What’s up Wednesday: I have a YouTube Channel

Castle Button (Final)What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime or Erin’s blog.

What I’m Reading

I am nearing the end of a read through for my CP on her manuscript, Wishes to Nowhere. I love this book so much! The plot unfolds beautifully and the characters are the perfect amount of quirky to make them feel truly original.

I am also doing the #RubyRedReread and plan to tweet some this week. I have struggle with time management lately because I have been stupid busy. So, hoping to remedy that soon.

What I’m Writing

Mostly, fiddling with WiPs. I have a few ideas that I want to develop, but right now I am not feeling certain about any of them. I just began a revision on my Screenplay, and hope to have a new draft of that within the next few weeks. It’s been slow going on writing lately because I have so many other things vying for my attention. My husband has been sick, and bad weather meant school was cancelled, so I also just haven’t had as much time. But Sam is back in school and my husband is on the mend, so I hope to get back to my routine.

What Works for Me

Crying. Being mad about things not going well and not pretending to be okay. Being scared things will never change and not pretending to not be scared. Exploring ideas without committing. Feeling committed to the book I am querying and forcing myself to believe someone else will commit as well. Generally, cutting the bull shit you guys.

What Else Is New

I started a YouTube channel with my sister-in-law, Stephanie. Our blog Books, Booze & Bitches explains the motivation and gives you some insight into the kind of content we will share.

Hint: Fandoms and Comic Con will be heavily featured.

Our first video posted today! I am so excited to do this thing, and hope you guys are excited to watch! If you are interested, please visit our channel. ❤

What’s up with you this week?

13 thoughts on “What’s up Wednesday: I have a YouTube Channel

    • YAY! I felt the same way for so long. It was this scary awesome idea, but not something I was certain I knew how to do or would be any good at. Just jump in — you will not regret trying, but you may regret not trying. xo

  1. I can totally relate about being stupid busy lately, Rebekah. It makes it so hard to focus on writing. Reading too. That’s why I hopped on board for #RubyRedReread. It’s my accountability for making sure I actually spend some time reading a good book in the middle of all the busyness. I hope one of your new ideas becomes more certain soon and that you’ll find the time you need to work on it. Good luck with those screenplay revisions too. I think I’ll watch your vlog later on as a reward to myself for working hard today. It sounds fun! Have a great week!

  2. This past week was pretty busy for me too. It’s tough to find time or even the motivation to sit down and get writing when you feel like you can barely take a second to breathe. Hope things slow down for you. AND I hope that one of your projects jumps out and grabs you. It’s hard not really knowing which one you should focus your attention on. As for cutting the bullshit, I think that’s a great approach, especially when you consider how stressful all of this writing business can be. I find all of the happy happy joy joy a little tough to take sometimes. I would much rather people be real about how they’re feeling, you know?

    Going to check out your vlog! hope you have an awesome week, Rebekah! 😀

  3. I applaud you for cutting the bullshit. I’ve set my mind to doing that too. Writing’s hard. So is life. Why bother sugar-coating it? Best of luck with the story you’re querying, Rebekah! I’m sending you all the good vibes I can spare! Have a wonderful week, lady!

  4. The Youtubing sounds like a fun idea!

    I hear you on cutting the bullshit. I agree with Jaime’s comment about all the overly-optimistic statements sounding false. Publishing can really be tough sometimes, and I prefer it when writers are honest about it!

    Have a great week! 🙂

    • Bahahahaha! “…which is always.” Someday we need to meet in person.

      Things look good for the rest of the week! Hit me up on the Twitterverse.

  5. Rebekah, Good for you to be honest. It’s important in this life and this world. It’s like it’s not fashionable to be real.

    I am a writer and I wish I was a part of a writer’s group to keep me on track. I have a fiction book God has given me that I haven’t worked on in a while because I can’t get the dialogue right. It’s alive in my mind but it comes out like stiff cardboard.

    In Him, Deloris Cole

  6. Good luck with the youtube channel. I’ll be sure to watch while during my writing happy hours 😀 Kudos for you being honest about your feelings. I think a lot of us are afraid to be real about what we’re going through as we pursue our dreams.

  7. Good luck with the youtube channel. I’ll be sure to watch during my writing happy hours 😀 Kudos for you being honest about your feelings. I think a lot of us are afraid to be real about what we’re going through as we pursue our dreams.

Leave a Reply

