastic — so funny and smart and snarky. I am gleaning wisdom from her. She has the wisdom. I’m also reading a book called Severed by Frances Larson. It’s about severed heads throughout history. Because why not?

What I’m Writing

I am working up a revision outline for my screenplay. I finished the first draft Christmas Eve. Sent it to two of my CPs after the New Year. I got fantastic feedback last week and am thrilled to move forward with this revision.

I am also drafting a new project. Though, this has had to take a back seat to other things with more urgency. It’s not a YA project, it’s not high fantasy though there is of course a speculative element, and it’s a lot of fun.

My YA fantasy manuscript Of Blood and Promises is doing well in the query trenches. So, my nerves are totally wrecked. Yep.

My goal: 1000 words on the MS. Finish the revision outline for the screenplay.

What Works For Me

Taking time away from the computer to explore. Reading (and watching) nonfiction that is riveting, inventive, educational and vibrant. Paying attention to the small moments. Too often we brush over those, and those are where our humanity is fortified.

What Else I’m Up To

It’s been a while since I’ve posted a What’s Up Wednesday. There was no real reason beyond my own need to recede for a bit, and my own time constraints. I am so happy to be back with you guys! The past week I have been spending time with some baby goats. For years I have guessed that baby goats have magical healing powers related to cuteness, and last week I confirmed my suspicions were not unfounded. goatandsam Also. I injured myself rather dramatically about a week and a half ago. Read about it here. My face is finally starting to look normal, though I’m still dealing with soreness and bouts of embarrassment and shame. Klutz 4eva!

So…how are you fairing this week?

17 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday: I’m Back!

    • Katy, I only got to read it because Lindsay Cummings lent it to me. 😀 The baby goats were the sweetest ever. I could not stop nuzzling their faces.

    • SO GOOD! I loved The Winner’s Curse, it was my favorite book last year, and the sequel does not disappoint. IT does distress however.

  1. I’m so envious that you got to read an ARC of THE WINNER’S CRIME. Gah! I would love to get my hands on that thing. I got Amy Poehler’s books for Christmas and I can’t wait to dive in. She’s so funny and smart and fantastic. Happy to hear that your time in the query trenches has been positive. Love hearing that! Have a wonderful week, Rebekah!

    • I know, I was dyyyyiiiiinnnngggg since I read The Winner’s Curse. Lindsay let me borrow her arc and I was most grateful! Totally agreed about Amy — I just watched last night’s Parks and Rec and it made me tear up. Thanks Jaime, I am getting good responses!

  2. Yay for doing well in the query trenches! I love that story! And sounds like there are so many good things happening on so many fronts for you writing-wise. Good luck with the high fantasy!

  3. Congrats on your query successes so far. Hopefully it will lead to an announcement soon!
    I’ve heard great things about The Winner’s Curse. Haven’t read it yet but it’s been on my TBR for awhile.

Leave a Reply

